Views from Our Sailboat Home! (Goldenhour Photography Challenge)

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

goldenhour-1.png

Today is the second anniversary of our first major sailing adventure. Although we had been living on the sailboat for a few months by that time, this was our first crossing... out of US waters and across the Gulf Stream to the Bahamas!

I wanted to recognize this with a few of my photos from a sunset while we were in Georgetown. I have a million photos of the sunsets over the water, because... well... LOOK! It was such a gorgeous thing to see every day it left me in awe!

This is my entry into the Golden Hour Photography Contest by @juliank

goldenhour-1a.png

We were in a fairly well protected harbor in Georgetown, so the waves were minimal and the view was stunning every day. The clear turquoise waters never failed to impress me, even after 8 months in the Bahamas! I still miss this gorgeous water.

goldenhour-1b.png

Surrounded on all sides by this gorgeous water and low lying islands meant that we pretty much always had a completely clear view of the sky (unless it was a rare time when one of the huge cargo ships was leaving the harbor).

goldenhour-1-cat.png

Tempest enjoying the sunset from the fore deck (From The Tempest Papers: Letters from a Boat Cat to her Humans on Land if you're interested in hearing about the boat life from a cat's perspective) **her land humans being the awesome couple, @loliboofae & @schmwke

goldenhour-1-jaedin.png

Jaedin aka @knightengale getting one last dive in for the day (diving after dark is inviting trouble. Even in this cozy harbor there were plenty of barracuda, which were more aggressive than the sharks we usually saw!)

goldenhour-1-abyni.png

@abyni enjoying the sunset on the deck with our other dog Tiberius, working on learning new music to play on her ukulele (yep, we had two dogs, two cats and four humans living aboard)

goldenhour-1-portlight.png

And this was the view from the cabin I shared with @serapium SUCH a gorgeous view!

I plan to write more on our boat life as the 'anniversary' dates come up. There are plenty of photos and stories to share!


Thanks for reading!

Check out some of my other recent posts:

Prisoner-of-secrets-250.png

Prisoners of Our Secrets

thumb-datenight.png

Date Night: Unexpectedly Sexy

Thumb-Fridayfaves.png

Friday Favorites


Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Hey @byn - I am a guest curator from the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 19th February. Your post will be awarded with a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here's a link which explains things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-whaleshares-curation-show-with-guest-curator-geke-tomorrow-night

Wow! Thank you! I look forward to it :) I will go and hope that I get it all figured out. Discord things aren't something I'm really good at yet!

I'll DM you tomorrow to help if you need it!

Thank you! I might just need the help!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 00:15:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 117.20/200.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a fantastic adventure for all of you. I'm mildly jealous. And those photos are freaking gorgeous, @byn!

Thank you! It was an adventure, but it definitely had it's ups and downs! I did love the sunsets, though. The kids would always yell if I was down below "MOM!!! SUNSETS!!!" so I could get photos :)

I’ve never been sailing but it’s definitely on my bucket list. GORGEOUS photos. And i absolutely adore that your pets enjoy with you 😍

Our pets are definitely part of the family! When we moved all of our belongings on board... that was literally the first day the kids and I had stepped foot on a sailboat. Really the only time we'd been on a boat of any kind, other than looking at a party boat before!

It was awesome!

Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!
@byn

A cat on a sailboat it just about the coolest thing I've ever seen. What a great experience for all of you!

This looks amazing!
I'm quite jealous, I think living on a boat for a while is really something I'd enjoy.

My biggest problem was missing my adult kids who stayed behind! Communication wasn't great since we were outside of the US most of the time and that was probably the part I'd have the hardest time with if we were to do it again!

Thanks for reading!
@byn

Beautiful pictures!! I couldn't imagine living on a boat - I get awfully seasick but I love the idea of it :)

I do too! I did get used to it when we were anchored out, but whenever we were actually sailing from place to place, I was usually unconscious on dramamine! It was my husband's dream... and he'd done enough to help me with my own dreams and passions in life, I felt like we had to give it a try. It was an amazing adventure that I hope to write more about.

Thanks for the comment!
@byn

Yes I can imagine it being awesome - I will read it when you write it :)

Hey--it’s one of my long-time dreams/goals to live on a boat for awhile or indefinitely (I grew up on a school bus so I know about tight quarters and mobile space). I’d lovvvveeee to read more about your experiences if you post about them. Going to follow you to catch ‘em. :) Cheers!

We lived on a converted Greyhound when the kids were younger, and I can say that the boat was a LOT cheaper to live on and it was easier to find places to 'park' overnight :) Of course there were also big downsides, but it was definitely a worthwhile adventure!

I hope you get the chance to fulfill your dreams!

Thanks for the comment
@byn

The water and the animals, look beautiful in these pictures! Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00