1914 Humbrette Model 8 - Franschhoek Motor Museum

in #car6 years ago
image

1914 Humbrette Model 8


One of the best light cars of its era.

V-twin engine. Water-cooling introduced for 1914.

Car weighs only 365 kg.

Leather-lined cone clutch.

70 Humbrettes were made every week. In 1913 Humber was the UK’s second biggest manufacturer.

--

Technical:

Engine: 998 CC V-twin side-valve
Power: 6 KW @ n/a r/min
Transmission: Manual 3-spd
Max speed: n/a km/h


This post is part of a series from my recent visit to the Franschhoek Motor Museum. See the other posts here:
1911 Ford Model T - Franschhoek Motor Museum
1904 Mars Carette - Franschhoek Motor Museum
1904 Oldsmobile Curved Dash - Franschhoek Motor Museum
1903 Ford Model A - Franschhoek Motor Museum
Worldly Wanders #10 - Franschhoek Motor Museum, Cape Winelands, South Africa

cheeto.blue
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Please upvote if you liked this post, follow if you want to see more, and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Equipment used:
Canon 6D
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM


Sort:  

I have always had a secret desire to own and love a classic car like this. Alas, money eludes me!

Dang!! I know that feeling!! These cars are only for the super rich hey 😉

Yes, sadly...I suppose the insurance would be a killer

Funny enough, insurance can be pretty reasonable on these old cars. There are insurers that specifically insure old cars at an agreed upon value with a pretty decent rate 😊

Really? I always thought that , because of their uniqueness, insurance would be through the roof...One learns every day. Have you ever thought of restoring one?

My son had an old Maserati for a while, they have limited mileage insurance packs at reasonable prices. If you steal something like the 1914 model above , you could never use it , too few around!

I would sneak a try!! I couldn't imagine how exhilarating it must be!

Its in amazing condition, I love how cars back then still has the carriage design.. like you just take the engine out and put horses in front of it.

Hehe - they were amazing hey! So different to today but awesome!!

Its a great example of showing how change is a process not something that is instant.

Such a beauty....thank you for sharing

You are a vintage car lover ?

Of Cos I do...don't I just love the ride in your beetle....

👍🏼👍🏼😂

My greatest pleasure... Thanks for stopping by 😁

Beautiful and very advanced for its time with water cooling!

Hehe - must have been hey!! ☺️

I really like pictures of old cars and you did a great job! I also love that you only post the picture, but also give the technical details of the car.

I'm still new to Steemit and I finished my third post yesterday. I try to give structured feedback on peoples pictures. If you have some time, would you read my last post and tell me what you think? I would appreciate it a lot!

Enjoy your day!

Thanks for the comment. I'll definitely pop by and have a look 😉

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 29.0% @peaceandlove upgoat, thanks to @cheeto.blue
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cheeto.blue to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks for sharing this high quality content with us !
Appriciate thatlove anicents

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

There are a few of them at 5he open main in Kimberley

Great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25