Unlock the Power of Chrome #1

in #technology7 years ago

Today's Hidden Gem

As part of a project I am doing with #dolphinschool, I am highlighting a Google Chrome Extension every other day that I find very useful.

Today I am going to cover an extension that will make it significantly easier for you to share website URL's. This is something that has been around for a while, but in the past there were a lot more steps involved.

To accomplish this task you had to:

Go to your website

Copy the URL

Open the shortening site

Paste your URL into the site

Click shorten

Copy the new shorter URL

Paste it wherever you want.

It doesn't have to be that Complicated

With the URL Shortener extension you can eliminate more than half of those steps. If you go to the Chrome Web Store and do a search for "URL Shortener", you will find it at the top of the list. The exact title is "goo.gl URL shortener unofficial"

Go ahead and click to add it to Chrome. Now you should see it in the upper right hand corner of your Chrome browser next to the three vertical dots. The icon looks like a small clamp with a globe in the "jaws".

To use the extension you simply visit the site you want to shorten.

click the clamp icon in your extensions area.

Choose copy

And finally paste the new shortened URL wherever you want. The first time you use it you will see that it also allows you to make QR codes of URL's. It doesn't get much easier than that.

I want your extensions!

Try it out and let me know how it works for you. I look forward to your feedback. If you have an extension you think I should cover, leave me a comment and I will work it into one of my next posts. If I use your suggested extension I will give you a shout-out and upvote on one of your recent posts.

Check back in two days when I cover one of the suggested extensions from user comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44