Bozzlife: #Wednesdaywalk / climb in the UP

in #busy5 years ago

IMG_20190625_105910.jpg


The Upper Peninsula(UP) of Michigan is pretty vast and I have been trying to separate it into different chunks so @mrsbozz and I can take the time to fully explore each area. This is our fifth or sixth year camping together in the UP and we have slowly been working our way further and further West each trip.

Marquette, MI is one of the larger cities in the UP (there are only about five large cities total), and we were pretty excited to explore this area. We stayed at a campground just south of the city which I wrote about here, and went golfing on our first full day in Marquette.

While researching things to do in and around Marquette, my wife and I kept coming across the word "Sugarloaf".

chrome_gVSvM0LYV7.jpg

source


Sugarloaf is a small (relatively speaking) mountain just North and West of downtown Marquette. Compared to some of the other hikes in the area, it was described as pretty easy, so I thought it might be cool to check out. There is another mountain nearby where the description of the hike included something about four points of contact against a cliff face... I took that one off the table right away!

As you can hopefully see on the map, the parking area off of Highway 550 is small. There is a sign out by the road, but if you blink you will miss it. There were only a handful of cars in the lot when we got there around 10:30 on Tuesday morning. By the time we left the lot was almost completely full.

IMG_20190625_111807.jpg


At the beginning of the trail, you are given two options, the easy way and the difficult way. We actually took the easy way up (because we didn't know what to expect), and the difficult way down. Here are the main differences between the two: The easy way takes longer, but offers a more gradual climb up the mountain. It also offers stairs in some places which make the ascent easier. The difficult path is more direct but has zero(if I recall) stairs and requires you to navigate a pretty steep incline covered with rocks, boulders, and roots. It can definitely be an ankle breaker if you aren't paying attention to what you are doing.

Here are some shots on our way up the easy path:

JPEG_20190625_102606_6371691600692305901.jpg

IMG_20190625_102921.jpg

IMG_20190625_103222.jpg

IMG_20190625_103224.jpg


It is amazing how stairs can really take a toll on you no matter how "in shape" you think you are. Even taking the easy path we were pretty winded by the time we got to what we thought was the top. There was a nice path to a secluded area that offered some awesome views...

IMG_20190625_103701.jpg

IMG_20190625_103705.jpg

IMG_20190625_103911.jpg

IMG_20190625_105136.jpg


After taking the obligatory selfies, we made our way back to the area where the difficult and the easy path converged. There was another set of stairs that we thought just led to another small viewing area. I could tell everyone was pretty tired so I asked what we wanted to do next. They agreed we should take the difficult way down and head on our way.

Something was nagging in the back of my head though and I kept looking back at the small area we hadn't explored yet. Finally, I stopped and I said "I really want to check out that other area". My hesitancy proved to be both beneficial and horrible.

Horrible because the path didn't just lead to a small viewing area, it lead to probably another couple hundred steps taking you further up the mountain. Beneficial because as you will see, the views were amazing!

About halfway up this last section, my wife's friend decided she needed to stop, so @mrsbozz sat with her, and her husband and I continued the rest of the way up. Just short of the summit we came to this viewing area that I wish the others had at least made it to.

IMG_20190625_105327.jpg

The black speck left of center that looks like a dead pixel is actually a bird of prey that was gliding around.

IMG_20190625_105334.jpg

IMG_20190625_105603.jpg

As beautiful as these views were, it was only about twenty or thirty more stairs to the top, and I knew I had to keep going...

IMG_20190625_105812.jpg

This monument sits near the summit of Sugarloaf. There is a plaque near the bottom that I didn't bother to read. I am sure it explains the significance of it. Quite honestly, I was too busy taking in the view!

IMG_20190625_105903.jpg

IMG_20190625_105915.jpg

Make a note of the two items indicated by red arrows. I will be talking about them in a little bit.

IMG_20190625_105918.jpg

IMG_20190625_110017.jpg

IMG_20190625_110046.jpg

IMG_20190625_110044.jpg

Given more time we probably would have hiked out to the rocks where you can see people sitting in that last photo. We figured we should get back down and find @mrsbozz and her friend though. We met up with them a couple of stair flights down and made our way down the difficult path back to the truck.

In a past post I wrote about how people sometimes use paths and steps like this as a place to exercise. The same was true here and we came across a couple of guys running up and down the stairs from the parking lot to the summit. I thought the one guy was going to keel over and die by his second trip up to the summit (he sounded rough), but I just kept on moving. He was kind of bringing it upon himself right? :)

IMG_20190625_114428.jpg

After leaving Sugarloaf and a failed attempt at finding a local waterfall, we headed to Presque Isle Park. This picture shows one of the ore docks where the Great Lakes barges get loaded up. It is hard to see in the picture, but those are actually train cars on the top of the structure. A railway leads from land all the way out to the end of it.

IMG_20190625_114430.jpg

Remember the smoke stacks I pointed out with an arrow in the previous picture. There they are again!

We moved to a different parking area and decided to walk out on the break wall towards one of the light houses in the area.

IMG_20190625_115157.jpg

IMG_20190625_115151.jpg

IMG_20190625_115358.jpg

Notice that white dome to the left in the last picture? That is the Superior Dome, home for many of Northern Michigan University's sports teams. I also pointed it out from the mountain top in that other picture with the arrows.

IMG_20190625_120314.jpg

IMG_20190625_115350.jpg

Presque Isle Park is beautiful area we didn't even explore a fraction of. There is an area called "black rocks" I would love to get some pictures of some day. As we left the breakwall I walked down to the water and put my hand in it to feel the temperature. Although crystal clear, the water was downright frigid and as I recall, Lake Superior doesn't warm up much even throughout the Summer.

That is my post for #wednesdaywalk hosted by @tattoodjay. Although a bit of a long post, I hope you enjoyed! All pictures were taken by me or @mrsbozz.


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

I think taking the easy way up was a sensible choice i would have done the same, I am glad you forged on tot he top the views from there were spectacular, I Know i would have wanted to get up there but with my Lung issues I may well have need to stop for a it with MrsBozz but i think I would have then add it to the top

Not far from where i grew up back in NZ, we have a hill also called Sugarloaf and if I am remember rightly it also has a marker at the top point fairly similar to that one you saw

Thanks for sharing this beautiful area with us

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Yes, it was definitely was worth it. I wish @mrsbozz could have made it, but I understand her decision to sit with her friend. She is in better shape than me so it probably would have been a cake walk for her.

That was so nice of her to sty with her friend while you guys went ahead, I remember the days i would have bene forging ahead these days i may well be the one resting lOL

You know I like things just a bit warmer than you, right? I was up in that area in August when the locals were saying it was down right hot. I spent a day between Marquette and Green Bay taking in the sights. I saw crazy people swimming several times. Really. That is COLD water.

I've spent a little time there in the part of the world where you are. There is an Air museum that I've always managed to miss at a WWII training field, much to my friend's disgust. He gives me great instructions, I see something shiny and there is no going back!

I love the Geology. It is so different from anything I am familiar with that it really does engage me.

Thanks for taking us along. I know where Sugar Loaf is, I'll give that a try some day...

Yeah, the weather wasn't horrible, just not what we were expecting. We would have packed more appropriately had we known better. Besides the uncommon warmth for the time of the year, the daily forecast was pretty hard to peg down. It must have something to do with it being right on Lake Superior or something. The outlook for the day changed from hour to hour....

Beautiful shots of greenery and the river. You did a lot of exploration.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! It was a blast!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, nice pics! The UP is definitely on my bucketlist pf places to visit!

It is well worth it! The Lake Superior circle tour makes for one fantastic trip.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderfull place!

Next time I'll be waiting for your post about the hard trail...

Greetings from Mexico.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. Maybe next time...

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @ashikstd.

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43