The Life of a Gorgeous Sunset Over the Water (Colorful Photography Challenge)

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago

colorful-1.png

This is my entry into the Colourful Photography Contest by @juliank

I know that entering the contest with a sunset that would probably be best entered into "goldenhour photography" but I couldn't help it. When I saw that "Colorful" was the theme for today, this sunset in particular stood out to me.

As I've said in previous boat-photo posts, seeing the sunsets over the water was one of my absolutely favorite things about the boat life. This sunset stands out from all of them. It is the first photo I think of when I think "Sunset" because it was so gorgeous from start to finish. I sat on the deck for a long time, taking tons of photos, because it seemed that every few minutes, it was an entirely new photo to see.

colorful1a.png

This was the beginning. I stepped out on the deck to see the most picture perfect, movie set looking sky. The lighting was magical and looked like something from a fairy tale.

colorful1b.png

I was sure that it couldn't possibly get better than that, but every time I turned around, it seemed like another level of magical.

colorful1c.png

I was forever astounded at how the light seemed to be set in just a perfect way to illuminate the clouds from behind, sometimes with beams of light seemingly coming from elsewhere to make the clouds have even more depth.

colorful1d.png

Then the colors appeared. Holy beans. It was crazy beautiful. I think I took a hundred photos and couldn't stop myself. I probably also have video somewhere as well.

colorful1e.png

This is literally raw footage of the sunset that evening. It was (and still is) mind boggling that this was my back yard. The weather was perfect. Jaedin ~ @knightengale and @abyni left in the midst of this for poker night at the resort in Georgetown (there were quite a few boat living humans around Georgetown, even though it was off season and they gathered for poker twice a week). Patrick @serapium and I had an amazing night just sitting and watching the sun go down. The weather was perfect, the breeze was just right and it was more peaceful than I could possibly describe.

This was one of those perfect moments.

colorful1f.png

The boat shifted as the sun settled for the night, but this was our view of that same sunset as the sun sneaked away for the night.


All Photos are Mine.


Other Writings of Mine that You Might Enjoy:

Fiction

Prisoner-of-secrets-250.png

Prisoners of Our Secrets

thumb-freewrite-noescape-250.png

No Escape

More on the Boat Life!

thumb-goldenhour-1.png

Views from Our Sailboat Home

Thumb-photography-animal-1.png

Life of Pets… Who Live on Boats


Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


byn-sig.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 03:19:16
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 141.90/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 21
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful photos! What an incredible colorful sky!

Thank you. It was so incredible to get to see things like this!

very beautiful photo

Like a slow motion bomb of sunset beauty :) Nicely caught! Was it windy? That last shot looks like the fan is blowing pretty crazy.

It didn't take much to get the wind generator going. Wind was perfection, though, because it was really hot at the time and no wind meant that the mosquitoes would make it to the boat from the beach (even if we were anchored fairly far out!) and that was one of the unpleasant parts of boat life. It was just so wonderful, it's been a year and a half since this sunset and I feel like I'm back there just looking at the photos again!

I can imagine. The amazing power of pictures :)
Ugh, so the exact opposite, hehe. Just enough for power, but not for relief. Thanks for sharing :)

mesmerizing

Astounding, @byn! I couldn't help but scrolling back up to look at them again and again! I'm sure nothing beats watching all the changes with your naked eyes and enjoying the slow setting of the sun :)

These are absolutely stunning and I've never seen cloud formations like that before, made for some beautiful shots for sure. I can just imagine what it must of been like seeing it yourself.

Wow! That is a very colorful scene for a sunset. The reflection is really cool. It must have been amazing standing in it and I see why you took so many photos. Good luck for the contest!

Wow, Amazing. How wonderful it would be to witness it with naked eyes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81