Wednesday Walk: Boyne City, MI

in #palnet5 years ago

This past weekend was the second camping trip that @mrsbozz and I have taken this year. It was pretty wet and messy, but before all of the rain started we were able to get some good adventures in.

We pulled into the campground around 2:30 on Thursday and got everything setup. We arrived at the campground just a little bit behind our friends, so they were already setup and relaxing. We had a beautiful evening on Thursday night and Friday morning started out just as lovely.

This is the beach at Young State Park from Thursday night.

IMG_20190613_181409.jpg

I still wasn't feeling the best, so @mrsbozz got up early and took Jovi for a walk around the campground. After she got back, we began talking over breakfast and she asked if I wanted to go to this place she has seen online. I said sure and we started getting around to head out.

In the middle of that process, our friends asked what we were doing and they indicated that they would like to come along as well. We left the campground and took the short drive back down the road to Boyne City. It is a cute little town on the shores of Lake Charlevoix but it wasn't our ultimate destination.

After a couple of wrong turns, we found the area we were looking for.

IMG_20190614_110259.jpg

This is the approach leading up to Avalanche Preserve Recreation Area. It is a 300+ acre area in Boyne City with trails for hiking, bike riding, and a disc golf course.

Although it looks like there is a path up the hill, the actual path starts just to the right of that where you can see that opening in the trees.

IMG_20190614_113924.jpg

At the opening in the trees, you come across this sign...

I'm not in the best shape, but I am not a slug either. I didn't really think 462 steps was going to be that big of a deal. What I didn't take into account was my compromised respiratory system (I'm on antibiotics now).

IMG_20190614_113612.jpg

Thankfully, there are a lot of benches strategically placed along the path up the stairs. We had to stop frequently to regain our legs and our breath. Even @mrsbozz who has been working out religiously every day for the past six months was struggling a little with the climb. The only one who seemed to be unfazed was our friends young son. I guess youth does have its privileges....

IMG_20190614_111927.jpg

Eventually the path through the woods cleared out to something more like this. As soon as I could see the sun again, I knew we were probably close to the top.

IMG_20190614_112116.jpg

In fact I was right.

The top of the climb has several viewing areas where you can look out over Lake Charlevoix and the surrounding area.

IMG_20190614_112421.jpg

IMG_20190614_112607.jpg

Besides the viewing platforms at the top of the bluff, there were also some markers:

IMG_20190614_112342.jpg

As well as some other trails heading off to other parts of the recreation area. We noticed that one of the disc golf hole baskets was at the top of the hill which surprised me. I would have a hard time justifying the 462 stair climb just to play a round of 18. Unless there is another more gentle way up the hillside...

IMG_20190614_112440.jpg

They also had this cool drinking fountain at the top right next to one of the viewing areas.

IMG_20190614_113556.jpg

It was pretty cool because Jovi was good and thirsty by the time she got to the top of the stairs. I should mention all the way up and down the stairs we kept passing by people who by some act of insanity were repeatedly running/walking up and down them for exercise.

We stopped in town for some lunch (that will be another post) and headed back to the campground. After taking a walk with @mrsbozz in the morning and conquering the 462 stairs, Jovi was pretty much worthless the rest of the day.

IMG_20190615_090900.jpg

Which was a good thing because, that is when the rain started. We got close to two inches in a 24 hour period and by Saturday morning @mrsbozz and I decided to head to the local Walmart so we could buy some muck boots and walk around our campsite without worrying too much about the flooding.

By Saturday night, things cleared up and we enjoyed a final evening by the campfire before we headed home on Sunday.

IMG_20190615_215635.jpg

That's all for my #wednesdaywalk hosted by @tattoodjay!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Oh, that was a wonderful walk! Compromised respiratory system sure has not got to be fun on that type of incline, but, certainly glad Mrs. Bozz didn't have to drag you by the collar all the way up.

Although, that might have been fun to watch... Of course, I am kidding. ;)

I love camping and glad to see that you got the mucking boots. Hey, if it is gonna rain, I am going to enjoy it! Thanks for the beauty and hello? Who plays disc golf up there? Oh, my!

As always, your posts are always fun and informative! And I hope you are having a great day!

Thank you for being a member of #SteemUSA!

!tip

Thanks, I appreciate it. We are heading to the UP next week. I hope to get a ton more material for posts up there.

It wouldn't hardly be camping if it didn't rain, would it? I wonder what the percentages are? That would be a pretty good study to write a grant for. That's like walking 2.5 miles to school. Uphill both ways...

462 stairs. That's a pretty good number. And I hate the asshats that use stuff like that for exercise. We have a place here, the walk to telegraph pass. It's a pretty good trail but steep. Sam and I do it a couple of times a year but there are always people running it. It's when I could make Sam bite on command....

Thanks Bozz. Great walk!

We have actually been pretty lucky over the years to only have about three total wash outs. I wouldn't even consider this one of them. There was discussion about packing up and heading home a day early, but we have never done that in the past so we figured why start now. Now that we have our boots, I don't think we will probably ever pack up early. No more worrying about wet shoes or wet flip flops...

Respiratory problems can sure play havoc when going up hills and stairs trust me I do know the feeling, so glad to hear you are on antibiotics and on the end, take care of yourself

What a beautiful area and such views from that viewpoint, sorry to hear rain spoiled part for he weekend away

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks I appreciate it. I am definitely glad that @mrsbozz talked me into going!

I am glad she did as well, it was the same for me a few times in the past, only going to the Dr when the Mrs insisted, now that I am feeling age sometimes i go regularly now for the scheduled checkups

Looking good @bozz, very nice surrounding and great pictures. You don't have that kind of lakes and scenery overhere. To bad..

Thanks, just wait until next week! I am taking a trip that will knock your socks off! As long as the weather cooperates :)

all the way up and down the stairs we kept passing by people who by some act of insanity were repeatedly running/walking up and down them for exercise

Don't you just hate assholes like that? I do. Especially today. I even hate reading about them. I'm with Jovi!

Very peaceful and fresh air scenery of Boyne City. 462 stairs? I’m sure you guys indeed had an awesome workout and a campfire is always a good idea for a more cozy romantic ambiance!

Nice views over Lake Charlevoix!

I spent a week at Lake Charlevoix once at Camp Michigania with a friend who was an alumni of the University of Michigan. It was years ago, but I still remember the massive fish fly hatch! Sorry about your rainy weekend. If it's any consolation, it has been raining far too much, here, too.
Glad you got out into the woods. Those steps are impressive!

That is really cool! It is a quite beautiful lake. We are heading up to Marquette next weekend and I hope to get some great pictures up there as well.

I hope all the snow has melted in Marquette! 😃😃

What a wonderful place to get out into nature. Great photos.

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Maine-Ly A Wednesday Walk On A Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.83% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46