Syd Roc joins Steemit!... FOR REAL!

in #introduce7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! My name is Sydney Roc, and I finally decided to become active again on Steemit. Since it's been about a year and a half, I figured I should introduce myself again.

I'm a libertarian from the Montréal area and I joined Steemit very quickly after hearing about it. As I wrote back then, the community seemed to have a strong preference for written content, and I felt intimidated. The content I'd always produced was mainly audio and visual. I've still been active on my YouTube channel, but I never managed to follow through on my goal of writing articles based on my videos.

I have a wide variety of interests, and I'm not sure what will satisfy the community here the most, but now I'm way better positioned to try.

What's different?

I finally have the tools that I need to make sure that I can continue to produce written content on a more consistent basis (*coughdictationsoftwarecough*).

The elephant in the room for me is that DTube exists now. I'm not sure what the etiquette is on re-uploading YouTube videos to DTube, but I know that some of my stuff there will be popular here as well. Regardless, due to the aforementioned dictation software, it'll be that much easier for me to read up articles based on my videos.

The SJW question.

One aspect of my life that I plan on exploring online in general is my relationship with SJWs. When I initially started this account, I'd only been doing improv for about five months. Since then, it's grown into a true passion. As you can imagine, being a theatrical art, it is RAMPANT with SJWs.

Spending so much time on a weekly basis with people whom I disagree with politically and yet share such a strong passion with has been interesting to say the least. I've already started that exploration on YouTube and look forward to continuing it here and on DTube.

(A selfie of me in front of my second home, Theatre Sainte-Catherine)

I feel that I'm in a strong position to build a bridge between SJWs and people who disagree with them. If I can pull it off, a lot of people will benefit!

Thank you so much for reading, and you'll hear from me a lot quicker than last time around. ;)

Syd

Sort:  

I wonder how many people publish walls of text here using

(coughdictationsoftwarecough)

Welcome aboard fellow Canuck!

Lol if you're using dictation software and the result is a wall of text, it's time to start saying "new paragraph" every now and then. O:) Thanks for the warm welcome, fellow Canuck!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Cool! I'm very happy to see you on the platform! Rule of thumb, don't upvote comments unless the poster is adding significant content to your original post. @binkyprod will be able to coach you on these sorts of steemit conventions. Happy blogging!

Welcome back to Steemit, Syd.

I know that when WAM posts videos, first they post and share from YouTUbe, and then a few days later they share on Dtube, which automatically creates a post here on Steemit, so they post the same video twice technically, just from 2 different platforms. I'm not sure what the etiquette is either and I too am looking into it. If I find answers, I'll let you know :)

Love the coughcough stuff hehe

Thanks Binky. It's gonna be fun learning the ropes here.

A lot of it is in the FAQ. There's also some etiquette and few other details that you'll pick up along the way. If you have any specific questions, you can call us or text Frank lol (since I don't check my phone). ;)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Great post! I also am new to steemit and just posted one of these introduction posts (: Your post is awesome! Following now, hope you do the same!

Subbed! :) Thanks!

Welcome I lived in Montreal from 2006-08 it was awesome just hard to find a job because I don't speak French welcome (back) to Steemit. I personally avoid 99.9 percent of political discussion here as I get enough of the arguing on Facebook. I miss Tam Tam drum circle on the mountain. I liked Montreal a lot.
Here are some Montreal shots I took
PICT0002 23.JPG

PICT0005_4.JPG

PICT0006_2.JPG

PICT0008 (2).JPG

Nice pics! The last one with the faded CocaCola logo rings a bell, but it might be a false positive. I'm not too worried about political stuff because I don't enjoy getting bogged down in that in written form.

You know those long posts where the other person's quotes are interspersed with my responses? No way I'm doing that for too long. :) But then again I might be wrong. I'm enjoying reading comments here more than on other sites.

That buildings in the plateau. It was the original home of the rhinoceroses party I think I spelled that wrong

What a great bridge to build. Being a “theatre man” myself, I could see this working. Whereas it’s near impossible in other arenas, I could see the common thread of improv helping to build some common ground. Glad to have you here. Welcome back!

I think this common thread of improv also applies in other arts. If you're passionate about something creative, and you know someone else who's good at it, you tend to be more open to what they have to say. I'm experiencing this now with someone that I really love. My secret nickname for her is "Money in the Bank". She's that good. But she's one of the most rabid SJWs I've encountered. The articles I saw her post during the Aziz Ansari scandal made me want to rip my hair out but just the fact that it was her posting them made me read them anyway. I think I can be that kind of person for others. We'll see. Glad to be here (for real).

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit for real this time @sydroc! I must say I don't usually watch videos, because I like my peace and quiet. The pc sound is almost always turned off. There definitely is a big place for video content on Steemit lately though with Dtube around :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30