May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Eight: What’s Your Most Consistent Hobby For The Last 5 Years?

in #challenge30days6 years ago

This is the eighth day of the May 30 days writing challenge proposed by @dragosroua. And here's my answer to today's question.


Mountain biking

I started practicing when I was finishing college, back in 1992. Then, due to work and family reasons, I left the bike parked for a few years and just 10 years ago I decided it was time to come back.

One of the reasons I love this hobby is the relation you create between yourself and nature. I like any kind of cycling, actually I do cycle to work most of the time, but mountain biking is very special to me. You get to know places you've never been before just because you would not think on walking to some of those places either because they are too far away for a regular walking training or just because you've never had a chance to go there. When you practice MTB you end up meeting new people while getting in shape, you share new paths and routes, you feel the nature as it flourishes in spring or gets cold in the winter and of course, you can measure yourself with all the different Apps you can find today for free.

Last summer I did my first several day trips alone. It was a 300km in the middle of Spain and I loved it. I traveled through a route called Camino del Cid and enjoyed every single Km I paddled. It is true that you enjoy yourself much more when you are a little bit in shape and can travel longer distances, but just regular short routes in areas you already know are a great satisfaction.

 


Here are my previous day's challenges.

 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31