My 3 Book Stack For Show Your Stack Contest

in #books6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180531_135028 (2).jpg

Adventures In Friendship

In bygone days, before the internet, writing or even reading a blog post was not an option. Writers would put their article or essays into magazines and news papers. Many were collected for publication in book form. David Grayson was one of these writers. The pen name for Stannard Baker, who had essays published as an entire series of books. I am fortunate enough to have several volumes from the 1920's IMG_20180531_131213 (2).jpg
I pick one up often as each piece is a quick read. Adventures In Friendship is the one I have out at the moment.
Though long gone the words echo through time always leaving behind some little quote that lingers in the mind.
Like this:

What a lot of kindness and childlike simplicity there is in people once you get them together and persuade them the things they think are serious are not serious at all

Or this little gem

Things grow old and stale, not because they are old, but because we cease to see them. Whole vibrant worlds around us disappear within the somber mists of familiarity

lance divide.jpg

Animal Speak

I also love Ted Andrews and have several of his books. Animal Speak is almost always handy, because I refer to it often. Over the years I have had some pretty interesting interactions with all sorts of wildlife.
I once rescued a tiny blue jay from the mouth of a dog. Raised him like a baby. When he was grown he would fly off and return to sit on my shoulder, surprising neighbors and friends.

I am one of those people who is far more likely to befriend an animal than hunt him. (Other stories for another day). Lets just say the book gets a lot of use. Anytime an animal appears in my life especially behaving in an unusual manner or under odd circumstance I check to see if the message he brings has relevance in my life.
images (2).jpg

Nature speaks everyday, but few ever truly listen.

Every time we see the uniqueness of one animal or plant, we also discover something new and unique within ourselves.

lance divide.jpg

Code Of The Extraordinary Mind

I was spending a lot of time over at Mind Valley While Vishen Lakhiani was writing this book. When it was ready for publication he gave out a number of free copies to Mind Valley members. When I received my copy I browsed through it a bit and put it aside. I just this week got it back out but can already I am going to love it.
download (2).jpg

When you're happy in the present moment and pulled forward by a vision for the future, your inner and outer worlds mesh seamlessly

Be unfuckwithable nothing anyone says or does bothers you and no negativity can touch you.

lance divide.jpg

This is a last min entry for the book stack contest by @riverflows
Read all about it here. There is also some super soothing background music to read by.
https://steemit.com/books/@riverflows/show-me-your-stack-3-books-plus-a-chance-to-win-sbd#@headchange/re-riverflows-show-me-your-stack-3-books-plus-a-chance-to-win-sbd-20180526t234316515z

Sort:  

howdy @headchang! hey this is a great post, that story about the BlueJay is pretty amazing! I particularly like this "Whole vibrant worlds around us disappear within the somber mists of familiarity" so beautifully written.
So you're like an Animal Whisperer..very interesting and in the country you'll probably be able to relate to many different species.
great post headchange, thank you! sorry my vote is so depleted it ain't even worth a penny but I'm voting for encouragement.

Do you really? I thought so myself. They really knew how to turn a phrase back then. I just adore old books for that reason alone.
Well I don't know about all that. I use to be great with wildlife but now I have pet aroma to ward em off.
You know the hardest thing is controlling the click finger. but those partial pennies do add up. On my first ever post it took several people for each penny lol
Thanks for stopping by. I will be around to see what you are up to after while.

thanks so much @headchange I'm a big fan of yours and this post was a very
cool surprise because I love old books also but haven't had time for years to
go look for any. Where are you able to find them or do you just shop online?

I'm an "antiquer" and love the smell of old books, antique shops etc.
also, what "pet aroma" are you talking about? some redneck type? lol

sorry I've been writing serious stuff so you may not be interested I don't know
but tomorrow is going to be redneck church signs! lol

If you get a lot of small votes @janton you may want to look into @dustsweeper. they make those votes count. It is a service that is totally worth it.

@bashadow thanks for caring enough to suggest this because if you hadn't then @headchange wouldn't have prompted me to ask about it so she could explain it in a way that made sense to me and I was compelled to join so I salute you!

thanks @bashadow I have looked at that but it's been awhile since I had that problem so I think I won't need it. But I sure appreciate your mentioning it! thank you!

I stuck him on the dustsweeper contest thread. He needs it he just don't know it yet. 😇

lol! well I AM a clueless newb running around like a chicken with it's head cut off with limited time for Steemit because I've got so much other work to do on our property but from my understanding this is only for posts receiving less than 3 cents, is that correct?
and I don't ever intend to be at that level again. Am I missing something? I probably am so I am all ears to learn. Thanks so much @headchange you have such a good heart!

Oh yes you are missing something indeed. Here's the thing. You go around commenting so much you need to be in ashers league but one thing at a time.
All those comments that get the dust votes are wasted pennies that you could be growing your account.
So say you send @dustsweeper .50 they come by and turn all those dusty comments to pay outs. AND they give you back 1.00 worth of votes. That is 50 % return PLUS all the comment pennies that would have dusted.
Besides people like me can never vote all those great comments if you don't have a sweeper because it is like tossing away a vote.
Maybe @bashadow will see if I explained that right.

thank you so much @headchange I have joined @dustsweeper with a deposit so those dust votes won't be wasted. Are you a teacher? Because you are gifted at explaining things, this made total sense to me now.
Regarding my commenting, I don't know what this statement means "you need to be in ashers league" but when I first joined Steemit I read 2 articles by leaders who both said that new members should make 50 comments every day to get their name out there and make friends which I love that idea because there are so many wonderful people here. But I've failed miserably in that dept because I have never gotten close to 50 comments a day and many people are doing alot more commenting than I am. Is their logic flawed? thank you so much for your help!

Honestly most of the really old ones are from the family. I rarely go looking for anything in particular any more, they just seem to come to me over the years.

I love every thing about them the texture the smell even the marbled flyleaf. Same with old things the patina of age is priceless just because you can't run out to wally and pick thatup.
Nope didn't find me no redneck purr fume. It just seems like the wild creatures prefer people who have not had recent contact with a dog.
I really need to start keeping a camera handy. Some of the signs round here are real gems.

can't wait to see some great photos.
ya'll have dogs obviously?

dog,cat,rugrat,possum never know when a goat will show up

You must have looked like Cinderella in that old Disney animated version - I hope at some point while your blue jay was on your shoulder you burst into song.

People hate it when I burst into song. Believe me I have experimented with that some.

OOOh I'm glad you liked the music too. What an interesting collection. Mindvalley looks interesting - what's it about? Animalspeak also looks worth looking into - great to see you're such an animal lover. You might like my post on Australian birds today! Thanks so much for your entry, and happy reading!!! have a lovely weekend!!

Mindvalley carries lots of self help materials. They are very well rounded in terms of mind, body, spirit. . There use to be tons of free material but I have not been there in a while . It seemed to me after the book came out they started to focus more on big well known names in the industry.
Ted Andrews is great. I always get more than I bargained for when picking up one of his books. He has knowledge in many areas and will go off topic a bit. I always learn from him a bit more than the book cover implies.
I should really post about one book at a time there is so much to say about each one.

Sounded like some good reading. the early essay style books look like they could be fun reads, I will need to keep an eye out for some at our local used book stores..

Be unfuckwithable nothing anyone says or does bothers you and no negativity can touch you.

I like that.

Yeah that has to rank as one of my favorite new words now. Thanks for stopping by, much appreciated.

Hi! Great post with beautiful excerpts. My favorite by Ray Stannard Baker is the very 1st sentence: "This, I am firmly convinced, is a strange world, as strange a one as I was ever in. Looking about me I perceive that the simplest things are the most difficult, the plainest things, the darkest, the commonest things, the rarest." You must absolutely scan those illustrations even if it's the 1929 edition!!! Rare. ∜mp

I am excited to meet someone who knows the work. I fear if I start to scan it will never end. I have hundreds of old books with amazing illustrations.
I keep thinking I should do a series of posts on some of the more interesting volumes.
That quote in a way describes the Steemit experience

I have had an amusing adventure and made a friend

Wonderful news! I'd read and share that!
Preserving old illustrations would definitely take considerable time and effort... Have you heard about a project that helps this be fulfilled from private collections?
I was a collector at some moment and must have the 1910th edition somewhere in my family house... Will have to check when on vacation. :) ∜mp

I am sure there is a platform out there somewhere for just that purpose. Maybe one day I will look into it.

Some libraries engage in mass digitization projects. Here, I've linked those few I've found today. Happy week ahead! ∜mp
In Love with Books N°1, Some Useful Projects in Book Digitization https://steemit.com/books/@me422us/in-love-with-books-n-1-some-useful-projects-in-book-digitization

Congratulations @headchange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great post @headchange, I am not familiar with any of these books but can see myself reading all of them. I am familiar with Vishen Lakhiani as I do subscribe to the Mind Valley newsletter. Books are something I have always been passionate about and I could literally spend days in a bookstore or library and be in heaven. I remember my grandmother had a lot of great old books that I would devour as a youngster. Sir Conan O’Doyle, O’Henry and Poe just to recall a few. I’m hoping my vote goes up to the .026 else I may need to reload my @dustsweeper.

Mind Valley is a great place for a dose of motivation. I use to love the Carl Harvey Big Life show.

I have been known to spend hours browsing shelves, reading covers, trying to choose. I was one of those kids who used all my spending money on books. Still do sometimes. The internet helped with that a bit.
I still love a really old book, especially the nice ones. You know the ones beautiful embossed cover, gilded edges, pretty flyleaf.
Dustsweeper is great for the votes you get. It don't help with the ones you give out unless the recipient has a sweeper.
I have been trying to vote on things that already have a vote. That way it is sure to top the dust threshold. The bonus it that makes me visit more blogs.

Carl Harvey is someone I’ve not heard of before. I’m a huge fan of the writings of Napoleon Hill, Eallace Wattles and pretty much anything on the subject of the mind sciences. Nothing beats the feel of an old book. I had the pleasure of researching 2 very old atlases one of Providence Rhode Island and the other of the entire state of Rhode Island a few years back. They were both about 150 years old some pages practically turning to dust. I was like a kid in a candy store.

If you like Wattles, and Hill then you may enjoy The Big Life. Each week is an interview with some one like Brian Tracy, Paule Scheele, Jack Canfield.
Mind Valley use to host his show but I think that has changed. You just gave me the right little push to go hunt him down again.
Those type shows are great to listen to in the background during the day. Keeps the mind on the right track. I mant times need that lol

I used to go to the library, check out the motivational books on CD, burn them and listen to them in my truck. Now my CD player doesn’t work. :-(

I am so old that I did the same with cassettes. Shame about the CD player. My child grew up hearing such things in the background. I believe it has had a huge impact on the person she has become.

Things grow old and stale, not because they are old, but because we cease to see them.

Wow that is a strong sentence. I think I want to read that book. That one and the Extraordinary Mind book too. Be unfuckwithable, I want to be that. Sounds good. You have interesting books!

I am so glad you popped in!! I was just thinking about you this morning.
Both of those are great and just full of insightful bits. They really deserve a whole post for each book.
I have hundreds of books and love them all. There are probable a few posts on that topic in my future.
Yeah unfuckwithable is perfect plus as an added bonus an excuse to get away with using an expletive.

Oh yay you thought about me :p That is a good feeling ^_^ Thank you.

I found with kids I have less time to read. It brings me to a sleeping state now so I cannot indulge in a book like I used to. Glad you keep books with you. Heartbreaking to think people wanted to get rid of them a few years back.

Told you that you are memorable😼
I went through years of not being able to read much. I sometimes get stuck in one of my stages of life. I forget that everything tends to change up every few years.
Now I am back at a place where I can read a whole book again. Lots to catch up on lol

You are sneaky! Yes you did tell me that :p

Happy to know that you are back to what makes you happy. We all need to do that every once in a while :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51