MedicBtom Weekly Blog #5

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

weekly.png

KETO FLU

Well my sinus infection went away only to come back 3 days later. Right after I mentioned I had a really good immune system too.

keto-flu.jpg

But I looked up symptoms of Keto Flu and it describes everything I am feeling. Well shit... how much longer is this going to last?

Getting-sick-all-the-time.jpg


My Grandmother's Injury

When I went to Alaska; my Grandparents watched my dog for me. My grandmother had tried to take Dexter for a walk. He is very good on a leash but when he sees another dog; he gets so excited - ALL bets are OFF. In this case he overpowered her very quickly - which made her fall onto her arm and get dragged a little on the front lawn.

He is 4 but still has a ton of energy and he is very strong.

IMG_1169.JPG

She went to the ER immediately after: its not broken. Just popped blood vessels creating a large hematoma. The healing process is slowed down by aging.

But this is how it looks 3 weeks later and everyone including myself was concerned. Not sure why this photo is so fuzzy and out of focus.

IMG_4897.JPG

I thought the hematoma needs to be lanced and drained. I asked her if she wanted me to do it... but she laughed and said no. So I took her to the ER to have them lance it.

IMG_4866.JPG

They actually did not think that was a good idea and said its normal for it to take as long as it has to heal... but currently it is in a sterile environment and lancing it will potentially cause infection. So wrapping it in a pressure bandage and heat packs daily will speed up the healing process.

IMG_4867.JPG


The World Is His Toilet

Homelessness Is a huge problem in California. Took a bike ride because its nice out and I wanted to get some exercise. Look to my left when I am at an intersection and I get to see this lovely view.

IMG_4887.JPG

So common I'm not even shocked anymore. Atleast this is in the brush. In SF it has gotten so bad they literally have maps made to report feces on the ground. If you've ever been there: they wont let you use the bathroom unless your a customer at most establishments so the homeless just go in public on the sidewalk. So everyone else has to walk around these land mines.

5a5fbadcf325800124d51a3e.jpg


Learning to Create Video Content

Been spending a lot of time learning to video edit: Bought a gopro before my last vacation. I just got Vegas Pro 15 editing software and I am learning. I had done a lot of video projects back in high school but haven't touched anything since.

So this is my first project.

Backyard Shooting

or if youd rather see it on Dtube:

https://steemit.com/family/@medicbtom/rbj5bwem

Second Project is only on Dtube: Fortnite Battle Royale with Go Pro

https://steemit.com/entertainment/@medicbtom/3o6sp2vy

Third one is making my morning coffee:
This one I learned how to add text into the video..

https://steemit.com/coffee/@medicbtom/gr9ybmil


The Paramedic

Paramedicsmall.jpg

WARNING: I love telling these stories as long as they remain HIPPA Compliant. I have combed over them to make sure you cannot identify anyone through the story and my employer will remain nameless. All photos are taken from bing search engine... none of them are from the scene nor are any of the people my actual patients. So to the best of my knowledge i am adhering to the rules... but if you see something that i do not - please... inform me in the comments below and i will fix or remove the issue IMMEDIATELY.

hipaa-logo-certificate.png

nutallergy.jpg

Allergic Reaction

A child was eating a cookie and didn't know it contained walnuts. Previous allergy but only vomiting in previous exposures. This time the child has breathing problems. Lung sounds are clear below but he has stridor in the upper airway: wheezing when taking a breath in that is audible without a stethoscope.


This example is an infant but you get the idea

His father called due to distress and did not think he would make it safely to the hospital. No Hives or swelling around the neck. e REALLY did not want a shot. But we had to convince the father that benedryl was necessary. He was pursuaded by a stuffed animal and the agreement we would make it fast. Intramuscular injection 50mg of benedryl and within 10 minutes he felt much better.

medication-administration-63-728.jpg


Not Dead

160426124048-dangerous-painkillers-super-169.jpg

Showed up on a guy who overdosed with heroin out on the street during the day. Bystander who found him thought he was dead and started CPR. He was not dead but I could see where the confusion lies because he was pretty close. Respirations slow down with opiate use to the point of hypoxia leading to death. The more potent pain killers use opiates such as Percocet, Norco, Morphine, Fentanyl.

BVM.jpg

Assisted ventilations; an IV with some Narcan and this guy sprung to life out of nowhere. Addicts are always more concerned that you ruined their high - than the fact that they were nearly dead. Too much Narcan will result in instant withdraws. The trick is to find that sweet spot of just enough to wake them up and be cognitive enough to answer questions but not projectile vomiting everywhere. Narcan blocks the receptors for 20 minutes and then wears off... so the person will fall back into the same state once again.

teaserbox_4094963854.jpg

The state used to hand out Narcan to the public because opiate overdoses were so common. Since then we have had a national backorder due to most drug manufacturers are in Puerto Rico and shut down.

As much as I would love to correct the problem in thinking that this person learned their lesson. Addiction is a powerful force... they all say they will stop immediately. But the truth is... most likely they will do it again immediately after being released from the hospital.


The Good and Bad Effects of KETO Diet

meanings-of-health.jpg

As I mentioned before I have been feeling under the weather due to KETO FLU or maybe I am coincidentally just getting sick with sinus infections.

I have been pretty good: Mainly eating meat and veggies staying away from carbs and sugars. Starting to really miss those carbs and sugars and cant wait for my body to adjust to burning fat for fuel.

IMG_4886.JPG

But on the bright side I am now 192.6

IMG_4891.JPG

Started at 200.6lbs so I am seeing a significant change.


Week Review of The Stock Market

HomeDepot.jpg

Home Depot Calls

The only earnings I played this week was Home Depot. Call - several contracts. HD actually hit the mark but had said so far they noticed a slow start to the spring quarter in sales. This ofcourse had a negative effect on investors. It didn't exactly tank.. it went down 2.5% or so. Either way.. I lost on these contracts.

Earnings Report:
http://ir.homedepot.com/~/media/Files/H/HomeDepot-IR/reports-and-presentations/quarterly-earnings/q1-2018-press-release.pdf


Nvidia Wallpapers (8).jpg

NVIDIA Calls

NVIDIA is on a hot streak and trending for new all time highs. But the market took a turn on Wednesday after 7 day streak of small gains (Dow not Nasdaq). All time new debt highs came in. This should have been a given considering we keep spending money and its should not have been a surprise to anyone at all. But anyway... the next 2 days were down days and made my calls obsolete.


Tesla-Motors-logo-3.jpg

TESLA PUTS

I had calls early in the week but quickly saw that this one was going to head down after analysts kept saying that TESLA needs to fundraise in order to not go bankrupt. Also the company is downsizing management... trimming the fat so to speak. Also another car accident investigation involving auto-pilot. The lead manager of auto-pilot left the company and went to a competitor. So... as you can see... its all bad press. Pushing the stock under 300/share.

https://www.bizjournals.com/sanjose/news/2018/05/18/tesla-goldman-sachs-raise-capital-debt-bonds-tsla.html

https://www.msn.com/en-us/finance/companies/tesla-manufacturing-woes-and-fatal-crash-combine-to-sink-shares/ar-AAxkkuB

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4175477-tesla-growth-narrative-economic-problem

This was the only thing that saved me this week. The stock dropped 15 points and I am still at a loss but this one lessened the blow.

Hopefully I will have a better next week. I hope this makes you feel better about your trades.


Music-random-31688456-1366-768.png

Music

Medicated: Sevendust

Been listening to Sevendust since High School: These guys have been around forever and they are still rockin hard. Somehow these guys combine the most aggressive and edgy metal music with melodic vocals and insanely catchy choruses. I had read that the singer was an R&B singer before joining this band which gives them that unique sound.

Lyrics:

It takes time to blow.
Say it ain't so.

Stuck in the middle of it.
Too wise to know.
Oh here we go.
We’ve grown so used to it.

So numb all the time.
How have we become so empty?

Overcomplicated.
We’re all to blame.
Oversaturated.
It’s such a shame.

It's all who you know.
Death undertow.
We all fall victim to it.
All chemical.
Where have we gone?
Are we just used to this?

So numb all the time.
How have we become so empty?

Overcomplicated.
We’re all to blame.
Oversaturated.
It’s such a shame.

If we cannot feel how can we heal at all?
If we’re overmedicated.
We’re all to blame.

Here we are once again.
How'd we get here?
Will it end?

Look at you lost with separation, complicated.
There’s no one left to blame.
You’re just a shell of a man left wasted, medicated.
I’m standing on the outside looking in.

Overcomplicated.
We’re all to blame.
Oversaturated.
It’s such a shame.

If we cannot feel how can we heal at all?
If we’re overmedicated.
If we’re all to blame.


Weekly MEMES FOR YOU TO ENJOY:

IMG_4883.JPG

IMG_4865.JPG

IMG_4856.JPG

IMG_4861.JPG

IMG_4860.JPG

IMG_4888.JPG


stay-safe.jpg

Until next weeks blog: Stay safe and have a good week!

medicbtom.png

Other recent posts by me:

https://steemit.com/family/@medicbtom/rbj5bwem

https://steemit.com/science/@medicbtom/7r3nuy-best-of-youtube-on-steemit

https://steemit.com/wouldyourather/@medicbtom/would-you-rather

https://steemit.com/milestone/@medicbtom/1800-followers-reached

https://steemit.com/stockmarket/@medicbtom/stock-market-recap

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

**All pictures that were not from my iPhone where taken from bing and google search engine

Sort:  

Maybe trying a Vegan diet would help? Feel better bud!

Haha.. yeah I tried that for awhile. Was doing pretty good until I had accidentally been given an exclusive pass to metallica where it was catered. Anything you wanted for free... broke my vegan diet and never went back.

haha all good! It definitely won't go smoothly the first time. All about persistence!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36