You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 3 Book Stack For Show Your Stack Contest

in #books6 years ago

Great post @headchange, I am not familiar with any of these books but can see myself reading all of them. I am familiar with Vishen Lakhiani as I do subscribe to the Mind Valley newsletter. Books are something I have always been passionate about and I could literally spend days in a bookstore or library and be in heaven. I remember my grandmother had a lot of great old books that I would devour as a youngster. Sir Conan O’Doyle, O’Henry and Poe just to recall a few. I’m hoping my vote goes up to the .026 else I may need to reload my @dustsweeper.

Sort:  

Mind Valley is a great place for a dose of motivation. I use to love the Carl Harvey Big Life show.

I have been known to spend hours browsing shelves, reading covers, trying to choose. I was one of those kids who used all my spending money on books. Still do sometimes. The internet helped with that a bit.
I still love a really old book, especially the nice ones. You know the ones beautiful embossed cover, gilded edges, pretty flyleaf.
Dustsweeper is great for the votes you get. It don't help with the ones you give out unless the recipient has a sweeper.
I have been trying to vote on things that already have a vote. That way it is sure to top the dust threshold. The bonus it that makes me visit more blogs.

Carl Harvey is someone I’ve not heard of before. I’m a huge fan of the writings of Napoleon Hill, Eallace Wattles and pretty much anything on the subject of the mind sciences. Nothing beats the feel of an old book. I had the pleasure of researching 2 very old atlases one of Providence Rhode Island and the other of the entire state of Rhode Island a few years back. They were both about 150 years old some pages practically turning to dust. I was like a kid in a candy store.

If you like Wattles, and Hill then you may enjoy The Big Life. Each week is an interview with some one like Brian Tracy, Paule Scheele, Jack Canfield.
Mind Valley use to host his show but I think that has changed. You just gave me the right little push to go hunt him down again.
Those type shows are great to listen to in the background during the day. Keeps the mind on the right track. I mant times need that lol

I used to go to the library, check out the motivational books on CD, burn them and listen to them in my truck. Now my CD player doesn’t work. :-(

I am so old that I did the same with cassettes. Shame about the CD player. My child grew up hearing such things in the background. I believe it has had a huge impact on the person she has become.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52