Bach, Grave from a minor solo Violin sonata BWV 1003

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


The solo violin sonatas and suites by JS Bach are one of the cornerstones of a violinist's learning. It is perhaps one of the few Baroque pieces that a 'modern' Classical violinist will have in their repertoire. Early Musicians also claim it as part of our own repertoire, however, for us it is but another part of the long journey from the early baroque/renaissance through to the Classical era.

This Adagio is from the a minor Sonata (BWV 1003). It is usually followed by another movement (hence the unfinished sound at the end), but I didn't have time to record the next one!

Please enjoy this performance, made on a cold Dutch winter morning. There was much roadwork, so this had to be timed in between their drilling!

This post is in response to a comment by @silentscreamer. I want my Tchaikovsky now thanks!

U5dsUfcvauXNAP4kT4SzwKQs8yV8c6Y_1680x8400.png

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Referral links
Mene, Investment jewellery.
Humble Bundle Monthly, PC games package every month!
Coinbase, the biggest fiat on and off ramp.
Binance, the biggest crypto exchange.
Mannabase, Universal income in the blockchain
Cryptopia, Lots of lesser known altcoins.

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Bengy i have never played Adagio from a minor Sonata, but i have played Grave. 😁 wink wink

Oops! Nice catch...

A challenge has been cast i see. I shall meet this challenge good sir. 😂

Not sure i have something on my PC but ill make something in the coming days. ❤

Ha ha, I will let you off easy. Doesn't have to be the concerto with full orchestra!

Congratulations @bengy, very beautiful work!

Thanks! There is many more of them to learn!

Love it! Excellent recording. So many great Bach pieces. The BWV 1003 Sonata is one of the tops for me.

For me the Magnificat is one of the best. And the are so many great bits of arias. And the two big passions... Too much good stuff!

with not remembering this piece of bach, if as you say @bengy these are pieces that are in the repertoire of the violinist, I remember in my beginnings in the violin playing Minuet 3. J.S. Bach

Ah, yes the dances from the suites are great for beginning violins. I was talking about how baroque pieces tend to be associated only with beginning violin, and not as part of the 'real' repertoire.

Hope to see you around the #classical-music community! Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

ahh. lovely music to listen to with my morning coffee. my wife @silviagoh praises your wonderful playing. I'm more 'easy' to please. as long at that musician is playing their instrument in pitch it's already music to my ears ;)

p.s. I totally understand the timing between interruptions! I'm glad you managed a good take!

Banner Steem-Music (500x200).jpg

Thank you! Finding enough silence to record is sometimes the trickiest part!

If you are interested, we also have community at #classical-music.

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

You got a 1.57% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bengy!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Music to my ears!

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it! If you are interested, there is a curation collection with a music quiz here.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

wow that was so stylistic!! phrasing, tone, articulation, interpretation all so perfect!! wish I could play Bach, but sadly I lack the intelligence needed to understand the music lol!

Thank you, there is many great Bach compositions for guitar! Original transcript for lute, by Bach! I'm sure you'd be able to find the way, it just takes experience by trying.

I've played Bach a long time ago, when I was studying the guitar with this teacher who told me that I don't have what it takes to play Bach, so guess you could say I was scarred after that..but you have inspired me!! Maybe I'll try some simple Bach first..wait there's no such thing lol

That's a horrible thing to say to a student! You can only learn by listening and trying. Make mistakes, play badly, but get better each time!

yeah he was a horrible teacher..guess I will have to try again..thanks for your support! 😀😀✌️✌️
Can I suggest something? I was thinking it would be nice if you could perhaps create a hashtag for a page where we can share the classical music that we listen to.. something like the #nowplaying..but only for classical music..:)

and perhaps you could do like a different theme or composer every week..and we can share the music that we like for that particular composer..

Sounds like a good idea. Maybe I will begin it in the next curation!

On the dischord channel, there is a section for music recommendations. I think it is the sort of thing that I prefer off the Steem blockchain, but if you are going to write an in depth post (@guifaquetti and @cmp2020 do this) just drop it in the #classical-music tag. At the moment we are focusing on growing the group before we found new tags.

But also, if you have stuff you want to share in the chain, please share them in the #classical-music tag as well!

ok cool..but I was thinking about something along the lines of sharing the rewards of the post to be split among all the contributors equally..that's what #nowplaying does..
https://steemit.com/nowplaying/@nowplaying-music/nowplaying-week-10
I think that would really help to make more Steemians get into the beauty of classical music as well..it's a great way to promote our beloved music.. thanks for listening to my suggestion 😀😀✌️✌️

I will check how it works and see what I can do as we progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94