Get To Know Me A Challenge By Anomadsoul

in #challenge6 years ago

I was nominated for this challenge by two friends @Bozz and @PrincessMewMew.

I came to Steemit because I was looking for a place to write stuff. You know, not facebook junk, not for somebody else, not WordPress. A place to write where there were people that might look at my stuff and if they liked it, come again. My friend @jongolson brought me and in the first day I decided I’d stay one year and see.

Self Portrait-1.JPG

My first post wasn’t a complete catastrophe but it was close. Among other things I couldn’t figure out how to post a photo in markdown. Markdown? Who ever even heard of that? HTML isn’t good enough for these people? What was I thinking of when I committed to a year? I must have lost my mind.



Source

My second post was a complete catastrophe. I ‘re-purposed’ a post I had previously written and published about a 1972 Norton Combat Commando. The writing was fine, it’s a perfectly good post, but the only comment I got was from Cheetah. At least I learned early about the ‘Original Content’ concept here at Steemit. I still have hundreds of old motorcycle reviews that I threaten to knock the rust off. I truly am crazy for motorcycles.

Sam 416-1.jpg

Inside of a month I had made a post about Sam the Wonder Dog. He’d only come to live at my place 3 weeks earlier. I was obviously fond of him them, and today I have a hard time imagining life without him. I’m still the luckiest man alive. I had found a markdown editor, but I didn’t know how to center my images in the final post. There is a good ending to that story.

Lake Superior Connie-1.JPG

I had written some ‘self help’ type articles that are ok, but not my passion. I was trying to sell myself to Steemit. Then I wrote a post about camping off a motorcycle. I what was a relatively blatant copy of my new friend @Velimir I started a series on my motorcycle travels. I stole the concept from Velimir and the title from John Steinbeck. Travels With Connie #1 was the first of a still ongoing series and had some pretty good writing in it. I made 0.11 on it, but I knew it was going on.

As you can plainly tell by the photos, Connie not only gets around she sleeps around. Sometimes at cheap motels but often just where sunset happens to catch her. Once in a while she is involved in a group activity, sometimes she stays with friends but is just as likely to be sleeping all by herself with her main man.

JeromeReflection-1.JPG

By the time I had written Travels With Connie #3 I’d been hanging around the PAL and Adsactly Discords for a while. I was having fun going back and forth with people at both places. I was truly starting to get to know people. What a concept. This post is especially memorable because it was the Adsactly Post of the Day. I can’t tell you what that did for my confidence. It was a truly big deal to me.

BobSmith-1.JPG

By this time I was very active at Adsactly and at PAL, had been accepted at Quarator. A place that had admissions standards? How did I get in? I was so tickled to be allowed to publish there, imagine my shock when Travels With Connie # 12 made the cover of their daily curation mag. I was out of my mind.


Source

By now I had started to make some real friends on Steemit. I love to comment and engage people so I was then (and still am) going back and forth with people that I was becoming genuinely fond of. One of them, the previously mentioned Velimir challenged me to write an article featuring motorcycles that Adsactly could use. Do You Need Motorcycles In Your Portfolio? Was the first of what is now 30 articles that I have written for Adsactly. I’d never asked Vel about pay and was simply dumbfounded when the pay notice came for that one. 798 votes? Like everybody else I’d wasted significant time chasing whales when I first started, and those totals just amazed me. I am eternally grateful for that opportunity.

Bones-1.JPG

The Steem Engine I still don’t know how I got to play with those incredible authors. You see, I’m not an author, I’m not a writer, I’m a stacker of words. Several people that I admired then and now suggested I apply. There standards were way too high, but I applied anyway. Travels With Connie #43 Dreams Die Hard (maybe my personal favorite) probably helped me get there. It was also my first Currie. I couldn’t believe it. Still can’t.

cat-803124_640-1.jpg
Source

I had occasionally told little bits of my personal story across time. Princess Mew Mew and others pestered me to write it down. I’m still grumbling about it, but Travels With Cleo #1 is the first of a jumbled and disjointed history of me.

Ahhhh, Jeeze. I’ve gotten way over my word budget, I just couldn’t help it. Here is the whole part I need to say in one paragraph:

It has been my privilege to get to know and work with some of the finest people I have met online under any circumstances. The people at PAL and Adsactly and Qurator and The Steem Engine and Isle of Write are just beyond normal folks. Way beyond in many cases. They are basically at fault for any success that I have enjoyed here, and I can not thank any of them enough.

I am 67 years old, and the Steemit experience has been one of the coolest experiences I have had. I can't even begin to name all the people that have helped me and guided part of my journey. Thank you one and all.

I challange my friends @broncofan99 @zenart and @catweasel (I owe him one :)

All photos in this post are properly sourced and liscensed.

Unsourced photos are courtesy of the author.

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Love it. You're the man, Tom! :)

yes he is! Tom is one of my most favourite people I have met on Steemit.

Thanks Velimir. I really appreciate it.

That is awesome! You picked some really great posts to highlight. I have known you for a while since I have been on the platform through various Discord channels and groups. I now know much more about you than I did before though! You do a better job at stacking words than I think you give yourself credit for :)

Thanks Bozz. I really appreciate that you challenged me, you have kept me motivated from time to time. I really do appreciate it!

ahh! this is very special. You are amazing!

I have loved getting to know you, and I really enjoy all your posts, ESPECIALLY Travels with Cleo.

Steem on Tom. You are an amazing person

Thank you. If I don't do one other thing on Steemit getting to know you has been worth it.

Thanks for sharing your story with us. Congrats on your success on Steem and I appreciate your giving credit to the many communities that have helped you along the way. I have felt the love of some of the ones you mentioned.

Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!

It's the people, plain and simple. This place would be pretty pedestrian without all the cool folks around.

Thanks for the kind words!

Markdown confused the hell out of me at the start I thought i was a doofus, glad to hear others also found it challenging

I still think I'm a doofus when it comes to markdown!

I know I am LOL

Nice write up my man, I too did not know the first thing about Markdown. Like who is Mark Down? Just how the hell is going to help me?
Truly great folks you mentioned in those groups and you are in them because you belong there.

I love that. Who is this Mark Down guy and what does he have against me? Ahahahahaha

very cool, i love the pics of you and Sam. i'm beginning to really fall for Sam and that photo with you and the donkey is so classic. awesome get to know you post and so glad i've gotten to know you better. thank you for sharing your story and so happy you came to steemit!

I'm really glad I came to Steemit too. I've just gotten to meet a ton of cool people, not the least of which is you!

I have a confession: That isn't me, it's my friend Bob Smith. I have had pictures on the cover of the Qurator daily twice, both times it was pictures of Bob :) The other was at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon with him building a fire.

Sam is pretty easy to fall for. He truly is a good doggy. We are going to a meeting in just a few minutes and he'll have 20 people that are genuinely glad to see him. Me, maybe not so much.

wait what? none of the photo are you? wth man? LOL
yeah he's a babe hahaahah (sam that is) :)

We were saddling up in Oatman and that burro with the floppy ear just wouldn't leave Bob alone. I stepped out in the street and took the picture. I just love the colors of it.

And yes. Sam is way cool.

i think i was thinking the first photo was of you and well yes all of them but i was mostly saying the first photo was a cool one but all of them are. thanks for the specs and love me some SAM

Great post Tom. I’m glad you stuck it out on Steemit. Lovely to meet good people here .

Thank you. It's people like you that make it easy to stay.

So sweet to say Tom. ❤️

Lovely to reading how you first started out on steemit @bigtom13 - you're definitely not the only one wondering what markdown was :) I used to be on the phone to my son constantly in the beginning! Glad you stayed and so honoured to have met you through The Steem Engine - your travels with Connie reminds me of my hubby's favourite TV show - The World's Greatest Motorcycle Rides with Henry Cole. I must look back at the Cleo stories as well! Just keep on steeming :)

I had to look up Henry Cole, but I'll watch him some now. Thanks for that.

I really have no idea with markdown, and I've been using it for a while.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 271 (10/04/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95