A Dollar A Day - my way of supporting charitable causes on steemit

in #charity6 years ago

In the real world I give to charity.

But not consistently, not regularly and usually just in an ad-hoc disconnected way when some cause catches my attention.

In the steemworld I want to do it differently.

Steemit gives the opportunity to connect.

If I connect I feel more desire to give.

It started when when I heard @rhondak on MSP Waves Radio. She was talking about a dog called Bailey and the Tazewell Animal Rescue Centre she is involved in. Tazewell Animal Rescue Centre now has its own account @tarc.

Then I came across @Malos10 and the work he was doing helping feed homeless people in Venezuela, with the help of @SirCork. Out of this the new charitable organisation @YouAreHope has been born.

Once I started looking I found a number of charities and charitable initiatives promoting themselves on steemit :

  • @dreamsoftheocean, a charity set up by @surfermarly, to organise watersports activities for children in need
  • @papilloncharity, a non-profit foundation in South Africa providing training in computer and other skills
  • @schoolforsdg4, a school for social and educational development of underprivileged children in Bangladesh, run by @azizbd

As well as charitable organisations I have also come across @dante01 's initiative to buy a new water reservoir for a tribal village in the Philippines :

As these pop up I can of course upvote their posts to lend support, and send donations as takes my fancy.

However I am wanting to do something more. Something more regular, something more consistent, something more connected.

I also want to learn more about the charities I give to.

A Dollar A Day

So in my own little way, in my own little corner of the steem blockchain I have come up with my A Dollar A Day program.

Each day I will look at posts from the various charities I have already found, or new ones that I come across, and send 1 SBD to the cause that engages me most.

Being in the UK, and having a moderately well paid job, 1 SBD is not going to break my bank.

For sure it's not. And I feel somewhat embarrassed to set the bar so low.

But this is what I am giving within my Steemit world, and to some extent it will be tied to my steemit earnings.

I would like to reach the point in the not too distant future of 'earning' at least $10 a day on steemit. My dollar a day would then be my tithe (10%) of that.

And I won't limit myself to 1 SBD a day. When I've had a happy day, or when I see a post that inspires me, I will give more.

Connection

What I want most of all is connection. Giving money without connection feels like an empty act.

Steemit provides such a perfect place for those with money to pass it on to those that need it.

There are many charitable initiatives coming forward on the steem blockchain. Some quite exciting and innovative ideas that could pave the way for major changes in fundraising and charitable giving.

I am looking forward to learning more about each charity I support.

And I hope my little dollar a day can do some little good each day of the year.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]

Sort:  

Thank you SO much for your attention to charitable giving in your life and on the steem block chain. People like you are what keep us going! On behalf of @YouAreHOPE and our team and myself, THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!

@SirCork
Founder: @YouAreHOPE
Top 100 Steem Witness

https://steemit.com/charity/@youarehope/a-letter-from-yah-founder-sircork-youarehope-foundation-s-charitable-practices-and-the-business-of-charity-accountable-and

You're welcome.

It makes me so happy that you mentioned our school. It is so honor to receive your donation. Please follow up how your donation help the kids from @SchoolForSDG4 . here is happening many things I can't share for my time and limitation of work load, you will find so many people who are writing for school and kids like this one. So your donation by upvote also counted.

Thanks a lot.

I'm glad to be able to help even in a small way.

I am very much looking forward to learning more about the school and the work you do there.

Bless you @pennsif.
My initiative is, since I have a job... I dedicate all my earnings here to the tribe and for our projects to create long term sustainable income.

I'm very much looking forward to learning more about the tribe and about your projects.

Our good intentions will be blessed as we blessed them! Thank you for the support. double thumbs-up!

We donate alot too, from our shops. Last year we sent alot of funds to Standing Rock, but we usually donate to local places, pay for kids school lunches who cannot afford it, or some schoolastic books, winter coats...just the basics kids need and their parents cannot always afford.

We don't usually donate to online individuals, because we have had too many people try to sell us bridges...though not on Steemit yet.

That is good. Donating with local causes is good for making the connections. So much better than anonymous giving.

If we have the oportunity to help someone it is a better way to live gratefully.
Thank you for conected with a great proyects that we are sure it is a way to help others.
Best regard @galberto

Thank you for your support.

A pleasure dear. It is a little but could help.

That's a good idea. Like you say, it's better if you can connect with a charity, especially when with so many charities now you cann't be sure your money is getting where it's needed. I think on steemit everything is a bit more open and yet it's somehow more personal in the way we can connect despite the distances between us all.

Thank you for highlighting some of the charitable causes on here. It's not always easy to find them. Although I guess I should check under the charity tag now I think of it!

I am enjoying very much connecting with and learning more about the charities here on steemit.

Wonderful initiative. I have made several donations to good causes from posts on Steemit and hopefully my posts have also raised the profile of the organisation. My main ongoing charity I post about is KIVA and have just made another KIVa Loan yesterday supported by Steem.

Thank you. I have just recently come across Kiva. I think I found it one of your posts. It looks like a good initiative. Have you been using it for long?

I made my first loan almost 7 years ago. It has recycled several times. I did have 1 total loss but my Steemit post rewards have recharged my interest and funded several more loans.

Hi Stephen, just found your latest post about this. Does look like a good scheme.

Followed you now to learn more about your Kiva experiences.

You're welcome.

That's such a good initiative. I hope you will bless many in this way.

Thank you.

Big thumbs up for your philanthropy here.

Thank you.

Ej something happened!!

I wrote a nice story about that this is the way how change starts. Small steps from a single initiative can lead to great things.

As Oprah would say, pay it foward!

But it got lost damnnn. Still, keep it going! This is the way to go

That's a shame. Do try reposting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67