Unlock the Power of Chrome: Day 8

in #blog6 years ago

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been covering a new Google Chrome Extension every other day. I have covered a variety of extensions so far. Some of them were ones that I use. Others have been recommended by users in the comments.

Today I am going to cover one that was suggested by @mandelsage. This is an extension he speaks very highly of and uses it every day.

Session Buddy

The extension I am going to cover today is called Session Buddy. It can be accessed at the Chrome Web Store here. They also have a webpage for their project that can be accessed here.

A long time ago when Mac OSX first came out, there was an application you could install that allowed you to have multiple desktop spaces opened. Windows 10 also has a feature similar to that called "Task View" which allows you to have multiple desktops. Session Buddy feels like that to me.

It is a way to organize and retain websites and tabs that you use frequently. It is significantly more powerful than just bookmarking a site though. There are five websites I always open in Chrome every morning when I get to work.

  • Email

  • Google Drive

  • Facebook

  • Steemd

  • Steemit

With Session Buddy, I can save these five sites as a session and automatically open them by choosing that session every morning. If I have certain sites I visit while I am paying bills, I can make that another session.

They use the example of certain sites to visit that have to do with taking care of their dog. The possibilities are endless.



If you wanted to, you could create a Steemit session. This could have all of the stuff you use to create and edit a post all in one session. This would allow you to avoid the clutter of other tabs getting in the way.

We all know that as great as Chrome is, it isn't perfect though and sometimes it does crash.

Session Buddy will allow you to recover the tabs you had open and get back to the sites you were on after a crash.

Thanks again to @mandelsage for pointing out this great extension. It is definitely something I have installed and will start to use on a daily basis.

Keep them coming

I still have some great extensions to cover, but I want to hear from you too. What is a Chrome extension you can't live without? If you point one out to me in the comments and I use it, I will give you a shout-out, a follow, and upvote one of your recent posts.

You can check out my previous covered extensions here:

Sort:  

Thanks for this I find my steemit bookmarks a maze to use at times and would be so much easier to have them stored at a session level. Will give this a go. = D

Awesome. I am glad you found something that might work well for you. Stay tuned for more extensions every other day!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 52 (2/21/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

This is becoming a solid series! I know a few guys who love Session Buddy. May have to give it a shot.

I hope you do a follow-up series on the best tools for Steemit!

Thank you! It isn't quite getting the love I hoped it would yet, but I am determined! I will make some notes on a possible future series on Steemit tools.

I never knew about session buddy, will definately be checking it out. One I can recommend is Refind, I use it to save pages I will read later and when another person saves the same page you are alerted via a notification how many saves of that page have been done.
For sure dolphinschool taught us alot, the most important thing is to put into practise what we learn the cents will grow with time.

Thanks, I have added that to my list. Yes, I also learned a lot in @dolphinschool. I have tried to implement some of that stuff into my continuing posts. Thanks for the comment!

Woohoo! Awesome that you used my suggestion! Don't forget Loom down the line ;) ... How are you doing since Dolphin School, man?

Yeah, I have it on my list thanks! I have to space them out a bit otherwise it looks like I am playing favorites :)

I am doing about the same. Still haven't had a post over $5, most stay below $1. I am going to keep plugging away though. How have you been doing?

That all we can do, man. Most of my posts are also under $1 ... The one I have over 5 is the one I used Minnowbooster on. Still trying to see if using these types of services are good for me AND for the Steemit system overall.

Chrome is my favorite, besides them tracking you of course..lol

Hah. I hear you there. You either just embrace it or worry about it :)

Yea! Plus it is super smooth and easy :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50