We're the BuddyUP community!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

buddyfish.jpg



Our community account is LIVE!



Hello everybody!

fishheader.jpg

We have just made our community account! There has been a lot of changes inside the discord server over the past few weeks and we are just getting round to setting up our BuddyUP account.

It's great to disconnect from posting about the server on my account. When everyone can see the account as an empowering platform for themselves, that is when we are going to see some better engagement.



Dive in!

fishcover3.jpg

This account is going to have all of our update posts, curation features from #the-hook and any other announcements or activities that are happening inside the community. Our goal for this account is to get it powered up enough so that we can:


  • Upvote 5 posts from the #post-spot channel daily

  • Upvote 3 posts from the #post-drop channel daily

  • Upvote our 'staff' members equally for their efforts


Yes, you read that right. Some of the SP is going to be used to reward the members of the community who are running it and making sure everything runs smoothly. This may be met with unease and concern by some, but I want to be transparent with you when it comes to how the voting power is going to be split up.

As well as the Upvotes, the BuddyUP account is going to be used for posting our community posts, like Cruel Digital World. It'll be used for a weekly members showcase, where we highlight the Catch of the Week and any other members who have been engaging within the community. We are also going to be resteeming the posts from #the-hook and also any posts made by our Tadpole members, who we want to boost because of their outstanding work.

Our efforts are all about encouragement and incentivizing those of you who are putting in the effort and adding value to other peoples lives.



What's next?

nenocover2.jpg

We have a few things in the making and our ideas are constantly evolving into something bigger. We have plans to get a BuddyUP token created (more details below!), we are going to be implementing the 1UP system on our platform and are going to be building up our BuddyUP account to reward those of you in the community who are creating outstanding content. With that being said...

From the 23rd of March, we will be asking for 2 SBD from every new user.


Why?


There are a few reasons and I'll take the time here to highlight them and explain the reasons behind the fee.

Firstly, we believe that the 2 SBD fee will weed out some of the members, who join communities haphazardly, in an attempt to get another server to spam their post links too. This wouldn't work in BuddyUP anyway because of the requirements to post in specific channels. It still deters these characters nonetheless.

Secondly, this account is going to be used to reward our members for the efforts they go through while they are in the community. Although we wish people would give for the sake of giving, this is not generally the case. We are not naive to that. If you have been supporting others around you, taking part in the features on the server and at the same time you are creating brilliant content, you will receive rewards from the account

Lastly, I believe that, even without the monetary incentive of an upvote from the BuddyUP account, our server is valuable. The server is designed and organized for your improvement. We aren't charging you a $5 fee every month like your other subscription counterparts. You will be parting with 2 SBD, for a lifetime role on the server.

Our efforts are not driven by money. We are focused on growing together in unity, by providing each other with the right encouragement and support to make sure we all strive.



Hop in the Dolorian!

anenomecover.jpg

I'm going to take the time here, to tell you about our future goal. This is because I feel like we need to provide more ways for people to be rewarded and encouraged when they are getting involved in the community.

Much like I said before, not everybody is going to put in the effort to get involved, without some form of an upvote. Some people, although they have got the potential to change their values, will still be driven by some form of monetary value.

Well... we have the solution for that.


BuddyUP tokens!


In development...


My good friend, who developed our BuddyME pairing BOT, is very eager to get some automation and extra features added to the server. We've been speaking about adding trials/challenges to specific channels in the server. Hopefully, this will give people goals to push themselves forward.

Let's visualize for a second...

You've just logged into the channel. You've been taking part in some of the features over the past few days. Sharing posts with us in #post-spot and you're paired up with a Buddy through our BOT. Your Buddy has just direct messaged you saying they've just finished writing a post. You swing by and check it out. Your impressed and you decide that you are going to share it in #post-spot and tell us how it made you feel. You want to put a big smile on your buddies face.

DING!

You've just received a direct message from the in-house BOT, telling you that you've passed your very first challenge on the BuddyUP server.


Great job @calumam! You've just posted your 5th #post-spot curation. Send me your openledger.io account name and I'll send you 1 BuddyUP token!


Attached to the message is a list of instructions for you to set up your account, and receive your first BuddyUP token.

It looks like your Buddy isn't the only one with a big smile on their face.



Final words

fishcover4.jpg

We are here on a platform that has incredible potential and it is truly revolutionary...

BUT

There is a serious problem with the lack of human interaction from some users. I don’t blame anybody personally, I believe it’s a result of little guidance and support from the early days on the platform. People end up developing mixed values and beliefs about what is productive and effective. This has detrimental consequences for the success of Steemit down the line.


BuddyUP focuses on helping us all develop empowering beliefs and values that will benefit everybody on the platform. Focus on your growth, encourage those around you and enjoy the amazing power of your words. When you motivate and uplift other people, you evolve into a human who is respected by many.


We all grow together



fishsss.jpg








I'm @calumam, thank you for reading.



All images are taken from Pixabay.com & Unsplash.com


Oh yeah... here is our discord. BuddyUP

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by calumam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@calumam I'm so excited about this opportunity and so happy I joined BuddyUp!

Hearing you speak about your vision for this discord and your commitment to making this platform about human interaction is inspiring!

You've already encouraged me in my writing and your words have given me the motivation to keep on working at my writing and to keep on engaging on a personal level.

I know this group is going to be a big success! Congratulations and thank you for all the hard work you've put in to set it up and all the hard work you continue put in.

I'm glad you are with us! It's super exciting, I can't wait for everything to be flowing smoothly and we are all learning so much. We just have to get over that little hurdle sometimes and go for it!

I'm happy to hear that, it was great to stop by today and see your work :)

Thanks for the kind words! I'm having so much fun right now and getting to set BuddyUPup and see it grow has been amazing. I'm really looking forward to the next few months!

Good luck with this!

We appreciate the support!

a great idea. I hope it gets a good result.

This is so GREAT! You HAVE worked your butt off this month and I have no doubt you’ll continue to give 100% because that’s the kind of person you are. I’m so grateful that @dreemsteem told me about @buddyup in it’s early days and that I’ve gotten the chance to see this grow. Thank you for allowing me to be a part; I feel I need to do more (still learning how to manage my time here). But, it’s obvious this is a community deserving of my time. So proud of you @calumam and all the others who’ve shaped this community. Together we grow!

It's hard to get into a rhythm, but once you get a couple of things in a routine you're sorted :D
I'm so glad you joined! You've been very supportive throughout and it's always nice to have people in the community who want to push themselves further!
Great to hear from you, I'll see you around the server :)

@calumam Thanks for this great project! I appreciate your kind words :)
I encourage everyone to come and hang out with us, feel free to join the discord channel!

I'm glad to have you in the community! You've been getting involved from day one.

Great to hear from you @whitewarlike :)

Such an inspiring and huge project! Wow! Bravo! Usually I don't have a lot of time for interacting with the other users on the Discord channels, I am more active on Steemit, commenting and answering to comments. I will do my best to interact more on Buddy up.

I hope that we can bridge the gap between the two platforms in some way, there is a lot to be gained from Discord :) We are trying our best to share a lot more on the server so we can comment on a wide range of posts.

Thanks for the words of encouragement! It's so much fun, can't wait to see where we will be in a few months time!

It's great to have you in the community with us, we are both in The STEEM Engine and I see some amazing posts from you.

I bring light to your life???? YOU bring it to mine!!!! I just smiled A HUGE smile when I saw my name listed in this post!!! I'm so glad to be a part this server! You just have no idea! I must talk about you and BuddyUP to my family at least twice a day hehehehe
I'm so appreciate everything that you're doing here to make steemit even better! Thank you for always supporting me in friendship and comments and encouragement and laughter!!! I seriously want to start planning the BuddyUP get together!!!! 😍 Too much love hehehe

Haha! I love it :D
We are so glad you're a part of it, you've been super enthusiastic about it from day one. I just hope your family aren't sick of the name cropping up ;)
Thank you too, we seem to bounce off one another which is fantastic, it makes my day!

In time, we will get our BuddyUP members meeting up all over the world!

They roll their eyes every time.i bring up steemit ;) but I don't care... I love it hehehe

My friends always did! Then I showed them BuddyUP and they were like... shitttttt

And that's the best.hehehhee

Just.being silent and knowing.. and trusting... And then... Woo hoooo! Lol

Ok now I'm one exit away lol bye for real.;)

This looks awesome! I'll be checking into it further. I love that you're rewarding your "staff" I think that's super important. In some circles, it seems that wanting any profit is evil. Keep it up! I hope good things for you!

Thanks for the kind words mate! Looking forward to your involvement.
I just wanted to be transparent with everyone and let them know that there is a lot of energy and effort that goes into this project and those who are managing it will need some form of recognition.
Profit is evil when it's malicious and dishonest, profit is brilliant when it's encouraging and used for rewarding effort.

We appreciate your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65