I left her to die

in #busy6 years ago

Remember when I found a female stag beetle (Lucanus cervus) in the bathroom?

Here is the short post I created because I was in a hurry.
More about it now:

I was surprised about the incident. As an endangered species, stag beetles are a rare sight, and even more so inside a house!
It didn't move, probably instinctively trying to hide and not getting seen. I quickly took my phone out of my pocket and shot some pictures. Each from a closer distance, slowly and cautiously moving closer.
Then I left the room to get my better camera. When I returned, it was gone. Or should I say she?
At this time I didn't think much of it. I thought this strong, independent creature just went its way. After all, it is the largest terrestrial insect in Europe.

  • Maybe it left the house the same way it got in.
  • Maybe it retreated to a safer location inside the house.
  • Maybe it was born inside the house and lived in a hidden lair since then all its life.

After a while, doubts started building in my mind.

  • What if it was trapped and couldn't get out of the house?
  • Would it find shelter and enough food?
  • Did it need my help? Should I have rescued it?

Two days later

I had not forgotten about the stag beetle. Whenever I opened the bathroom door I was overly careful. Really whenever I stepped anywhere.

So that morning, when I came down the stairs, I saw it/her again.
In the hallway, near the doorframe. Lying on its back. All limbs stiff, stretched away, not moving.

Sadness and guilt overcame me. My doubts were justified. I should have helped. I could have saved a life but failed to do so.

stag beetle in hallway on its back closeup macro.jpg

To pay my last respects to this innocent creature, I picked it up and brought it outside. So it could be reunited with mother earth and complete its life cycle with some kind of dignity.

I carefully put it on the ground outside for one last photo. In daylight's better light conditions I saw what turned out to be human hairs and a cloth thread, in which the beetle got entangled.
"Was this the cause of its death?", I thought, while carefully removing the culprits.

stag beetle outside on its back.jpg

Hope

Suddenly there was movement! Minimal motion of a leg and the masticatory organs. It was still alive.
Now I had hope again. Did my actions help to cure it? @spreadfire1 the beetle doctor. What else could I do to help my protégée recover?

Upon closer inspection, my hope was immediately crushed like a beetle's exoskeleton by a heavy object. There was a crack in its chitin shell and bodily fluid was leaking out.
Considering the size of the wound, there was no chance of survival in my humble opinion. It stopped moving again shortly after.

One could only speculate how the wound was inflicted. If somebody stepped on it, the crack would be much more severe, or even the whole exoskeleton would be crushed. Another theory would be that it tried to fly but crashed and fell on the hard floor flagstone. The entangled cloth thread could have caused that, imho.
We'll never know for sure. Rest in peace.

I put it on the compost pile, where other animals like ants can feed off of it. Over time, the remains will become valuable nutrients in the soil.

stag beetle outside turned over.jpg

The Bigger Picture

Who is to blame for this death?

  • I could blame myself for not rescuing the beetle when I first had the chance to.
  • We could blame humanity, society and modern lifestyle for destroying and restricting many species' natural habitats, endangering them or causing them to go extinct.
  • We could shrug off all responsibility and refer to natural selection. Only the strongest and fittest survive.
    How natural is natural selection though when humans or manmade objects like houses or fabric fibers are involved?

How much does it even matter?

Is all life equally important?
What anatomic features define when it is morally obligatory to protect a creature from harm, suffering or death?
Does it require a nervous system, do plants have rights too or is it immoral to kill bacteria?

You could adjudge people hypocritical: breeding and killing animals for meat, but caring so much about other animals.
On top of the food chain, we can decide on the fate of creatures on lower levels of the food chain. We decide when it is necessary to kill and when we let a creature live because we don't need to kill it in order to feed and to survive.

Thanks for reading! What do you think about the topic? What would you have done in this situation? Let's discuss in the comments!


Related articles:

24.03.2018Philosophy / Religion
thumbnail happy easter.pngHappy Easter (in a non-religious sense)
25.04.2018Philosophy
thumbnail small.pngEmbrace The Moment
21.05.2018Photography / Animals
dragonfly thumb small.pngDragonflies and other Pond Dwellers
30.05.2018Photography / Animals
stag beetle in bathroom thumbnail.jpgStag Beetle in the Bathroom

Help me out using these referral links

  • busy.org - the largest and most feature-rich alternative to Steemit
  • Get more followers with SteemEngine

My videos and live streams

dlive.io/@spreadfire1 | twitch.tv/spreadfire1 | youtube.com/spreadfire


My latest top articles:

04.05.2018Philosophy / Overview
thumbnail small.pngFor Content Lovers: Quote Collection & Overview of my best articles
10.05.2018Heroes of the Storm DLive Video
fenix penta kill thumb.pngHighlight Clip: Epic Fenix Penta Kill! Fenix Level 5 Plays
15.05.2018Gardening / Blog
gardening pumpkin planting and growing days 13-35 thumbnail small.jpgPlanting And Growing Pumpkins Days 13-35
30.05.2018Heroes of the Storm DLive Stream
Smurfin USA Thumb SteemGC 16-9 small.pngSmurfin' USA #6 - Wanna join me?
Sort:  

Beautiful .. what matters is your work
A great post from you done well
Thanks for sharing this with us..

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

postpromoter upvote in the amount of $38.33 STU, $48.06 USD.
rocky1 upvote in the amount of $35.94 STU, $45.06 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $18.45 STU, $23.13 USD.
booster upvote in the amount of $8.35 STU, $10.46 USD.
sneaky-ninja upvote in the amount of $5.67 STU, $7.11 USD.
mercurybot upvote in the amount of $1.36 STU, $1.70 USD.

For a total calculated value of $108 STU, $136 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $27 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Its so sad to see insects die. I love to see then adapt in our environment.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T13:24:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.00/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 8.04% upvote from @upme thanks to @spreadfire1! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

This post has received a 5.34 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @spreadfire1.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 12.33% upvote!
I was summoned by @spreadfire1. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 8.75% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @spreadfire1!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43