You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Depression? My story....

in #blog7 years ago

This is really cool man. Thanks so much for sharing. It seems like your dad was really a great guy..

Model stone walls. Yep - I get it. I really do.

I used to love tabletop wargaming as a kid. Never played. Had the rules and thought about it a lot. My love was role-playing games (the real thing, not the computer versions) but I loved all the science fiction and fantasy board games that were around in the 80s as well 🙃

Cheers

Sort:  

Yep - he was a bit special.

I actually joined steemit (my blocked account was patriot wargamer) to try and promote table top war gaming.
( Intellectual, educational, skill building - and healthy even -hobby - instead of computer games of brain rot on a screen, slowly getting fat )
I was going to try to do some campaigns on here if I got a following. ( I would happily umpire them, and create scenarios ( I still might to that)- participation games. kind of thing.(biggest up vote is a general, smallest a unit field commander. or something. lololol)

Fantasy was never a rout I went down. History has always been my passion, so it was an obvious route
Imagine wargaming in schools?
HISTORY AND A REAL EDUCATION.

Yeah man!
Never went the historical miniatures route myself hahaha.
How would the campaigns work? Sounding fun 🙂

I kind of put the whole thing onthe backburner - pesky steemit stealing all my time in other directions.

I have been making games/ campaigns up for years - it can be done.
There are hundreds of different ways to do it, but i have to get my games head on to develop into a thing I could run on here.

I remember - back in the day- playing 'diplomacy' by post!!!
Can you believe it?- waiting each week for the post to arrive, to work out the moves on the board - It was sooooooo exciting! lol

With this new fangled computer thing, games could be a breeze...

Hahaha - yeah - I dabbled in Play By Mail stuff too, but it and of fizzed out for me. I had people around who I could play games with in real time !

You're right about the computer thing - so easy if the rules were locked down

my lifestyle isnt conducive to making a gaming friends .
A little ingenuity is required.

A game I played around with, last year ( lord of the rings campaign map kind of thing), without any opponent -
I logged onto a poker sight, played the games, and used the hand results as result for my combat phases of the game.
It kinda worked well too !

( clumsily explained, but you get my drift, I hope)

I do get that 🙃
I like the creativity involved!

here is photo (only took 2) - of a hex style game - american civil war wargame I cooked up a couple of years back.
Minimal cost printing the pieces, and hours of fun!

acw hex.JPG

DSCF3120.JPG

and here i did a 7 years war, wargame - same thing but on a tabletop.

7yrs.jpg

7yrs1.jpg

(again, until this last couple of years, traveling doesn't really allow for the hand painting of hundreds of figures, and building up armies - bit heavy in the old rucksack!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42