Bookmarkable Series: What the Font?! A Step-by-Step Tutorial on How to Determine which Font was Used

in #bookmarkable7 years ago (edited)

A font is the graphical representation in which text is presented to you visually. There are thousands of fonts available to choose from when creating websites, print ads, documents, etc.

Here is an example of just 3 fonts...

font styles.JPG

Because I'm in marketing, many times I’ve needed to determine which font someone used for a marketing piece in order to make adjustments or create additional pieces. I used to call my clients and ask them what font they used. Or, I would comb through font libraries looking for it. Either way, it was hard to track down. Then, I found a site that I could upload an image of my font in question and it would give me its best guesstimate... with pretty good accuracy.

So, I'm not the only one! Hug to @catweasel for feeling my pain!

catweasel comment.JPG

Step-by-Step Tutorial: How to Determine Which Font was Used

>Go to www.fontsquirrel.com/matcherator

You’ll be brought to the Font Squirrel’s Font Identifier Portal

>Upload the Image with the Font in Question

font identifier1.JPG

>Adjust Highlighted Area

Click and drag all four sides of the box until you have selected only the font you want to identify.

font identifier2.JPG

>Click "Matcherate It!" Button

font identifier3.JPG

>See Results!

It gives you several results usually with the best match showing first. As you go down the list, a floating box with the image of your original font is shown so you can compare. It turns out the font in question is the SciFly Sans and it is available for FREE from Fontzillion.

font identifier4.JPG


FontSquirrel.com’s Font Identifier is #bookmarkable… because some things are just meant to be saved.

bookmarkable (1).png

Previous Bookmarkable Series Posts


karencarrens Steemit footer.gif

Thanks for stopping by!

You can also find me @karencarrens on Discord as well as Steemit.Chat.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
The article will be Resteemed by @dropahead Curator - Witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!

I used to do it the way you used to do it -- painstaking searches. Thank you for a better way.

Aww, thanks. You're right... it's a very painful process to do it manually. I love this comment so much, I am going to highlight it in my post! :)

Good ideas for devs. !

Thank you! It really is!

I love a good font. I have compiled many great fonts that are good for logos and things, but I was not aware that this tool existed. Thanks for the info!

Yes, there are actually other sites that say they identify fonts but I haven't found one that has the accuracy in identifying one than this site. 😋

Ohhh wow... save a lot of time....Thanks @karencarrens for sharing

Not a dev or anything along those line.But just having the info is invaluable. Thank you!

Hi @steveblack! 😀 You just never know when you may need this info. There's all sorts of other cool nuggets you can find on that site too Thanks for your encouraging feedback!

This post has received a 2.30 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karencarrens.

This post received a 3.64% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @karencarrens! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.82 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @karencarrens. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46