Garden Two At 3.3 weeks In Vegetative Stage: Before and After Thinning

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

Three and a half weeks into growing my second garden and I am working on my pruning and thinning skills. I have learned that thinning (which translates to removing redundant leaves and leaves that become discoloured, as the plants age) will encourage the plants to grow into a stronger, denser hedge.

The first picture on the far left is what my Queens looked like 10 days ago. The picture on the right is what the Ladies looked like before I thinned them of some of their leaves.

 

       (Plants 10 Days ago.)                              (Plants Just Before Thinning.)

As you can see, these plants can grow a considerable amount in the span of just 10 days.

It's not called weed without good reason. (So I have quickly learned.)

It grows vivaciously and needs regular care and maintenance, To Achieve A Decent Yield

If you take some of the leaves from the plants at this point, it lets both the air and light get in and around the plants more effectively. It's also a calculated amount of trauma for the plants that will encourage the plants to recover and strengthen themselves.

I am also pinching off all the main centre sprouts to encourage the plants to eventually produce more bud clusters. Normally the plants would only produce one cola or very tight bud cluster from a centre sprout, but if you remove the centre sprout (early on in vegetative state) the plant will produce 2 more bud clusters and if you do this again, the plant will produce 4 more bud clusters. Ultimately, this technique encourages the plants to grow more buds or flowers.

At this point, I am also bending branches and gently squeezing the sides of some of the stocks

Bending the branches or larger stems encourages the plants to take a more horizontal position and once you achieve that position, it will stimulate the plants to grow more vertical stems that will produce more buds or flowers too. The plants will grow many vertical stems from the horizontally bent branches as it tries to reach for the light. I am also gently squeezing the sides of some of the larger stocks. This damages the plant and encourages it to repair itself. This repair, ultimately makes the stocks stronger and able to hold more flower buds which can become quite heavy as the plants mature. These techniques are often referred to as Super Cropping.

Staking is also a common procedure to give the plants support. This also becomes increasingly necessary as the plants grows.

                      

I have learned that when you thin the leaves from a plant, you should always pull the leaf and the leaf's stem downward on the stalk. You'll notice that the Queens have responded almost instantly to having their leaves thinned and they are drooping a little bit as a result of the trauma that they have just endured.

This is the pile of leaves that I have removed:

                      

In less than 24 hours, the plants re-bounded.

                      

It's difficult to tell that "thinning" has even occurred.

                      

I am also trying my hand at cloning or taking a cutting from an existing plant and getting it to take root.

                     

This particular plant (in the photo above) is the thinnest of all the plants that I am currently growing. Most of the other plants look like the photo below.

                     

You can see that these plants are looking healthier than the plants that I grew in my first garden.

I am learning. This is progress, one green leaf at a time.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...sometimes there will be a few piles of leaves and stems that are sacrificed for the common good of....all of humanity. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

I always enjoy reading your articles on these topics because your knowledge is second to none and I always learn something new each time. Is there a dispensery in your area that you could possibly sell your product to? I think your sitting on a gold mine myself. Maybe you could name a strain that once you become famous... Gold Mine Nuggets!

Thank you @bluelightbandit! I still have a lot to learn myself on the growing side but I do appreciate your kind words. Once again, good documentation so I can refer back to it and remember what I did and when.
There is option to sell to other medical cannabis patients and I may or may not do this. It just depends on how good I get at producing top quality flowers in a large quantities. Time will tell. I like gardening but no kidding aside, I'm now tied to these plants until I install a programmed watering and feeding system.

@rebeccaryan
I love it. You are getting to be an expert in the care and growing of your plants.
And I would imagine that the leaves has some value to you or other people.
I know from years ago. The users of cannabis rarely threw anything away.
It would have to be really bad to just throw some away.
You wrote before about all the lighting, humidity settings, temperature and plant food that you have to take care of with your plants.
You are close, if not already there. The perfect plant grower.
That is so interesting to me. I like to see plants grow.
Especially your "cannabis plants." Ha

Francis

Thank you @francisk! These plants grow very quickly. We know a lot more now about this plant because information is being shared. As most growers are using nutrients to fertilize the plants it is not advisable to eat the leaves unless the plant has been properly flushed with pure water for 14 days. This removes the bulk of the fertilizer. Last year, I was given leaves from an out-door organic grow. I dried those leaves and made tea with them. No psycho-activity, just herbal tea. :)

Are you using a root stimulant to get the cuttings started? I always dip my cuttings in a powdered hormone to stimulate root growth and fray the end that is in the liquid. I have no idea if this practice is also good for cannabis.

Yes @happyme. I used rooting hormone. It's been 2 days so far and the cutting hasn't died so hopefully it will root.

That would be great if it works for you. You would never have to buy seeds again and your supply will just get bigger and bigger. Soon you will have to start giving plants away! Next thing you know, you'll be building a big greenhouse and applying for a commercial grow licence. Have you got enough space for that? Just a few miles away from me, one of the greenhouse operators has already applied for his licence and wants to switch from peppers to cannabis as soon as he is able to. He's got acres under glass!

Wow! He'll be set if he has deep enough pockets to get a government sanctioned grow license. Years ago, the government outlined its master plan to permit 50 Licensed Producers to supply inventory across the country. On average, it's a million dollar buy-in which is why most of our LPs are corporate with publicly traded stock.
My current medical grow license sits at 40 plants. @knarly327's license is for 25. Our plan is to eventually expand...just need to get a few gardens under our belts first.
Like farming, you become tied to crops and rotating crops. This is what my future holds @happyme.
I'm also leaning towards being able to help others with the set-up of micro-grows...(just like how I started) and being able to test strains for folks.

65 plants can take up a lot of room. That should be good enough for a small start-up.
I know what you mean about being tied to your plants! I don't go on vacations because all my plants would die if I was gone too long. I've automated the opening of windows for ventilation, but the watering is still started and stopped manually. I could get a timer, but that could end up with over-watering because how fast the soil dries out is weather-dependent. I have not watered inside the greenhouse for well over a week now that the weather has been cooler. I was getting split tomatoes from too much water, so had to stop watering. There seems to be a lot of moisture that is re-captured when water evaporates and then condensates on the inside of the plastic and drips back down to the soil.

@rebeccaryan - Ma'm, why I'm respecting you a lot is, you like to do thinking that we didn't think to do.... Once you extracted cannabis... then you make a soup by using Diya Labu lol :) (I didn't know it can cook as a soup till that day ma'm) Now you plant inside & it looks good.... I have a lot to learn from you ma'm.... Nice I found you here..... Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post ma'm.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@steemwija! I am happy to have found you too, my friend. You actually encourage me to keep going. Thank you for being so supportive and a good friend. I bounce around a bit, one day it's squash soup the next day it's how to grow cannabis and what to do with it once it's cured. Never a dull movement. :)

@rebeccaryan - Oh Ma'm, glad to hear it... I'm from Asian continent & loves cook... but little spicy than yours :) I'm learning cooking tricks from you ma'm.... Love that <3

+W+

Great tips there Rebecca those plants are looking super healthy!! I had forgotten about squeezing the stems I will definitely try that next time round, I'm currently trying to reveg after harvest :-)

Oh @owenwat! Please keep me posted as to your success. It's a great way to learn what can be done with these plants.

fantastic post, i really like the way you care your plants they are also a living things and they must need a proper attention and the way you are trimming the leaves that's also good for the plant growth, Stay blessed and have a fantastic week ahead thanks for sharing

You too @adnanrabbani! Thank you for reading and commenting. I'm doing my best to make my second garden better than my first. I am hopefully that all continues to go well and nothing unusual happens as these plants grow. ;)

@rebeccaryan,
Are you planting Cannabis? Oh friend, if we do, definitely I can send you a selfie which I am at jail :D Anyway, how could you do that? Seems you have experience of gardening! Great job and thanks you very much for sharing such great experiences with us! Definitely this is unique! Coz I can't never do that!

Cheers~

Hahaha! Yes I am! Never say never @theguruasia!
I never thought in a million years that I would have a medical cannabis license and then a license to grow cannabis, myself. I am still shocked by this. I think we will see this plant legalized around the globe in this lifetime. I'll just figure all this stuff out and it will be there for you whenever the laws change in your country and I don't have to bail you out of the slammer. ;)

@rebeccaryan,
Yeah let's hope about it! Actually I I were at jail no one is here to get me out :D You have to do lol :D

Cheers~

They are looking amazing, removing some leaves is good idea,it stimulates growing of lateral meristems and new leaves

Thanks @anonimous! This garden even feels better to me...I just think that I am a little bit more confident.

Hi my dear friend! Yes you are right, really the leaves need the light and air, me i bought last time some leaves of mint to plant them near my house, but unfortunately died, didn't grow, i think because don't have light that's why, me i don't understand this things.i have to learn because i want to make my own mint, you know that everyday i need it to make my Moroccan tea.

Do you think that your climate is too hot/humid @creativewoman? In Canada, our climate is cooler and mint is considered an aggressive herb that most people grow in pots just so they can contain the plant.

Wow, your garden is getting better and better @rebeccaryan, plants please their freshness. You than fertilize for good growth?

Thank you @serkagan! Yes the plants were on the dry side when I started to thin the leaves. After I got them thinned, I watered and gave them nutrients. I do think that helped them to re-bound as nicely as they did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50