Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit : ideas for improving retention

in #homesteading6 years ago

I am currently updating the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit.

The last list had 230 members - that was back in the first week of October.

Since then a number of new homesteaders, and the odd prepper, have arrived on steemit to help push the list towards 250.

While pondering this milestone I started checking through the list. As I had compiled the list I had followed every single person I added.

I begun to wonder where many of the people on the list had got to - I hadn't seen posts from them for a long, long time.

I clicked on a few of the names and checked their profile pages. No posts, no comments, no upvotes for 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 4 weeks or more.

I didn't go through every profile. That would take too much time. But I randomly viewed about 3 dozen. Alas at least a third of them appear to be inactive.

This is not totally unexpected and I am sure it is not unique to the homesteader and prepper community. In fact it may well be that the drop-out rate is lower in our community than in steemit as a whole.

But it got me thinking. Is there anything we as a homesteaders and preppers community can do to keep more members active on steemit?

There is already a Discord channel - HomesteadersOnline run by @greenacrehome. There is also a Homesteading ChainBB forum run by @felander.

These certainly help to keep people engaged in steemit and to progress through making connections with other homesteaders and preppers.

But not everyone will find these, and not everyone will have the time to participate fully with them.

What other ways could we nuture new members, keep them active on the platform and build the community?

I don't have a ready-made box of answers. But here are a few thoughts, comments and ideas that might help start a discussion.

  • Weekly voice chats on Discord - maybe with an invited guest, or around a particular topic
  • More competitions - with cash prizes
  • A mentoring / buddy system to help new members when they first join
  • Homesteader/Prepper of the Week awards, and Newcomer of the Week
  • Exchanges of seeds, plants, produce??? ( @papa-pepper has led the way on this)
  • A directory of skills, knowledge, expertise that people are willing to share
  • Meetups (geography permitting)
  • Bartering, promotion, sales of goods and services (eg @greenacrehome sells homemade soaps)

Of course many homesteaders and preppers prefer to maintain a degree of anonymity. I understand that. So the level of participation in any of these ideas would be up to the individual.

One idea I would like to try, bearing in mind the previous point, is a series of 'Meet the Homesteader / Prepper' interview posts. If anyone would be willing to be a guinea pig on that do let me know and we can chat on Discord.

I am very interested to hear what people think of these suggestions, and any other ideas you may have to help keep people involved and active on steemit.

The more homesteaders and preppers there are active on the platform the stronger, and more prosperous, we can all be together.

The new version of the Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit list will be coming out in the next few days. If you are not on the current list and you would like to be on the new one do let me know in the comments below. Or if you know anyone that should be on the list likewise let me know below.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image by @pennsif]

Sort:  

I think it is hard to figure Steemit out but I think some of it is the fact that you work so hard on a post and it makes so little money, they get discouraged and give up. You go through here and see one sentence posts or a gif post bring in a hundred dollars or more and they feel like it is not worth it. I am not saying that it is all about the money, it is lots of things like friendships and supporting one another, It has been talked up so much move to Steemit and make money. There are some problems here that the whales and the witnesses need to address and it will make it a better place. I try to post every week because of having lots going on. I would like to post every day but it is to hard for me to right now. I do try to curate and read posts every day.

Yes steemit has many issues about fairness of post rewards and distribution of wealth. As well as the big problems of exploitation and gaming of the system, and the invasion of the bots.

This all used to bug me a great deal, and still does sometimes, but now I tend to ignore all that and just try to do what I do. I have my own 'rules' of how I play the game, and I'll stick to those as long as I am allowed to.

I am the same way. I have my own rules to play by, I try to treat others as I would want to be treated. It just seems that these issues are the cause of some leaving Steemit and that is a shame because there are many good people on here.

Hopefully some will take a break rather than leave altogether.

I have not posted in forever but I pop in every few days and read stuff still if steemit is working. I stopped coming here all together during all the issues steemit was down 99% of the time I tried to look so I quit looking... It seems like it might be back to normal? I am itching to post again but not if my entire post disappears without a trace like my last post I attempted... Also, because I am a full time homesteader, it is HARD to make time to post so it has to run smooth for me to invest my time.

It does seem to be working much better lately, not so frustrating.

Yes please do start posting again @wholesomeroots. It has been working well for a week or two now.

well, really nice post and thanks for the mention of the forum

I am running this alone for the moment because there is not enough chainbb only posts on there, they still show all the other ones originating from busy and steemit as well.
But soon I should be getting a couple of % of the revenue of posts made there.
these I had planned to use for 2 purposes

  • looking for a moderator and paying for their time
  • hosting some contests with revenue made

hopefully this will then get a bit more traction from the community so we can engage more with eachother and learn and share

I will be interested to hear how it progresses.

I have had a look at chainBB, and I may pick it up again at some point, but I must admit the user interface doesn't grab me.

There seems to be a similar curve with folks who start YouTube channels, too. But honestly, I'm also wondering if the seasonality of homesteading is part of it as well--the fall time is harvest, hunting, and lots of busyiness in the Real World. I think weetree has a really good point, too--Steemit is hard to figure out!

Hopefully the homesteaders will be heading back to steemit now winter is almost here.

So the Southern Hemisphere doesn't exist any more? lol (/jk I like to tease) :D
dusts off t-shirts, shorts & a large sunhat for gardening

Seriously though, I have only recently joined the Discord group, but what about something like choosing a different topic each week?

Hi @ravenruis. Do you mean having a different topic for a voice chat, or for general discussion in chat? Could be a good idea.

I'd thought 'general discussion' but have been considering this further and imagine other options to be better suited to the potential format? Others more experienced would have a better idea on how to work it into a programme format, but perhaps we could all nominate topics, and there could be a random draw? Or a finding of experts to pick brains of?

Topics that aren't heavily seasonally-specific, hopefully, so it won't matter which hemisphere we're in. :)

Several have left steemit because they can't figure out how it works..

That is very true. Steemit needs perseverance. I guess a mentor / buddy system might help with that.

The key is them willing to slow down to learn.

good work organizing this! i need to get a post out on my curation for sustainability soon..

Thank you. How is it going with the curation plans?

@wholesomeroots also has a facebook group running called Homesteaders on Steemit which I've found helpful. It's been a bit quiet of late like much of the homesteading community, but can be quite active at times. Being in a different time zone to most I find I don't miss as much on there and can catch up on conversations easier than the chat groups.

All the ideas sound good. Like the idea of the interviews too.

I haven't used Facebook for a while, but the more the merrier.

Would you be interested in being interviewed ?

Yes, if I can find a time that works. Or maybe an email interview would be good.

Great ideas! You can add me to your homesteader list!

Let me know if there is a way I can contribute.

Welcome, you are now on the new version of the list coming out this evening!

I agree so much with all that's been said already. Steemit is an uphill battle in many ways. People think they will earn more than they do. They come check it out and leave, at least a good amount do.

I think there's a line to walk here. Not all those that join are meant to stay for various reasons. Valuable new members are being lost for sure, but what about those that were fairly established but have gone missing posting-wise for a month or two now? Can we do anything to retain those people too?

Yes it is particularly sad when some of the established people drop out for various reasons.

Hopefully they will find their way back on to steemit soon.

I hope so too. There's a few I definitely miss having around.

I haven't been very active in the homesteading area lately on steemit because it's the time of year where I don't have anything to write about that's homestead related. Living in town, I'm more of a gardener than an actual homesteader who has winter stuff such as livestock, firewood, that kind of stuff to write about. My stuff is pretty much done until next spring.

A lot winds down for winter. Now it's time to start planning for next year. Plant a seed, grow a dream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99