Animated Review of Daniel Goleman's Book, Focus

in #books8 years ago

As Goleman points out, for many of us it can be considered a luxury to be able to take a step back and have some uninterrupted private moment during the day when we can reflect about our lives. That rarely happens.

And it's not that you have to start blaming others, be it media, colleagues of work, family, and so on for the inability to focus. I think it's more a matter of understanding how your attention is taken over, without permission, and having the rationality to claim it back. Of course, that is if you want that...

In my case, for example, I concentrate a lot of my mental work somewhere between 10 AM and 2 PM. Knowing that I need to be sharp-focused during this time, I try to eliminate, or at least minimize, all possible distractions. No social media tabs opened, no answering the phone, no getting lost into mindless clicking, etc. I focus on the task at hand and allow for brief moments of break, something like 5-10 minutes per hour; but often I don't need them because once distractions are out of the way, I'm very absorbed into whatever it is that I'm doing.

Anyway, long-story short, in this animated video (below) I discuss some of my key take-home messages from Daniel Goleman's book, Focus - The Hidden Driver of Excellence. I hope you enjoy it!


More video animations:

  1. The 382-day Fast [Animated Video]
  2. 6 Months in Isolation - 1972 Self Experiment [Animated]
  3. How Long Without Water - Extreme Thirst [Animated]
  4. Starting and Operating a Personal Business [Animated Video]
  5. Animated Explanation of Intermittent Fasting - [Video]
  6. Keeping Things Simple in Business and Life - Animated Video
  7. What Happens when Your Sleep is Disturbed - [Animated Video]
  8. Book Review - Fooled by Randomness [Nassim Taleb]
  9. Animated book review for Abundance - [Our Exponential Future]


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi

#books #mindset


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93