Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 17

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! Happy Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 17! Gather around the Insect Pub, to see butterflies and other insects, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income Shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away and depending on how many entries I have, I might be able to give away more. 1-SBI for photos and 1-SBI for art work. If no artwork is submitted, 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Entries will not be judged and winners will be chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. I am loving all of your entries from around the world. The winners for Week 16 are @djynn and @sketch.and.jam. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work form the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Drop a link to your post in the comments below to be eligible for a chance to win.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for today of Fireflies or Lightning Bugs.

Happy Independence Day! July 4th of every year is celebrated here in the U.S.A. The day is filled with parades, a day at the beach, and cookouts with friends and family. At night, the skies are filled with beautiful firework displays. My backyard lights up every night for about a month in the summer and no Pyrotechnics are needed. Hundreds of fireflies do the job.

Fireflies flash their lights to attract a mate and to warn predators to back off. Birds and other would-be predators do not like the taste of fireflies and the flashing light is to remind them of that.

This firefly was on my glass door and was taken from the outside.

This is the same firefly taken from the inside of my house. It shows the part that flashes light which is called a "lantern".

This is a firefly in flight taken from 2 different angles.

This is what they look like when flashing their lights as they fly around at night. You can imagine what hundreds or thousands of these fireflies look like when they are all flashing their lanterns. They sure do put on a nice light display.

Happy Birthday America!

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Fireflies are so cool. Thanks for sharing these. Have a wonderful 4th and enjoy the light show!

They are so much fun to watch. You have a great one too Omra! : )

Light taste bad, dark tastes better, especially dark chocolate! :-)
I've never seen a firefly, how cool that must be to see these
little lights flying around!!
4th photo from the top looks like the firefly is waving at you!
Fantastic photographs! Awesome contest!! ❤ 🐞 @whatisnew!!

🎆 Happy 4th of July my friend!

You've never seen the night lit up by the blinky bugs?
Have you ever seen a blizzard, a thunderstorm, a tornado?
Maybe the high price of life in the Midwest (mosquitos-chiggers-gnats-ticks-poison ivy-etc) is worth it, to see these things we (I) sometimes take for granted.

lol, well I've seen the sky lit up by aurora borealis and some
meteoric fireballs. Warm snow in July falling from the sky as
the cottonwoods fluff. Seeing earthquakes and volcanoes.
A plant here called devil's club that noone wants to join! hehe
Oh my, skeeters are everywhere and gnats. But no snakes, ticks
or fleas here in Alaska. Poison oak, ticks and fleas in California
I do remember, but no fireflies! I must travel and see the wonderful
lit bugs @carolkean and @whatisnew get to see! :-)

Oooh, I have never seen the aurora borealis - or the sled dogs running - or volcanoes or earthquakes. Never been to Alaska. Adding it to my Bucket List!

Happy 4th to you too @shasta! That is a shame that you have never seen fireflies light up the yard and trees. It sure is a sight to see. I looked at that 4th photo and you are right, it does look like it was waving at me. LOL! The photos of the ones flying were so hard to get. It took many nights just to get the 2. Thanks for your kind words and support, my friend. Where are your bees or bugs? : )

Hi Mike! Thanks for your entry. : )

Congrats to @djynn and @sketch.and.jam! :)
And Happy Independence Day!! :)

Here is my entry for this week:

Hi @zirochka! Thanks for your entry. : )

Yay! Thank you!
Those photos of fireflies are amazing.
I haven’t seen them for many years.
I remember they were beautiful....

My pleasure @djynn! I really enjoyed your dragonfly. : )
Thanks for your nice compliment. : ) I hope you are able to see them again one day.

I don't recall seeing fireflies at day light and I have not seen the for ages.

Look what I found here.

https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@nelinoeva/butterfly-day-moth-day-leopard-moth

Hi @nelinoeva! I usually don't see fireflies during the day either but this one loved to be in my garden.
Excited to see what you have. Thanks for your entry! : )

You got a 5.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I love fireflies...
Here is my entry this week.
Good luck everyone!
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@karbon/2eftyn-butterflyday

Hi @karbon! Thanks for your entry. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39