Book Review - Fooled by Randomness [Nassim Taleb]

in #statistics7 years ago

Nassim Taleb wrote that our minds are not designed to understand how the world works, but rather, to avoid immediate danger and procreate. Many would find this statement insulting, but if you study human irrationality you'll see the 'truth' side of the claim.

A lot of what happens around us happens out of chance, but we don't seem to think so. We attribute meaning to the meaningless, we seek and find patterns where there are none. We are severely prone to bias. And Taleb is able to illustrate this throughout the book very elegantly.

Looking over the highlights and notes I made in this book (I read it in 2014), I realize that I have to re-read it because I think I will see it or perceive it somewhat differently than I did back then. Anyway, in this video I animate some of the take-away messages I got from the book.


More video animations:

  1. The 382-day Fast [Animated Video]
  2. 6 Months in Isolation - 1972 Self Experiment [Animated]
  3. How Long Without Water - Extreme Thirst [Animated]
  4. Starting and Operating a Personal Business [Animated Video]
  5. Animated Explanation of Intermittent Fasting - [Video]
  6. Keeping Things Simple in Business and Life - Animated Video
  7. What Happens when Your Sleep is Disturbed - [Animated Video]


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi

#statistics #books #biases


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

His first point about standard error and the statistical training of scientists is absolutely true, at least in my case. My one statistics course was probably the worst I've ever taken.

definitely agree on that. though you also have to consider that many statistics mis-consider themselves literate in statistics...

I am almost done reading Fooled by Randomness. I'm going to watch your review once I'm done!

great! I'm positive you've learned a lot from the book! :)

I finished this book a few days ago and just watched your video. I think you highlight a lot of the most important points of his book. Well done. I'm also impressed with your animation skills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13