Coders Insomnia

in #coding6 years ago

Ugh... what a pain. I'm back up out of bed, past 4am now as I get ready to post this. I tried to go to sleep, but it wouldn't take.

I thought I was tired with a deep yawn at close to 3am as I was coding away. So I decided to go to bed. But, my mind was too active, I think, to allow me to go to sleep.

<
Source

This happens when you code long into the night. You're probably tired, you yawn, so you think you're ready for bed. Except your brain has been too active thinking of things and isn't ready to let you sleep. What a bummer!

Does this happens to you? Ok, maybe you're not a coder, but maybe it's happened to you in some other way. With coding though, you thinking of ways to solve problems that come, and what to do next. There is a lot going on, trying to fit all the pieces together. I wonder if there are other things that complex that keep people from falling asleep?

Well, I either stay up and wait to be mind-calmed. Or I keep coding until I'm ready to pass out :P


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


Like what I do? Then consider giving me a vote on the Witness page :) Thanks!

My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

This is why I always stop coding and watch a documentary, half way through I'm falling asleep.
If I code right before bed I'm the same, just can't sleep

Hehe, I tried to watch a show, but I was still up after. I ended up going to bed at 7am.

Lol yeah if I don't get my beauty sleep look out

Curated for #informationwar (by @thoughts-in-time)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

01110101 01100011 01101110 01100100
01101111 01101001 01110100 00100001

Thanks for the support.

You need to wear blue blocker glasses at night.

Coder's insomnia used to happen to me all the time because the high frequency light from the monitor tricks my brain into thinking it's still daytime.

I got this pair for like $15, it's a nothing investment.

Nah, any other night I'm in front of my computer and it's not an issue. It's the mind thinking issue that glasses aren't going to fix ;)

I know what you mean. The glasses help but sometimes your brain will force a second or third wind just from logic bombs.

I know marathon sessions are part of coding culture, probably because that goes with the complex territory.

I've always thought 'coders insomia' must be very common as a result. I'd be surprised if anyone that codes for a living hasn't experienced this.

The challenge is how to get back in control of your brain and switch it off.

I think the only way is to force yourself to do something more mundane for at least several minutes before sleep, but that's a real wrench I know.

At least you're not alone... as I'm sure the rest of the comments will reveal.

Yeah, doing other stuff doesn't keep me up so late lol

You could try a ritual to calm your mind. I don't know what works for you but if my mind is thinking too hard I also cannot sleep. What I do is read a book a little bit or eat something to make my body do something else like digesting. I know it is not the best thing but you will find something that works for you. Meditating is also working :)

Reading a book is a good thing. I should have tried ;)

I am stubborn even if I am still working on a solution in bed I will refuse to get back up before you know it, it is time to go to work and it feels I have not even slept a stitch and instead of solving the problem you maybe realise everything you did is the wrong approach. Goodluck.

LOL, well the wrong approach is detected when you finally realize what you were doing wrong. Gotta keep at it to know it was wrong.

I know the feeling brotha, coders insomnia is a part of the game :D

Get a vape and smoke some pot an hour before you want to sleep.

Only problem is then you will become a freak and your geek days will be all over...

LOL, no more ganja for me. Sober and prefer it.

That happens if you are looking at the mobile phone screen as well. It's about the blue light. If you use a filter on the colors of your screen that might help.

Also, when I code at night, I stop 1 hour before going to bed to get the brain rest a bit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53