RED ADMIRAL / #butterflyday

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

Finally got a butterfly to pose for me. And I even was able to Identify it as a Red Admiral from http://www.gardenswithwings.com/identify-butterflies.html

DSC_0637 (1).JPG

I was standing back by my wood burning barrel when I see see this black butterfly constantly landing on the same branch stuck in the barrel. I didn't notice the broken wing until doing this post.

DSC_0637 (2).JPG
Cropped from the photo above

This was the only good photo I could get with it's wings opened. Every time it landed it would close its wings and just stay that way till it fluttered off again.

DSC_0633 (2).JPG

DSC_0636.JPG
Learn about the Red Admiral ... http://www.gardenswithwings.com/butterfly/Red%20Admiral/index.html
DSC_0640.JPG

Thanks to ..... #whatisnew ..... we have..... #butterflyday & #insectpub

johnny-automatic-leaf-border.png

Sort:  

Nice capture! I hope the damaged wing could heal up!

It flew pretty good...

👍👏🧚‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great shots! I always wonder how the damage happened. Did it escape being someone's lunch?

Hi Melinda! Yes, it escaped from being lunch for birds. : )

They are so fragile and are not built to last long it seems...

YAY! I am so happy that you finally got butterfly photos and they are awesome! Right you are about the Red Admiral. The wings get nipped by birds but as you can see, it was lucky to get away. Thanks for using #butterflyday tag! : )

It's a challenge getting their pictures but when you do it's so very worth it ...:-)

Not to be underestimated name! ;-)

They are a pretty sight :-)

He claimed the branch as his territory.

Posted using Partiko Android

Kept coming back. Made it easy to take pictures :-)

They are said to be the friendliest butterfly since they are somewhat tame.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks I just read that to...:-)

Congratulations Mike! You won 1-SBI for Week 17. : )
Proof of transaction:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36