Daily Blog Challenge: Post Mortem

in #blog5 years ago

This blog post is brought to you by @binkyprod

Well, today was my first Monday back at work. The daily blog challenge I issued to myself is officially over. Looking back, there's only one conclusion I can draw based on the strictest interpretation of the rules of the challenge: I failed! 😵 In short, the last official post and the challenge was on Friday. Then Sketchfest Saturday turned into Game of Thrones Sunday. ☺ However, this is definitely a case of "failing forward". Here's a summary of what I've taken from this.

The two biggest things that I find valuable having done this are:

  1. I've had many opportunities to use GIMP to make thumbnails.
  2. Ultimately, I just got started! 💪😎👍

I don't really like the notion of publishing something just to publish. On one hand, I don't think this is sustainable. On the other, the post that I created from scratch in the least amount of time was such a post! I didn't have any idea what to blog about and I created a decent post anyway in a short amount of time! That's something! I hope I never forget the lesson in that particular post: if something happened to me on any given day that I think can be valuable, I can always just blog about that.

I don't want to make any promises. After all, my track record for sustaining a level of activity after I've announced it is pretty freakin' bad. 😅 I do think, based on this, that I'll be posting much more often than I have in the past few years. I won't share my estimated frequency, but I have it in my mind. I also have a plan of action that I can execute whenever I haven't posted in a week.

I'm tempted to relisten to the episode of School Sucks that started all of this. I'm not sure when that can happen, because I listen to a lot of podcasts. In any case, this is been a great ride. You'll be hearing from me sooner than later. I'm really happy I did this! Y'all take care.

Sort:  

If you want to post but don't have ideas, you can check out #freewrite with @marieannewest. I sometimes do a freewrite. Basically, there is a prompt and we take 5 minutes to write just what comes without too much thought for 5 minutes, letting it flow. Improv in written form, ultimately. I dunno why I didn't think of this sooner.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27