Butterfly Day / Moth Day - Leopard Moth

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Butterflies are beautiful but hard to catch. I mean to photograph. Although I have some selection of different photos and i am going to show all of them, for today my choice is of the moth I found few days ago.

Recently I discovered how beautiful some moths are. They can be found in different colours and patterns and I was happy to capture something I did not see before - the leopard moth. Clearly the name comes from the spots on the wings.

sc5br41jy8.jpg

The moth was on the wall under the windows of our office. I am sure nobody spotted it. Later it was gone. I am glad I found it and here are two more shots sideways.

j60n5h8xp3.jpg

xz5mqvd37z.jpg

The leopard moth is easily recognized by its black or blue dots on the wings and six large black spots on its furry white thorax. This particular one has lost one spot on its right side.

A close-up of the spots on the wings.

j1jnag64gy.jpg

Seeing that last photo, would you believe it is a moth?

Thursday is #butterflyday and #insectpub by @whatisnew

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
🌐eSteem.app | 👨‍💻GitHub | 📺YouTube
✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Such amazing markings Neli. Never seen such a beautiful moth. Great that you spotted it. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you Ally.
I was surprised to see it too.

This moth is beautiful, I never see nothing likely. And ... spotting a moth - that's an idea! ))

Posted using Partiko Android

I keep my eyes open when I am out. There are amazing creatures everywhere...

That is true!
I am often too busy with my thought when I go somewhere. Can't be helped...

That's a pretty one!

Thanks, I always thought moths are brown and ugly, but they are not.

I noticed they seem to have the color of where they sleep in the day time. It seems many sleep on tree bark and are brownish. I've always liked moths. They are like shy night time butterflies : )

That makes sense. And it is right to say they are shy. I love to see them close as they are so fluffy.

What a beautiful moth! Such a lucky find :-D I've never seen moths like this one.

Your photos of this pretty moth turned out amazing and the close up of the wing is fascinating!

It was surprising find. You never know what lives next door 😀

Thursday is butterfly day. Thank you for helping me find out. Macro photo is again excellent!

Glad you like them. 😀
It is a dose of luck almost every time, especially with birds.

Luck rewards the persevering.

Beautiful, both the moth and the photographs. Very elegant species.

Thank you 😀
Glad you like them.

beautiful edition of a moth. upvoted.

Thank you for viewing.

Very nice photos of that interesting moth. Most moths I’ve seen are very dull looking.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was thinking moths are only brownish and not attractive at all. Recently I changed my mind. Once I see and photograph something new like this one, I start to search info and then come across many more interesting species.
Thanks for viewing my post.

Wow! I have never seen a Leopard moth in person but with your amazing photos, I feel like I just did. It was whispering to you to take its photo so you could show it to everyone here. LOL! Some moths are very pretty and look more like butterflies. Another moth that I would love to see in person is the Luna moth. Thanks for sharing this beauty with us and thanks for using #butterflyday tag! : )

I am glad you like my Leopard moth. I was lucky to come across and to capture it. Frankly I did not know what kind of moth it was, but it was easy to find out.
Luna moth is something that is worth seeing, but I do not think there are any in Europe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38