Bozzlife: Golfing in the UP

in #sportstalksocial5 years ago

IMG_20190624_104203.jpg


The friends that we went camping with last week have recently gotten interested in golf again. They mentioned ahead of time that they might like to get in nine holes or so while we were on our trip in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

It has probably been just shy of a decade that I played golf, but I figured "what the heck" and threw my clubs in the back of the truck just in case I decided to join them.

I enjoy golf, but I would never consider myself a "golfer". We had a teacher back in middle school that would take kids to the local golf course to play a couple of holes or hit balls on the driving range after school. I had a friend talk me into going a couple of times, but I never really played after that until much later in life.

About 20 years ago I was working with a guy that wanted to sell his hold Spalding club set for $40. I thought it might be handy to have a set laying around so I took him up on the offer and those are the same clubs I used last week.

@mrsbozz would love to learn to golf, but didn't want her first attempt to be in front of our friends, so she was my caddie. Really she just drove the cart around and read her book. I enjoyed having her along though.

IMG_20190624_105037.jpg

After calling around to a couple of places, our friend was finally able to get us a tee time at the Northern Michigan University Golf Course. It was a cloudy Monday when we pulled into the course an hour or so before noon. As I mentioned in my last post, we had planned for much cooler temperatures which meant I had to golf in my jeans instead of shorts (because I only packed one pair).

IMG_20190624_113916.jpg

We decided to just play the front nine and I was pretty surprised when I found out the cost was only going to be $27 for me to golf (including the cart). Like I said, I don't golf a lot, but that price seemed pretty reasonable to me.

Let me be clear, I had pretty low expectations for this outing. As I said, it has been years since I have been golfing and even back then I was far from good. I was very upfront about the fact that "I suck" and our friends said not to worry because they weren't that good either. I told @mrsbozz "if you have never been embarrassed of me before, you will be today after watching me golf".

I forgot to mention, I had clubs, but no golf balls, luckily my father in law is on a golf league and had a basket of them in the garage he said I could help myself to. I grabbed about 15 of them just to be safe, I had a feeling I would be losing a lot of them...

IMG_20190624_104922.jpg

This was the first hole and being honest, I was terrified when it was my turn to tee off. I don't know if it is pretty common, but this golf course has four spots you can tee off from. The red markers are for the women, yellow is novice, white is normal, and blue is professional. Wanting to see how well I fared, I decided to hit from the white markers the same as my friend, meanwhile his wife hit from the red markers.

IMG_20190624_113920.jpg

I remembered from the last time I went golfing, my ball has a tendency to go to the right when I hit it. I made my best effort to adjust for that and surprisingly I didn't do too badly, I think @mrsbozz was even a little impressed at some points!

IMG_20190624_114433.jpg

We were waiting for a twosome to play through ahead of us so I took the opportunity to snap this artistic shot on the third hole. I actually ended up driving past the hole from my tee shot and I was wishing I had used a higher iron than my five.

I am not going to lie and say this was a clean game. I only lost about four balls which was far fewer than I had anticipated, but there were some instances where I was stuck behind so I tossed my ball out into a more favorable position. For the most part I deducted strokes when those instances happened, I am sure I missed one or two though.

IMG_20190624_122129.jpg

It seems like the majority of most courses have at least one water hazard these days and hole number 5 was the one for this course. I briefly thought about hitting from the yellow markers, but not wanting to look like a "wuss", I hit from the white ones. Both my ball and my friends ball went straight into the water. His wife who hit from the red markers was able to make it over. While my friend dropped his ball on the far side of the water, I am a stubborn sort and I was determined to make it over. I dropped my ball on the tee side of the water and was able to get it over and very close to the green on my first (really second I guess) try.

IMG_20190624_132858.jpg

By the time we got to the ninth hole, I was starting to get a feel for things again. The only problem was we had been golfing for three plus hours and I was starting to tired and "hangry" (angry because I was hungry).

IMG_20190624_132901.jpg

This was by far my best tee shot of the day. The blue arrow indicates where I teed off from and I was standing where my ball landed. It won't get me on the PGA tour, but I was more than happy with my improvement!

IMG_20190625_125018.jpg

I'll take the 84 I shot this time. I only ended up in the sand twice and like I said, I only lost four balls. I hope to get out to the driving range at some point this Summer and work on my swing a little more. I also have my eye out for a cheap set of clubs for @mrsbozz so she can join me and eventually we can make it a foursome.

It was after we passed our third hour of play(on nine holes) that @mrsbozz noticed the card said rounds of eighteen holes should be played in under 4 hours. Yikes! I guess it is a good thing the course wasn't super busy!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

That is real reasonable for a round of golf I know its a lot more expensive hear from what I have read, I know there is one course where its $25 just to park your car

ONly loosing four balls is impressive I am sure 5 would not have bene enough for me lOL

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Wow, that is pretty steep! I am pretty sure it was four total. I know I lost one in someone's back yard to the right of the fairway on the second hole and I wasn't in the mood to chase after it. There was the one I lost in the water and then another one for sure that I lost coming down the seventh or eighth hole I think.

I am sure i would have lost many more i have not played golf since the 80s and was terrible at it then

I thought it was 84 for 18 and then I saw it was only 9 holes. I feel a bit better now as that is close to my 18 hole score and I suck. Sometimes it is better yo not have played for ages and just play as you come out with some really good shots. good to get out and hit balls no matter what level you play at as it is about just having fun.

Oh gosh no, I probably would have been over 200 if we had played 18 holes! I had some shots that just felt really good. I also totally missed the ball far fewer times than I expected to. I didn't count those as a stroke :)

Looks like you had a great time golfing.
I think the price was great especially with the cart.

Loosing 4 balls is really good, I think. I think I would lose all 15 of them. Hehe

Yes, it really was a nice time. I think I got lucky for the most part...

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks a lot like the way I golf...LOL
Marquette is a nice place to visit in the summer. Did you make it out to Presque Isle? It's a really cool place to visit when you're in Marquette.

Yes, we did make it out there. We weren't able to drive around the whole thing though. We just walked out the break-wall. I am going to be posting about it tomorrow!

I'm really glad you had a blast despite not expecting so much from this outing. I love the pictures as well. Regards champ!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday The Big Bonsai Tree Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi bro. I am curating #ulog #ulog-sportstalk. You can add more tags within the post body where five tags elapse. I found this late on the discord. There other places I am on too for certified uloggers but I haven’t figured out how to reach everyone effective yet. But if you check the left side of the discord you will see the various places incase you are on there too, you can put in your posts.

Okay, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98