Wake Up S.L.G: a self-love vow

in #blog7 years ago

Om Swastyastu, [“I hope all good comes from all directions”]

Welcome dear readers! This post commences my spiritual blog. I've decided to blog more about metaphysical, new age spirituality, the paranormal, philosophy, conspiracy theories, aliens/UFO's, awakening, ascension, book reviews, chakras, mantras, Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, healing, rekiki, Tai Chi, Kriya Yoga, meditation, the afterlife, reincarnation, a life's purpose, and the search for God.

You know light stuff! *giggles :)

Instead of focusing on only fitness I felt the need to blog about these topics as it is the biggest passion of my life and I wanted to write about it as objectively as possible (not to preach) but to explore the realms of possibility.

My goal here is to exchange knowledge and experiences with other readers. I respect all faiths and religions. These blog posts are only my humbled opinions.

With that said welcome to my steemit blog: Awakening In The Modern World

a self-love vow:
When you go through a mid-life crisis, identity crisis, depression, addiction, or any other form of mental or emotional upheaval, you often times hit rock bottom, and when you do, you hit it hard.

That cold damp floor feels like a magnate keeping you down. The darkness around consumes you; some get lost in it others fight to get out. You search for the light at the end of the tunnel, even if that tunnel seems to go on forever. You propel yourself forward with each painful breath; eventually reaching the end.

Did the light set you free?

Sometimes it can, sometimes it doesn’t, but it’s not that LIGHT that sets you free (really), it’s yourself.

It doesn’t matter what religious faith you had, have or want. It doesn’t matter if you are an atheist or an agnostic that freedom comes from within in whatever NAME you want to call it: Soul, Spirit or just your own WILL. Your essence can ignite you or destroy you, the choice is always yours to make.

We all choose a path to walk on. Some stray. Some get lost and some are found again. Overall, we all walk the path to somewhere. We all have to find our own meaning to life.

Looking back at my spiritual life is like a mixed taped. I am a child of the 80’s so I still remember these. Each song represented a theme in my stage of life. I was born into this world with a heavy heart. That heavy heart lead me to seek spiritual answers at an early age. I was always interested in connecting with God, angels and the spirit world so I read a lot of books like Life and Teaching of the Masters of the far East by Baird Thomas Spalding (1872–1953) an American spiritual writer. I also watched a lot of shows that talked about such topics. For instance, Ancient Mysteries. Ancient Mysteries was a television series originally broadcast on A&E between 1994 and 1998 with reruns airing until 2000.

Luckily for me my mother was open to these types of things and unlucky for my mother and I we underwent a house haunting that really opened our awareness of Ghosts and the afterlife. It wasn’t until we received the assistance of a Buddhist monk that the haunting stopped. This experience lead me and my mother to explore the Buddhist philosophy.

Trauma also triggers awakening. My father was murdered and found dead in 1995 (I was only fifteen). His spirit actually haunted my mother and I (making this our second haunting). We gained the aid of a spiritualist who helped him cross over. I was always a sensitive, but this allowed me to really see spirits and feel their presence. Since then I loss a bit of my ability, I can not see spirits anymore with my eyes but I do hear and feel them — if they are around.

My mother brought me up in the Catholic faith. I was baptized and hardly went to church. Yet my faith in the message of Jesus is still with me to this day. I may not believe in organized religion but I do believe in the original though(s) of what Jesus represented.

My mother let go of her narrow minded religious ways and had her own spiritual awakening. She mostly believes in Buddhism now however not only that, there is more but to sum it up she basically has an open mind.

Another song of mine is based in Wicca.

My teenage years were spend exploring the Pagan rites. I became obsessed with communicating with nature and the Goddess. This lead me to the practice of witchcraft, which to be totally honest is not the best thing for a hormonal teenage girl to dabble into alone (which I did). I hold a lot of regret because I did things with witchcraft that were not for my highest good. The true faith of Paganism is pure and white, only individuals bring it to a dark place. Looking back at that young me, she was really just trying to not feel so lonely. I’ve let go of my Pagan ways, after I met my first husband who was Maronite (which is Christianity in Lebanon).

The marriage failed but what I hold dear were the spiritual places I visited when I was in Lebanon. For instances Harissa a beautiful mount of the Virgin Mary.

This phase of my spiritual growth was to connect again with a more pure intent as opposed to darker energies which I found myself in practicing witchcraft. I still did not want to be Catholic or Christian but I was forced to be one during my first marriage, when I had freedom again after my divorce I didn’t dispel the true principles of these faiths I just dispelled the institution.

Again the song changes and I was searching. I call theses my wondering years. Not fully spiritual but distracted by material things. I felt the call to start again a more strict spiritual discipline however I ignored it and went upon my days in a blind daze. My sense of authenticity got obliterated when I started drinking alcohol among other things. These were my party days (I started late in life but that was it).

I look back now with grace and not shame because if it wasn’t for that experience I would have never been given the WAKE UP CALL I really needed. Through that, I hit rock bottom and only there did I awaken to my spirit’s true self. I saw myself. I understood my true purpose. I knew what I had to do, I just needed to peel myself off that floor and take the first step towards my soul and I would be okay.

Your life has purpose if you make it so. No one is going to do it for you!

Like a babe opening its eyes for the first time I opened mine and saw the world again for the first time. I became compassionate with myself and found my soul’s spirit; she was ready to soar high.

This may sound like recovery, although I did it all alone, it doesn’t make me stronger in fact I should of asked for outside help; it was my own personal soul recovery. Addiction is no joke, always ask for help!

I don’t think I was ever really addicted to the substance but more to the “feeling of escape”. Now that I am comfortable and not willing to avoid, I feel zero need or longing for it. But I am not special, I know I will have to resist for the rest of my life.

The last song on my mixed tape is the song that represents me in this moment in time. It is a song of self awakening. Deciding to finally walk your own spiritual path takes time and determination. You have to be honest with yourself to see what your values, interests and lifestyle are. When you finally realize this, the path becomes clear.

For me it lead me to Buddhism and Hinduism. I still hold other spiritual philosophies but these will help me gain the spiritual tools I need to discipline myself. For example, mantras have helped me enormously in the short period of time that I have been doing them. I am currently reading “Mantra Meditation” by Thomas Ashley-Farrand and “Chakra Mantras – Liberate your spiritual genius through chanting” by the same author. It is helping me to raise my vibration, centre myself and open my chakras. One form of discipline that I am trying to master is Kriya Yoga, which I will blog about in future posts. There are other ways, and I will one day explore other techniques but for now my spiritual path has lead me here and I am so happy.

I’ve also had a beautiful experience with the Hindu Lord Ganesh [he is the Lord of Beginnings and the Remover of Obstacles of both material and spiritual kinds] which I will write about in my next blog post. Buddha too has always been the perfect example of spiritual discipline that I aim to achieve that is why my mediation practice will be centred around the Buddhist philosophy. Without getting too much into dept my spiritual goal is to move away from “forms” (like God/Goddess worship) and more into the “formless” (more about the state of vibration/energy/level of consciousness). I will share some of my theories on this too in my future blog posts.

My self-love-vow is to start the process of spiritual awakening. To push myself beyond my comfort zones and revel to the world the true identity of who I am.

I am here to know myself, to love myself and to free myself. To show the world that we are not alone, that the truth is within each of us, we just have to stand still and listen. ~ S.L.G

The pursuit of balance in this modern world is challenging; duality is at arms but distraction is at hand and winning. Full-on living takes courage. Full-on living and being awakened takes venomous strength. People will think your weird. Friends will think you’ve changed. Family will not “get-you”. It is a lonely mission yet along the way you always meet others like you for LIKE will always attract LIKE.

Patience is key.

With this said, I wanted to share my vow to self awakening in this blog post. I hope it enlightens some of you reading this. My blog is all about my spiritual journey and the amazing experiences I had and will continue to have. My wish is to exchange knowledge and information with people who are like-minded. My goal is to research well and present information as objectively as possible. You chose what is true or false. In the end it will take all of humanity to realize who we really are and how BRIGHT and full of LIGHT we can pave the way to our destinies.

Thank you for joining me today dear readers, if you too are on a personal spiritual journey please leave a comment below and share with me your experiences.

❀Namaste ❀
~ WakeUp_S.L.G

Sort:  

Congratulations @super-plain-jane! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @super-plain-jane! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68245.80
ETH 2509.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52