Are you spending all your time on here? Did you even shower today?

in #blog7 years ago

mobile-phone-1917737_640.jpg
Image source

Like many of my fellow steemians I am a creator. I get a vision, I get locked in and I immerse myself in whatever I am doing. Obsession can often be used as a tool to get things accomplished. This is especially true when we have a unique vision and others do not share the same vision. When we do not have others to help motivate us, we have no choice but to motivate ourselves. When I discovered Steemit I was so excited to find a platform that had so much potential for me. I decided to dive in 100%

The road to hell is paved with the best intentions

My intentions were good but somehow I got lost. Can anyone relate to the following story?

I woke up last Tuesday morning, wiped the sleep out of my eyes, used the bathroom and started the coffee. I checked all the crypto charts, including the current price of Steem. I checked my Steemit Facebook groups, I checked my Steemd stats and I checked my blog to see if there was any activity. I did this all while drinking my coffee on my smartphone. I was hungry, but I had an idea for a post and walked into the den to turn on my computer. After the computer fired up I checked my crypto balances, looked for some daily crypto news, opened up Discord chat, and read through all the channels. I then sat down to write my post. Next thing I know its dark out and I am starving. I have a giant headache and I realize that I need to shower and eat something. I have just finished my post and I have to promote it. I peel myself out of my chair and convince myself that I will do it after I eat. I Shower, I eat, and I drink some more coffee and get back on the PC. Now it’s the middle of the night. My girlfriend went to bed without saying goodnight and I feel guilty. I wake her while I quietly try to sneak into bed. My girlfriend tells me that she feels disconnected from me. I tell her she’s crazy and I just need to finish my project and everything will be back to normal. Just then I get an idea for a new post and force myself to go to bed. I wake up the next morning and repeat the pattern

I was very productive. I got many things done that I wanted to do but, what was the personal cost? I was so obsessed and driven, that I forgot some important things.

1.) I forgot to take care of my health and hygiene I didn't eat or sleep enough
2.) I forgot that I have a responsibility to my friends and family and especially my romantic relationship. It's my job to stay connected
3.) I forgot to meditate, pray and practice gratitude in order to keep myself spiritually fit.
3.) I forgot to stretch and exercise in order to keep myself physically fit
4.) I was stuck in my own little world completely unaware of anything else going on in the universe
4.) I forgot what day it was , and thought I missed my mothers birthday
5.) I forgot how important it was to maintain balance in my life.

If you are like me you have "stuff" going on in your life. Some of that stuff in not pleasant and does not bring you joy. It may even cause you some pain. Obsession makes all of that temporarily go away. It does not go away forever, it just lurks beneath the surface, out of your conscious awareness and builds up pressure. If not checked that pressure will pop like a cork.

Your Obsession tells you lies. It tells you its ok to do what you are doing. It tells you that you are dedicated and driven and that these are traits that all successful people share. This is the only way to accomplish your vision and attain your dream.

The Solution

I know I need to find some balance. I can live my life, love myself, love others and follow my passions in a healthy way. I need to get some things straight first.

1.) I am still obsessed and I cannot simply just decide not to be. I just must be aware that I am obsessed.
2.) I have to admit to family, and friends that I am obsessed and that I am working on it.
3.) I have to make a list of all the things I wish to do and make a schedule.
4.) I have my whole life to purse my passions. I don't have to get them all done in one day.
5.) I have to practice and develop discipline to follow the schedule even if I would rather be doing something else.

I will most likely feel miserable while doing this but its temporary. Once the obsession lifts things will seem much better and my life will be more balanced. I will feel better about myself and be proud that I have taken personal responsibility for myself. I will be facing life on life’s terms and will not be hiding in my obsession. How do I know this? I have been down this road many times and it always works out this way.

Closing thoughts

For me, It's so important to maintain awareness of who I am and what my patterns are. Once I become aware of an issue I have to start working on a solution. There is always a solution. If I am patient I do not have to make drastic decisions. I just have to work towards finding a balance. I do not have to give up things that I love to do. As long as they are healthy and good for me I can do them all. I must take personal responsibility for myself at all times. This is the best way that I can love myself.

nothing changes.jpg

Sort:  

it can be consuming that's for sure, the trick for me is to not be "on" all the time like I used to do and see tons of dm's in my discord acct.....
I take breaks

Breaks are good and necessary. This will be my last activity until Wednesday. Thanks for the comment

If you need to have a punk hairdo so saving time as well as getting that zingy shock of a shower take you puter into the shower.

Thank for the comment. Are we talking about multi-tasking?

The world's best creators have been obsessed with their craft. It's nothing to beat yourself up about. Yes, balance is essential if you want a balanced life, but for some, we thrive on obsession to a certain extent. We do our best work and carry out our dreams when we allow ourselves to be obsessed for a time. Eventually the thing you are obsessed with will start to bore you and you'll be on to the next adventure. There is certainly a lot to be said for balance, but sometimes there's a lot to be said for running with your passion as far as it will take you. It all just depends what your end goal is.

Thanks for your reply. Trust me. I am not beating myself up, I can see how that could be implied. I think awareness is the key. Like you said it depends on what our goals are. My goal is to live authenticly and care for myself and those around me.

I see a lot of what you say wrapped into my own day, but break I do from end of day to early morning to spend time with my other half or he would go crazy, he is already half daft.

This keyboard tricks you into the next thought and before you know it the hours have ticked away, prioritize I must, that I must say @sostrin too little time in a day.

thank you for your comment. Its not the keyboard that tricks me. It my own mind lol.... Yes too little time

great post, thanks for share. Greetings from Brasil.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63