The Ultimate Reason Why You Think You're Struggling on Steemit (And How To Beat It)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blogging7 years ago (edited)


I know why you're here.

You think you're struggling on Steemit.

You've done everything but still feel like it's not enough.

You ask yourself what you are doing wrong, what kind of post or comments you need to do to be recognized, to get the waves of upvotes.

Engagement, posting, researching, thinking of something valuable to contribute to your community, you've done a lot, you gave it all but still you're gaining nothing.

And I feel you my friend.

Many Steemians are feeling the same way,
in fact I felt the same way when I was starting too.

The feeling that I was very excited because there were a lot of upvotes and comments on my introduction post and I thought hey, this is easy, I'll just post something and the same thing would happen.

I mean what else could go wrong?

Unfortunately, after the first post, almost everything went down the drain.

Want to see?
Look at this post and this post and even this post that it took me days to complete, there's even a lot more after.

Then I remember a seminar that I attended and one of its lesson is about having a growth mindset in everything we do rather than a fixed one.

And how having a growth mindset can help you achieve your goals.


Fixed Mindset versus Growth Mindset


Mindset is your way of thinking and the way you think determines your level of success.

Fixed mindset is like a non moving car. It might look brand new, it might get compliments but it can't give anything other than its looks.

Growth mindset on the other hand is the moving car that you see every day. Some are slow, some are fast, some are new, some are old. Does it matter? No, but they all can do one thing, take you to your destination.

We might have different mindsets but I think we all have the same goal and to reach it, we all need to have the growth mindset.

So it's time to stick it to your brain (evil laugh).


3 Simple Ways To Gain A Growth Mindset On Steemit


#1. Treat Steemit as a real business

In my opinion, this is the number one reason (and sometimes the only reason) why a lot of people on Steemit are struggling and I don't blame them.

Not all of us grew up having the entrepreneurial skills necessary to start and grow a business.

Regardless, it's not an excuse, entrepreneurial skills can be learned. Don't take Steemit for granted just because it's free. Imagine you needed a million dollars to join Steemit, would you take it for granted?

So go ahead, learn and relearn entrepreneurial skills necessary to grow. Marketing strategies, blogging methods, networking skills and writing techniques are just some of it (which I'll also blog in the future).

Treat Steemit as a real business and it will pay you like a real business.

#2. Embrace failure

In the fixed mindset's world, they think that failure is the limit of their capabilities. They usually give up when things become challenging.

They take feedback and criticism personally instead of learning and growing from them.

On the other hand, a growth mindset world is a world full of learning. Failures are not just failures but they treat them as experience and knowledge, something that would help them grow.

They know that there's always a process in everything and every failure is a stepping stone towards their goal.

Go ahead my friend, fail over and over, grasp it, study it and learn from it.

#3. Patience is a virtue

I am sure you already know the meaning of this but I want to explain it in my own words.

Some of us will start great, some of us isn't
but that's not the reason why you joined Steemit.

You joined because you saw an opportunity that could potentially change your life or achieve something that you can't on others.

It could take you 6 months, 2 years or even 10 years to achieve your goal but so what?
As long as you don't stop, you'll eventually achieve the goals that you've been dreaming of.

And in case you're feeling inpatient or want to give up, remember this part from Martin Luther King Junior's famous speech.


What's your intake?


Steemit is not just a blogging/social media platform because it gives you the opportunity that others can't.

But if you're doing it with a fixed mindset, sooner or later you'll get frustrated and just eventually give up.

So the next time you think you're struggling on Steemit, think again, maybe it's just your way of thinking.

Do you have any other valuable information to share that others might find helpful? If so, please leave it on the comments, I would be happy to learn from you.

Image source {1} {2} {3} {4} {5} and giphy.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this

Feel free to share it to someone that may find this post helpful

My last post 7 proven ways to get inspired and keep on writing

If you have any questions, suggestions or want to collaborate, let's chat on Discord.

Steemit Philippines server link

Finding your niche server link

Follow me @rye05

Sort:  

Hmm, no I admittedly haven't "done everything yet". But for the moment I am just having fun commenting. I figure I always like to get noticed so I'm trying to do that for other folks. I guess this is my version of crawling. I've got to post some more "failures" to get the ball rolling. Thanks for your post. :-)

You're welcome, :-)

Me too, I had fun commenting, that's my failure when I was starting, I just post and post without going to communities nor replying to comment or making comments on great contents, failure teach us a lot of things.

Cheers!

Great post! I agree with the need to have an entrepreneurial spirit, even if you are 'just having fun' as a Steemian. Ask yourself if you're a part-timer or working full-time? Set your hours. Most four-hour gigs get one 15-minute break. A f/t gig gets two breaks, and a one-hour break for lunch. Being your own boss is a mindset that requires discipline. You have to call yourself in for a warning that you may be without a gig, if you show up late, or fail to show up at all without ample reason or notification.

Yes, success is defined by how you handle the inevitable failures. Each one, I guarantee you, is an opportunity to learn, and be stronger. Ecclesiastes 7:8 teaches the value of patience and perseverance. Each are a test of character as well.

While the words of Dr. MLK, Jr. ring true, there are times when you have to “Stand still, and know that He is God.” (Psalm 46:10). There will be times when all you have, is the emotional strength to do the next thing, and stand in prayer for a ‘knowing’ of what the next thing is.

The entrepreneurial spirit starts each new day with the task at hand to do, with an outline of things to accomplish, in a certain time-frame. This means turning off the phone if you’re writing, letting everyone know the hours you will be available. Have you ever been in the middle of a thought, and you look away to take a pinging phone, only to return to an empty thought? Then, you know why muting the phone is vital.

Thanks for sharing this.

Peace.

Please allow me to request that we keep those going through the devastation of TS Harvey in our prayers.

Thank you for the wonderful comment. I totally agree about taking time to pause. Sometimes we need to stop and reflect on things to see clearly.

And that happened to me many times too, when I have something to write and then forget it in a few moments :-)

Thank you for the added value for my post :-)

Absolutely! Your post was motivational, inspirational, and creatively crafted. Again, thanks for sharing!
Peace.

Thank you for kind words :-)

Sir @rye05 these are great tips. I've only been here for 1 and a half months and I can relate to the ups and downs, and the unending quest to better myself. Please keep on inspiring new steemians.

Thank you Sir @steemitph, our ups and downs will bring us to the goal we want to achieve :-)

I feel you kuyaaa 😂😂

SBD is not a measure of a posts success. You are on steemit at the best times ever. When steem was seven cents, we couldn't earn. Even when ned voted me first, i made 11 dollars. I created the #steemgigs community to help people see other aspects of steemit. Moreoever, start to look at steem itself as lot of beauty lies there. There is also curation. Many successful steemians aren't blogging. You just need to give it time. I didn't earn for the first 5 months on steemit but i got a ton of unbelievable testimonial testimonies and my own company. All the people i have mentored on steemit have found success and really faster than me, again cos these are the best times on steemit. So shine. I left you more tips in my last post. Please look for the underlying message becos that is why so many people miss out on and even on steemit, the underlying things are where beauty lies and while people get lost in the blogging, beauty happens

Thank you for sharing Sir, I appreciate it.

You are correct Sir, we are very lucky to be on steemit now, it's constantly growing and there's a lot of great people to get inspiration from.

I know that success will continue on us and I wish that the new ones (including me) would have patient and dedication and always strive for the best.

Hai kaibigan @rye05.

Yes kapatid, I feel you! Keep moving, keep trying!
good info! Para akong nakikinig sa seminar:)
Good night na po!

lol, parang seminar dw, cge goodnight kapatid

I felt the same way too, I knew the feeling. :D

Very inspiring article Sir. :)

Thank you, I'm glad I could inspire someone :-)

Congratulations @rye05! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55