Depression? My story....

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

res4.jpg
(this is a relevant photo)

Strangely enough, am not going to talk much about depression in this post.
Fuck depression.

I AM going to tell you about my personal story, that led to my depression.
We all have our story.

What I hope it will do, is to inspire people to see it all a bit differently.

Differently than how our self indulgent, decadent west (and big pharma), has taught us how to see something that is just a human condition.

A condition we will all have in our lives, to some degree or another.

It ain't special. It's life.


I had just broken up with my long term girlfriend. My soul mate, my life.

In the depths of the pain of the break up, I ended up in a serious motorbike accident

I can't tell you anything about it, as I was too drunk, and had too much MDMA in my system to remember.
I DO remember waking up in the hospital bed, with two of my lower leg bones protruding at very strange angles, into the air.

I also remember the doctors having to reset my bones, without giving me any morphine, due the massive amount of narcotics already in my system.
Passing out from the pain, was a blessing. Coming to consciousness again, wasn't. Passing out again was.

This all happened on a small tropical Island. The hospital was rudimentary, to say the least.

I then had the pleasure of a three hour boat ride, in the back of a ambulance, to a hospital on the mainland. Without any painkillers.

Once at the hospital, I was told I was going to need more surgery, to reset my bones, and make them stable. (By an exterior metal frame, screwed into my bones. I forget the name of the appliance).

After waking up from the surgery, I was then told if my wound got infected, they may have to amputate. (approximately 9 inches x 6 inches hole in the side of my calf muscle).

I decided it would be a good idea to return to the UK, cooler climates (for infection reasons), and get fixed up at a UK hospital.
I then had 3 flights to endure. (they would not allow me morphine on the flight. Aspirin and Ibuprofen.)
I was booked onto three flights, cattle class. One of those rare journeys when every seat was occupied.
Crammed full, back to the UK. Still with my metal framework in my leg in place.

I had to sit with my legs to my chest for 17 hours, basically.

On arriving home from the Airport, I found out my dad had emphysema (one decent lung), and prostrate cancer. And my mum was now in a wheelchair, with multiple sclerosis.

Why Am I telling you such a happy part of my life?

For sympathy?

No. My situation was entirely self inflicted, and deserves non.

And sympathy is wasted energy anyway.

It achieves nothing and only condones self pity.

I am telling you as a backdrop to my perspective on depression, and purpose.

Both are inexorably intertwined.
I stayed at my mum and dads for a year or so.
I had a further 3 operations on my leg (including a bone extraction from my hip to put into lost bone in my leg. – that twinges, like a bastard, sometimes.).

I looked after them while on crutches. I could cook. They were no longer in a position to.
My dad had been cooking for my mum for a year, but he wasn't Gordon Ramsay, shall we say.
I was a very good cook, so it made sense for me to do.

It is very hard jumping around a kitchen on one leg, preparing meals, I can tell you.

After a year, I got my own place, a mile down the road. I cooked for them every day, to make sure they were looked after in that regard.

After another couple of years of this, and my Dad was deteriorating, and was getting admitted into emergency frequently. - 3 times in one week, frequently, kind of thing.

After 6 months of trying my best, my Dad insisted on being admitted into a nursing home.

He hated me having to be there for him, day and night, - although to me, it wasn't a problem at all – obviously.

They went into a nursing home, where they were well looked after, and I visited them everyday.
My Dad's health improved for a while. I think mainly, was because he wasn't stressing about me having to look after them.

He was like that.

That's when depression hit me – big time. I had nothing to do, in a place I didn't want to be.

My purpose in life had gone.

Real purpose, not a dreamed up concept of what your purpose is.
Making sure your parents lived, kind of purpose.
(I'm not a parent, but I'm sure it must be same, if not greater, for parents, with their kids).

I hated living in the UK ( not a new phenomenon - I never liked it. One of my reasons for traveling anywhere in the world. It wasn't the UK).

Eventually, my dad told me to 'fuck off.'... He was like that.

He could see how unhappy I was, and he knew I was staying there just for Him, really.

We said our goodbyes, tearfully.

We both knew this 'was it'. I wouldn't be seeing him alive, ever again.

My dad was the only family member I was ever close to. (The rest are wankers)

And off I went ,with a very heavy heart, and thoroughly miserable.

Three weeks later, I was getting drunk in Thailand, and forgetting about things back in the UK.
I was starting to feel back to myself again - for the first time, in a very, very, long time.

'Getting my skin back', is the best description I can give you. I was raw.

When I heard he had died, (from a text message – did I tell you my family are wankers?) I cried.
A lot.

Then I went and got drunk - and drank to him, all night. And then I stopped.

Why am I writing about such a cheerful part of my past?

Because everyone has their story.

Everyone has their own shit to deal with.

Wallowing, and navel gazing is not dealing with your shit. It's wallowing and navel gazing.

It can lead to self pity – the most destructive of all emotional states.
It's a emotional black hole to yourself, and to everyone around you.

Do whatever you need to do.(every single one of us is different)

There are no rules - no 'you should do this, or you should do that'.

Do whatever YOU need to do, to start looking outwards again, on the world.

Only you know what you need to do.
And lot of the time, it won't fit neatly into what your peers, your family, or your society, expects of you.

Fuck them.

Finding a real purpose is everything, I think.

A purpose real to you, irrelevant of how it looks to others.

Me, right now ?

Life is good, and I have a reason to get up every morning. Why?
Because I constructed it to be that way.
(I'm not telling you how I did this, that’s my business - For now, anyways).

But I will tell you what put me on the road, to where I am now.

Making model stone walls, for wargaming.
Tiny, real stones, built up-one by one, to make ' real' walls for tabletop wargames.

Why would this lead me on my road to a purpose, you might be asking?

Well you see, the thing is, my dad was a farmer, and an exceptionally talented dry stone waller.
He was paid very good money, in his time, to build walls for other people.

Making model stone walls, and getting paid for building them? He would have pissed himself laughing. (even before the prostrate trouble).

My road to finding purpose again....

It started with doing something that would have made my dad proud.

And laugh.

res2.jpg

Sort:  

Hey lucylin, that is an awesome story, and I would personally like to thank you for posting this. It is helping me. You have been through some pretty heavy shit!
I am not sure quite where to begin and I am no clinical psychologist or any type of special help person. I am not trying to preach either. I have done some pretty stupid things in my life and I have been too hard on myself. You don't need to be hard on yourself. You seem to be a pretty down to earth strong willed person. You will get through anything. The best thing you did is put on Steemit for people to read. All I want to do is give you positive vibes
So, I am going to follow you and up vote you, even though my vote is worth diddly. I will esteem to my 60 followers.
I can tell real shit when I read it.

Thanks for the very nice message. Appreciated, friend.

A lot of people have been through shit, it's not special - it really isn't .
(read some of my traveling posts, I am also one of the luckiest people have ever met. They are all true experiences)
I am strong willed - you are very right on that count.

It's cool, I'm not too hard on myself, I'm really not.

Everything I write is real shit.

  • shallow as puddle, deep as the deepest ocean trench, that's me - depending which
    5 minute spell I happen to be on.. lol

Thanks for the upvote and follow.

Pretty brave putting all that out there. Nice to have met you. Talk later.
Paul

This is really cool man. Thanks so much for sharing. It seems like your dad was really a great guy..

Model stone walls. Yep - I get it. I really do.

I used to love tabletop wargaming as a kid. Never played. Had the rules and thought about it a lot. My love was role-playing games (the real thing, not the computer versions) but I loved all the science fiction and fantasy board games that were around in the 80s as well 🙃

Cheers

Yep - he was a bit special.

I actually joined steemit (my blocked account was patriot wargamer) to try and promote table top war gaming.
( Intellectual, educational, skill building - and healthy even -hobby - instead of computer games of brain rot on a screen, slowly getting fat )
I was going to try to do some campaigns on here if I got a following. ( I would happily umpire them, and create scenarios ( I still might to that)- participation games. kind of thing.(biggest up vote is a general, smallest a unit field commander. or something. lololol)

Fantasy was never a rout I went down. History has always been my passion, so it was an obvious route
Imagine wargaming in schools?
HISTORY AND A REAL EDUCATION.

Yeah man!
Never went the historical miniatures route myself hahaha.
How would the campaigns work? Sounding fun 🙂

I kind of put the whole thing onthe backburner - pesky steemit stealing all my time in other directions.

I have been making games/ campaigns up for years - it can be done.
There are hundreds of different ways to do it, but i have to get my games head on to develop into a thing I could run on here.

I remember - back in the day- playing 'diplomacy' by post!!!
Can you believe it?- waiting each week for the post to arrive, to work out the moves on the board - It was sooooooo exciting! lol

With this new fangled computer thing, games could be a breeze...

Hahaha - yeah - I dabbled in Play By Mail stuff too, but it and of fizzed out for me. I had people around who I could play games with in real time !

You're right about the computer thing - so easy if the rules were locked down

my lifestyle isnt conducive to making a gaming friends .
A little ingenuity is required.

A game I played around with, last year ( lord of the rings campaign map kind of thing), without any opponent -
I logged onto a poker sight, played the games, and used the hand results as result for my combat phases of the game.
It kinda worked well too !

( clumsily explained, but you get my drift, I hope)

I do get that 🙃
I like the creativity involved!

here is photo (only took 2) - of a hex style game - american civil war wargame I cooked up a couple of years back.
Minimal cost printing the pieces, and hours of fun!

acw hex.JPG

DSCF3120.JPG

and here i did a 7 years war, wargame - same thing but on a tabletop.

7yrs.jpg

7yrs1.jpg

(again, until this last couple of years, traveling doesn't really allow for the hand painting of hundreds of figures, and building up armies - bit heavy in the old rucksack!)

Wow. Powerful and profound.

You are absolutely correct. You gotta do you. There's twenty million self help books out there, but in the end- you gotta do you.

I call upon thee, O @originalworks to bless this post.

you inspired this not for its value but for those you meet along the way on the one-way highway life - whilst the mind churns, and let it churn...cheers mate, ✌
https://steemit.com/blog/@bluelazer/thoughts-for-the-father-who-left

Because everyone has their story.

Dry stone waller. Cool!

My road to finding purpose again....

We should be traveling this road at some point in our lives...

Congratulations @lucylin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was touching. I am in one of these low moods but when I read your post I felt strong again. Just FK it indeed. Life has lots of St to keep wallowing over. It's just S**t after all.
Thanks again PW :D <3

thank you mademoiselle.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a $9.15 @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @lucylin
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lucylin to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I am telling you as a backdrop to my perspective on depression, and purpose.

For the meditative this -as I cannot

““The happiness of those who want to be popular depends on others; the happiness of those who seek pleasure fluctuates with moods outside their control; but the happiness of the wise grows out of their own free acts.”― Marcus Aurelius

As to your"pain"

Eventually, my dad told me to 'fuck off.'... He was like that.

POWERFUL...GENUINE and deeply personal.

I cannot add much, but I have walked long on with bare-souls like you have. I am a shattered vase vessel' which has been self-repaired so many, many times. To the causal observer, they see, but do not see. I see all the cracks and the little bits that could (will) never be made whole anytime in a reflective object.

Given my dyslexia, I read it twice, but I will read again and I will post no more replies.

I can offer no evidence but my first post blog was about my eternal father... much was left out... but your writing that has made me "think."

I feel fortunate to have found you here... you make me think... the "force" is strong with you. And that's not a trite remark.

Thank you

better stop with that thinking thing- nothing good ever comes of it !

😂😂😂😂

Truth lives....darn right, tis our lot to "suffer". Cheers,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52