Weary Travellers take a break, New Delhi – Colourful Photography

This is my entry in the ColourfulPhotography contest by @juliank.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

In most Indian cities, there is usually plenty of activity, at all times of day. Most public spaces feature constant traffic and crowds, not to mention the noise and chaos that come along with that. Often, the only place one can find any respite, any peace or quiet, is in some secluded retreat or in certain isolated spots reserved for the elite.   

Somewhere to relax … here 

Surprisingly, these three ladies were fortunate enough to find this quiet spot – right in the middle of a public space and right in the heart of New Delhi. This scene is in the shadow of the massive India Gate (barely visible in the top-left corner), but these seemingly weary travellers found the perfect place for a much-needed break. Right … HERE! 

Make yourselves at home 

They simply put their bags down on the pavement, sat down, and made themselves comfortable. Granted, they could not expect any waiter to come by and take their order. But maybe they had sent off their travel companions to fetch some drinks and snacks. It looked as if they were going to be there for a while.  

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography

You have earned 6.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.24
Server time: 12:08:20
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 330.54/400.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 90
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The image quality which, I suspect, results from the powerful camera lens and the white figures in the distance lure me into believing that the image was painted rather than shot. This is indeed a brilliant shot.

Another thing I am beginning to admire in your works is the ethnographic stories surrounding it. Well done.

In fact, I am NOT a photographer in any special sense of the term, and I use a simple, cheap, point-n-click camera. No special camera, no special lens.

I have these 2 special things called "EYES." I try to keep them open, and look for interesting scenes when I travel, or even in my daily life.

When I find an interesting scene, I try to make a good composition by capturing certain elements and by framing those elements in an interesting way.

For instance, in the above photo, I wanted to have a large expanse of the pavement, a slash of green at the top, the white posts and the brown posts in the top corners, and I wanted those ladies to remain anonymous and faceless. Just before I snapped the photo, the lady in the center raised her head. Still, it worked out okay.

Keep your eyes open. There are beautiful scenes everywhere you look.

(Oh, and you can make those scenes more beautiful by using photoshop.) ☺

As for the stories, I consider them more important than the photos. Anybody can post any photo on Steemit (and many do), but a photo with no commentary hardly merits looking at.

So, I spend a bit of time, and (hopefully) make the photo a bit more interesting my telling some little anecdote about it or a bit of background.

If people like you appreciate it, I am very pleased.

Thank you. Full Steem Ahead.

I am wowed by these revelations, being that you are not a professional photographer in the truest definition of the term. Interesting. And that you don't take the awe-inspiring shots with a powerful digital camera. I must admit, frankly, that I am entirely surprised. Only a few persons can do that.

I should say, however, that you have mastered, methinks, the act of photography even beyond the status of the everyday photographer.

As for the stories, that's the fuel which drives the pictures and make them captivating, giving brilliant life to the images. Knowing what scene to capture, too, is an unnatural talent. I admire it.

As soon as I am able to find a good camera, I would consider becoming an amateur photographer. I am being inspired, really.

I look forward to seeing more pictures and the beautiful stories which romances it.

Regards.

Your India posts are my fave!!!

Thanks! Your comments are among my faves! And I like your posts too!

You literally made my day. I took a screenshot of this to provide motivation if I ever feel like giving up on steemit. Thank youuuuuu!

You mean "giving up"? Yes, I'm an editor, and I can be very strict.

I just noticed that you've been active on Steemit for only one month. And already your posts are earning upwards of $30!!!!! And you think of giving up!

Are you insane?!?!?!

Steemit will soon prove to be the social publishing platform to beat all others. And we are here at the "relative" beginning.

Don't give up now. We have miles to go, and a great journey ahead.
Full Steem Ahead!

Uh oh, stupid auto correct. I fixed it. I got diagnosed with ADHD two years ago, as an adult, so just warning you that attention to details is not my thing haha. I try, but still manage to miss a lot of mistakes. I'm just glad my grandma doesn't read my stuff, 'cause she would murder me for my grammar mistakes. If I wasn't scared of taking meds, my posts would be so much more edited haha.

I meant incase I ever feel like giving up on the future! I know at some point I'll have a day where I'll feel down... so I'll make sure I have a stash of positivity to stop me from thinking negative thoughts! I'm glad you think we're still in the beginning stages!

I may be as old as your grandma (?), but I will not murder you for grammar mistakes. I'll just help you correct them.

By the way, even though I'm an editor, I make mistakes too, and some of them even get through to the post and are put on the blockchain permanently. Groan!!!

You mean "make mistakes too?" Haha you did that on purpose, just for me, didn't you? I hate that part, too! Don't worry, I won't judge you!

Nope, not on purpose. How embarrassing!

Now, it's been edited / corrected. Thanks for calling my attention to that!

Hahahaha. Your bluntness in this dialogue is enviable and factual. Bad grammar does not mean one has low IQ. And nobody is above errors, really, although I doubt your chances of making grammatical errors.

Haha would be nice if they could order a cold beer there in the sunny resting spot. The Indian girl looks actually really beautiful with the orange head cover, also good agains the sun!

I like the way you tell something about the picture, you use loads of flowery words which makes it very interesting to read and I try to adopt some of your skills!

A sole photo might say a lot, but a photo with a 2-3 paragraph description is so much more interesting than just a plain photo.

Glad you like these post.

Hope you learn not only how to use more "flowery"words, but how to use them properly and effectively.

I have a big motivation to learn that! I try to give my posts more color by using flowery words and make them less boring. It will be never perfect but I will keep fighting to make them closer to perfect!

interesting to know more about india, one thing i bump on watching youtube in india today is the crazy jump packed of people in the train , i cant imagine if its really true

It's true. One time, we took an overnight train. I was sleeping on the bottom bunk, which was my reserved space.

I woke up in the middle of the night, and found one man sitting (sleeping) on the end of my bunk, by my feet. Another man was lying on the floor, between my bunk and my friend's bunk.

wow that is surprising , I wish the government can do something about it, I feel worried that it's not safe especially overloaded with people

I can picture out how they have to leave from home very early just to catch the train..
I am considering one of this, hence India is one of the place I wanna go ;)

If you go to India, you should be extra careful. It's not a particularly dangerous country, but there are places and people where danger might be lurking.

indeed, we should be really careful, good tips! what place would you like to recommend? somewhere that is all in one place adventure, nature, food market :D

Goa is great for its beaches. South Goa is nicer than North Goa, and my favorite beach down there was Palolem.

Kerala is also nice, with its many beaches and its backwaters.

Some Himalayan towns are nice. I liked Old Manali and McLeod Ganj. Rishikesh is also nice, and there are many more up there.

wow i' ve searched in google , the beaches are indeed pristine in the south , i am also impressed of he stunning himalayan adventures, it's a great way to drone(not sure if itbis allowed) hehe. These recommendations is one of my bucket lists now @majes.tytyty thank you ;)

This is a priceless photo... especially in India, one of the countries that are the most dangerous driving xD

Courageous lasses, but then again, the place doesn't seem bustling with movement either hehe.

Cheers

Good point. In India, I never thought I'd see anyone sitting in the middle of the road (TOOOO Dangerous), but here it is. Of course, this section of roadway around India Gate is closed to traffic. ☺

it's amazing how even though your not a photographer, you give so much depth to this image and its these moments that catch my attention because of the story it tells.

Really colorful. Anywhere you find yourself make it your home. Lovely

Yep. I like your philosophy, and I like your positivity. Keep smiling!

Thank you sir, you are the best encouragement I will ever have here

wow this is really unique photography dear

Best of luck for the contest brother <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15