Classical-Music Curation Number 4 (with a 1 SBD prize quiz!)

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

b64839d9d62b3f555c490410a171f4b7.jpg
Source

Yes, we've all done this. It's funny when it happens to someone else!

We are growing! Thanks to the efforts of everyone who is promoting the tag and the Dischord (https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt).

So, now that the community is growing, I can't list everyone's post anymore each week! This is a great problem to have, but it means I have to be really a bit more selective each week unless I want to spend a whole day doing the curation write up! It also means I'm changing the way that I list my own posts for @bengy and @musicapoetica. Obviously, I think I write good articles that are worth reading/listening to, however, it is a bit of a conflict of interest to list them here in the recommendations. So, in the interests of avoiding conflict of interest, I have listed my own posts that I think are worth reading/listening at the bottom in a section titled "Shameless self promotion".

Before I continue with the point of this post, I would like to mention that [I have applied for a delegation from] @karensuestudios to help our community grow. Please go over and help me if you can! Or if you have other projects in mind, go and apply also! Just try to make it worse than mine!

Listen and Watch

3-awesome-listening-activities-for-advanced-esl-students1-e1414776725349.jpg
Source

As I mentioned before, there are now a lot of posts that need to be looked at! These are just the ones that caught my eye, if you are not mentioned, it's not a comment on your post. Please feel free to get the word out on our Dischord channel.

"Theme from Schindler's List" by @silentscreamer is one of our top entries from our community from this week's @openmic. The other leading entrant is Clair de Lune by@silviagoh. We have many other entries from other musicians from our community, please go over and support them! You will find their posts in our Dischord channel.

I enjoyed very much this relaxing guitar solo from @grayarty, The Watermill by Ronald Binge. Originally for Oboe and Strings, we can hear it here in an arrangement for solo guitar. Also in the "relaxing" mood, we have a contemporary composition by @timspeer, Modern Classical Piano No. 1 (original).

Lastly, from our regular band of guitarists, @guifaquetti, gives us pleasing performance of Vasco Martins - Hayku III.

Read

download (1).jpg
Source

It was the birthday of Chopin this week, and so it was fitting that we had two posts by @cmp2020, 7 Pieces by Chopin and @guifaquetti, The Nocturnes of Chopin.

Also from @guifaquetti, we have the The guitar of Dilermando Reis (1916 - 1977). This was a really interesting read for me, I didn't know anything about this man.

And lastly, an introduction from one of our newest members, @rogeviolinista! Go and say Hi!

Shameless self promotion

My application to the SP delegation is here. I am hoping that a touch more SP will help me to grow the community even faster!

I have a short Grave from the Bach solo suites for violin and also a Crucifixion sonata by Biber posted. Also from @musicapoetica, there is a snippet from the completion of Bach's Markus Passion and a round up of previous performance posts.

In the writing section, I have a short description of the glamorous life of a travelling musician inspired by my current travelling schedule. Meanwhile from @musicapoetica, we have What is temperament and Why is Early Music freelance.

Music Quiz

Congratulations to @zpedro who was first in with the correct answer, 0.1 SBD is on it's way. However, according to the rules of the quiz, @guifaquetti wins the 1 SBD. @tomista also came in third and wins nothing...

What is this piece?

IMG_20180308_113356.jpg

Who can name this piece? First correct reply will get 0.5 SBD. However, to get around the google image searches, I also have a second part of the contest. Post your favourite performance of this particular piece, and I will pick a winner (the performance that I also like!) for another prize of 0.5 SBD.

Bonus Music Quiz

Thanks to @cmp2020, who donated his prize back for a bonus prize.

What is this piece?
1st hint: French
2nd hint: there are 2 of these!

DQmV5cenWKzn5wXd1kX96hDLWBRjVyNPGXLZXj4HAqFd5FB_1680x8400.jpg

Who can name this piece? Second correct reply will win 1SBD, read that properly, to try and get around google searches it will be the SECOND reply. First correct answer gets the consolation prize of 0.1 SBD.

Here endeth the curation, next time I will do this on a computer instead of a phone....

U5dsUfcvauXNAP4kT4SzwKQs8yV8c6Y_1680x8400.png

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

Referral links
Mene, Investment jewellery.
Humble Bundle Monthly, PC games package every month!
Coinbase, the biggest fiat on and off ramp.
Binance, the biggest crypto exchange.
Mannabase, Universal income in the blockchain
Cryptopia, Lots of lesser known altcoins.

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone

Sort:  

Hi @bengy,

Thank you for another great post in your curation series. As always, you have identified some great content!

I think you already know, but for your readers' benefit, I wanted to note that this post was selected for sharing on the Steemit's Best Classical Music Facebook page, and included in our Roundup Issue #24.

Thanks! And yet again thanks for all the help you are giving to the community!

Hold your answers for the main quiz, just adjusting the rules a little bit!

EDIT: Slight tweak to the main quiz rules. Bonus quiz rules are still the same.

First correct reply will get 0.5 SBD. However, to get around the google image searches, I also have a second part of the contest. Post your favourite performance of this particular piece, and I will pick a winner (the performance that I also like!) for another prize of 0.5 SBD.

you can actually Google image search it? oh my! that guy Google is smart!

ahh. Arabesque No. 1 by Debussy!

Any guesses for the other? (B1)

tough one! don't play the violin :/

Technically, it appears on a violin part... true. But it shouldn't be played on a violin....

ahh. still string instrument though? I was trying it out assuming it was treble clef and C major. hahaha!

Ha ha, no more clues yet.

Arabesque No. 1 - Debussy 😀

Haha, family team effort! Any ideas for the main one? (B2)

haha. the one bar seems so familiar i knew i've seen it. I can see abit of vocal lyrics on the top but definitely never seen that one before!😀 Btw thanks for the mention @bengy!

No problem, you still have a week if it comes back to you!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01