You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 3 Book Stack For Show Your Stack Contest

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Hi! Great post with beautiful excerpts. My favorite by Ray Stannard Baker is the very 1st sentence: "This, I am firmly convinced, is a strange world, as strange a one as I was ever in. Looking about me I perceive that the simplest things are the most difficult, the plainest things, the darkest, the commonest things, the rarest." You must absolutely scan those illustrations even if it's the 1929 edition!!! Rare. ∜mp

Sort:  

I am excited to meet someone who knows the work. I fear if I start to scan it will never end. I have hundreds of old books with amazing illustrations.
I keep thinking I should do a series of posts on some of the more interesting volumes.
That quote in a way describes the Steemit experience

I have had an amusing adventure and made a friend

Wonderful news! I'd read and share that!
Preserving old illustrations would definitely take considerable time and effort... Have you heard about a project that helps this be fulfilled from private collections?
I was a collector at some moment and must have the 1910th edition somewhere in my family house... Will have to check when on vacation. :) ∜mp

I am sure there is a platform out there somewhere for just that purpose. Maybe one day I will look into it.

Some libraries engage in mass digitization projects. Here, I've linked those few I've found today. Happy week ahead! ∜mp
In Love with Books N°1, Some Useful Projects in Book Digitization https://steemit.com/books/@me422us/in-love-with-books-n-1-some-useful-projects-in-book-digitization

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60