Old Man on a Roof

in #blog5 years ago

I met this old, sun-wrinkled man on Paros, bumming his way through youth hostels. Bright white mustache, dark brown tan, and always in a speedo. I met him once, he met me seven times.

"I'm sorry", he'd say, "I don't remember faces or names".

Eventually he recognized my face but he often called me Daniel. He drank raki mixed with honey; he said it made his memory better. To his credit, he always called me Dylan when he drank. He said he never left Vancouver until he was 67. That's when the doctor diagnosed Alzheimer's and he started traveling the world.

"If I'm going to forget the world, I should know what I'm losing".

He had a small tattoo in Arabic. I asked him what it meant, he didn't know. An Israeli tourist told us it read "Amani". He couldn't remember her. When he drank, he sang "House of the Rising Sun". I think it was his favorite song. He told me I should open a brothel.

"You have the exact temperament for it!"

I don't want to read too much into that. One night we were alone on the rooftop drinking his raki. He said, "I wonder where I'll end up. I wonder if I'll remember you Daniel".

We stayed at the same hotel for forty days. At the end, he said it was a good week but it was time to move on. He remembered a woman he left behind on Malta. Maybe he could find her. This was three years ago. I often wonder where he is, and I worry that I can't remember his name.

11903_10201938296518784_7613306352207766145_n.jpg

PS: I originally posted this story to Facebook. An old friend from that time who remembered him got in touch with me. The man's name was Dan. She gave me his email and I sent out a message. I'm still waiting for a response.

Sort:  

Hey there @ dylanwhite.

I really liked your story. You have a great writing style!

That's why I featured your post in my entry for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You can check it out here.

Cheers!

Hope that he didn't forget his email password and he's doing fine with his adventures and answer your email. Interesting story anyway @dylanwhite😉

Found your post through @insight-out entry post in the pay it forward contest this week

Thank you @cicisaja

I doubt I'll hear back from him. I suspect he's forgotten about me. But I hope he's doing fine still.

What an amazing story @dylanwhite. It truly shows us all is you just have to make that attempt to say 'Hello' It's obvious this meeting had an impact on you. I hope he does remember you and your paths cross again.

You have been featured by @insight-out for week 31 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Please consider checking out what we do and joining in at least from time to time. You get to meet some really incredible people.

Nice story, @dylanwhite. You have my upvote and follow! I have found your post thanks to @insight-out feature in #payitfordward contest promoted by @pifc.

Thanks! I'm following you too @zorank

Congratulations @dylanwhite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dylanwhite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very interesting and nice reading.

"If I'm going to forget the world, I should know what I'm losing".

This sure puts things into perspective. Doesn't it?

Thanks for sharing your story, which I have found because @insight-out shared it on her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you, that particular quote landed with me too. Since we're all here for so short a time, we should take advantage of it and really focus on the experience.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That's exciting! Thank you!

Also what are witness votes? I'm still new here and don't quite understand it.

Love the story! I do hope you will get a message back. People often just pass in and out of one another's lives. I myself often wonder about such people.
I found your post because it was featured by @insight-out in this weeks pay it forward curation.

It's been a while. I doubt I'm getting a message back but hope he's well and continues to travel. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94