Back at the Restaurant | Constrained Writing Contest #12

in #constrainedwriting7 years ago (edited)

restaurant.png
source

Little did he know that she knew not just little of his secret (well, "secret". He had optimistic tendencies) and while "a lot" would be hyperbole she was beginning to make sense out of his nonsensical behaviour. What once was regarded sweetly as a playful, roguish smile turned into a knowing, teasing taunt, teeth towards her but his eye's resting anywhere but her own.

When did love turn to comfort? Were they exclusive? Was it a natural progression? Could said progression, though natural, have polar opposite conclusions? That irrational resentment that builds particularly quick when justified resentment is absent, funny how it's all the more destructive. Perhaps less violent, but more destructiuve. This particular him and her both held gender-neutral resentments: why didn't you make me happy? Perhaps the Other then: why couldn't I make you happy? But what difference does said difference make, more than semantics yes but not by much.

How bizarre restaurants used to be a place of excitement, new relationships, their relationship. In his youth (though he's still a youth he will likely never feel as such again) he was such a bizarre mix of shyness and passion, she remembers how his eyes practically leapt from their consciously cautious lids when she brought up... uh, christ a TV show was it? Doesn't matter. She remembered how he would lose himself in impassioned rambles that somehow were more endearing than obnoxious, remembered how that slight difference in intonation when he asked the questions, the one where his eyes didnt go blank as soon as her lips opened, a slight twitch of tongue in tone turning white noise to conversation, conversation with eye contact, commentary, conversation where he actually seemed to give a fuck about what she said. And her he. Real laughter. Slightly too high pitched like real laughter is. She remembered how she used to laugh until her stomach hurt, both with him and her friends, and remembered how difficult it was to remember that. She remembered his eyes, the same ones as now, but different. Very much so.

But that was at the restaurant.

Little did they know.


---

medium | twitter

---



This is my entry to Constrained Writing Contest #12

Sort:  

The amount of red I'd drink in that restaurant would make the elevator from The Shining look like... uh.... not the... elevator from The Shining...

Kubrick Shining* fuck

hahah did you just say "red" in reference to red wine

good lord

Excellent match color as nevy-blue restaurant

I really like to read your article , you have some kinda magic Spark in your writing .

Thanks man, I like to think if Steem were a sport my coach (Coach Taylor ofcourse) would say I got "the stuff" then proceed to make out w me or whatever (never played sports so the social dynamics are alien to me)

Nice post

Nice post everyday, you my inspiration. @mitthradiumn

If you knew me a bit better I can assure you that wouldn't be the case, but thank you anyway, very flattering

Good entry! I liked how you used the contrast in the wording, I love doing that! Thanks for sharing!

Haha thank you, and yeah playing with words/context/contrast is an almost unhealthy impulse for me (like that was me trying to tone it down)

I want to see when you aren’t trying to tone it down, haha. Great work! Thanks for sharing.

Cheers! I love it.

Wasn't expecting anyone to use "little did he know" as the very first sentence.. and I'm very glad you did ^^

When did love turn to comfort? Were they exclusive? ....

Love the 2nd paragraph. Raises some solid questions. ^^

Thank you very much for your entry ^^

Thank you, happy to participate!

nice stroy ,
Imagine dining behind bars in a prison cell, with your food served by mock "wardens". Or eating out at a place where the staff have been trained to be intentionally rude and snarky to the diners!

Dang, is that a real thing?

Because I mean they're kinda ripping off the McDonald's at Walmart

just imagine :)

Ok well I did, it sounds thoroughly unpleasant.

Now you gotta tell me why!

Nice post brother!!!

I just discovered the Constrained Writing Contest and am going around reading the entires.

I really like this piece--it's so depressing (in the best way possible). For me, your use of specific details in the third paragraph about what it was like before the relationship was ending made it real (which made me feel the weight of the loss).

Looking forward to reading more of your stuff!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. I'll be sure to check your page in a bit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54260.16
ETH 2859.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01