MY 2018: Achievements & Failures - OH MY 2018!!!

in #blocktradescontest6 years ago (edited)

You must know I don't consider myself a pessimistic person, but I had the most gloomy year of my life. But! It didn't start that way... And though it haven't finished yet, I think I can already say that expectations of good ends for good beginnings are not good things to carry... I actually just discovered an English version of a title for a Shakespeare story, and I'm not sure if I find it useful enough: All's well that ends well. It's just that in Spanish it would say something like: It all ends well what begins well... SO... Quite different, right?

@Anomadsoul says something in his invitation post to this contest: "in order to be thankful for the good things, sadly there must be bad things". The phrase itself is not what is amazing, but having lived it and in consequence having it for certaint now, and refering to this particular year... Well... It is just because of some particular reasons that I know this has been a great year for me, and, yes, also those stuff which will always make anyone feel "graetful".

This partiular collaboration with @carlosgu for his OpenMic Week 90: How Deep is Your Love (Venezuelan Folk Cover) I must say has been one of the most motivating little experiences I had this year... I felt like so clear inside about my mid term expectations for my professional career as a musician, singer, songwriter, Venezuelan... Jajaja... Woman!

¡MY 2018!

Well... I started on Steemit in January, this year, almost eleven months ago. And I am still here. I haven't stopped. Arriving to Steemit gave so much to my daily life. I started to dedicate time to my blogging, so as songwriting and reading... One thing is been amazing, and it's because I've been trying to study for a couple of years but always something happened, but 2 months ago I finally made it. It's been so so so hard, because in April I thought I was starting Social Economy studies this year, but UNEARTE (the most important Art School of Venezuela) came to my city, and of course I took that amazing chance... So... I entered two careers... I know: I must be crazy... The cool thing is that I've already participated in a couple of activities, an academical activity and a cultural one, performing traditional music next to great local professionals, masters and classmates.

In "Cumaná de Antaño", celebration of the anniversary of foundation of this city
"Guayoyo Tricolor" is a musical project of traditional music conformed by classmates


Dominante en mis sentidos is a blog I created
to post my musical and artistic activity in general

When I came here I hardly ran into @OpenMic where I made a couple of mistakes and everything. My first serious entry was so well received, and I must thank Team #OpenMic. Also @Isaria gave me her support, which came by the hand of a friend who proposed her to curate my post. This friend is @EdnaLuna, so I must thank they all came to me with a certain purpose.

OPEN MIC Week 73: UNA HABITACIÓN PROPIA / A Room Of One's Own (Original Song) by Siomara Salmerón

Una Habitación Sola is a song Inspired in "A Room Of One's Own", essay written by Virginia Woolf. It is not a song I wrote this year, but I considered it finished this year. It is very special for me, because unless this is not the definite version, it sticks to the mere intention, as a folk song, with an unregular rhythmic pattern. One day I will share with you, guys, my version and you will love it also. I must thank @armoniritmia for helping me get this video done. This is a production of both of us, but he did all the edition, which I just loved.

I have to say that I never made any formal writing in English before getting into Steemit, and I was also so well received by the English-speaking community. Actually I discovered a few months ago that @Curie and @Illuminatti-inc curated some of my firt tries with the English writing. Since I started I haven't stopped and it has actually represented for me a more open channel of communication for me to interact and feel supported by a public. If you want to take a look you must check this links bellow.

MUSIC: AFROCARIBBEAN ROOTS, COMPOSSING AND COMPLEMENTARY INSTRUMENT For Singers (Black History): Cool anecdotic article where I suggest the role of a complementary instrument for a singer, from my personal perspective, refering to Venezuelan Cuatro as this complement.

VIRGINIA WOOLF: CRAFTSWOMAN || Writing and My Original Song || ART IN WOMEN'S DAY: Very nice essay I decompossed into fragments to expose my vision of this amazing woman of 20's, who openned the way for of us modern artist women.

Last year I decided that I needed a photo shooting session, so I did it begining this year... I was so fun having to actually look good, and have someone taling care of it, and choosing some outfits, even received the support of a local craftwoman, an entrepreneur, to complete my looks.

This work was made by @adoshop photographer,
and it was an awesome experience.
My first time!

MY PLAYLIST AND STUFF CHANGED!

Since last year I am with @Maxipiano, and it was amazing counting on his support and collaboration this year for most of my submission for Open Mic. And though we have been working with famous of all times songs and modern also, something important has been happening...


I have been in a relationship with @Mxipiano for 15 months now and I am so thankful

I wanted to spend most of my time this year to learn some popular and new songs to cover them and stuff, you know, to actualize, but... OH MY! I just couldn't make it. In the whole year I could learn only very few songs and not popular enough most of them. I wanted them to be in English, but something incredible happened this year...

I STARTED COLLEGE!!!
SO???!!!
I AM ALMOST OFFICIALLY A MUSIC STUDENT!

Yes, almost. I must approve my propaedeutic. Anyway, I have told you in a couple of ocassion that I have been songwriting my music since about 3 years now, and it's been awesome but it has dropped me to listen, read, think, feel differently... Now I get to discover more and more new Spanish-speaking singers which has been feeding my creation a lot.

Spanish-speaking people are massively influenced by what we call "Anglo" culture, and it's overwhelming, actually. You don't realize of it until you consciously stop and pay real attention. Fortunately I started singing traditional music since little, and also received the influence of a very whole variety of genres, music of different times, and I can say I count on a very rich sensitive spectrum, musically speaking. It has helped me a lot to move on and appreciate more my culture.

I was born in July 5th, 1991, and in that week I entered week 91 of Open Mic!!! And I got the 5th place!!! Yes... The song is called "Lento" (in Spanish, "Slow"), and is so beautiful. I feel very pleased because of the reception it had, as another original I shared for the week 98 named "Tú tan claro". You may find bloth videos in my post for #Voicesofopenmic, which I will leave you in the next subtitle.

Steemit OPEN MIC Week 91: (Original) SLOW by Siomara Salmerón (POST)

@Viterbo is a user who decided to create an interesting iniciative. Check! It's OpenMic Trading Card, and Lento is an original song of mine with one card in that iniciative where @Viterbo includes a different design for each winner participation. Follow this link and check my card.

SPANISH COMMUNITY & ORIGINAL WORK

I always knew it was hard to highlight here at Steemit, so I entered focussed on doing it right. When I posted those articles, for example the last one, I had barely a few days past my first month here. @Rjguerra is an amazing local writter who share with me almost everything I needed to know to produce good content related to markdown, appareance, source references, and everything.

I have produced original music specially for Steemit iniciatives only in two ocassions. One for a contest by @Cervantes, specifically one of their curators @Sancho.Panza, and it was an amazing experience because I was having very inspiring days those days, I was spending a lot of time at home creating, and this contest fitted perfectly. The name of the contest was "Concurso Sancho Enamorado". I will leave you that video and link to y post right bellow.

"Romance Of the Adventurer" (post), an original wrote to enter a @Sancho.Panza contest where I had to develop a way to conqueer Sancho Panza's heart. I had less than a month in Steemit at that moment, so I could challenge myself and my criteria and discover I was doing just fine. It's been awesome. I have learned a lot. Thank you so much for being part of it.

When I knew I was closed to my 100 days in Steemit I started working on a song to celebrate them. I never made a song to celebrate anything before, but I though it was going to be such an event... Jajajaja... I know, I was so wrong in the sense that I wasn't the first person doing something similar, but I was oh so happy with the results. I will leave you the link to it right bellow this paragraph, and also you will see the video. In the post you will find the translation, which I recommend because it is very funny.

Steemit OPEN MIC Semana 83 - (Original) "Cien Días En Steemit" / Celebration!: Sort of rhapsody in which I tell almost everything I lived in those first hundred days on Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun listening to it.

#Voicesofopenmic: My Experience by @siomarasalmeron https://steemit.com/openmic/@siomarasalmeron/voicesofopenmic-my-experience-by-siomarasalmeron

Since I entered Steemit I could join a local community of Steemians who are amazing writers. They are @EquipoCardumen, and the represent Hispanic community engagement. I invite you to check our blog, and take a look to our magazine #Periplos.

Last edition of #Periplos magazine, by @EquipoCardumen (Spanish).

FERTILE FRIENDSHIPS & NEW EXPERIENCES

This year I could join communities, even won a fifth place in Open Mic with and original song, I gave my first and unique podcast by now,... It's be incredible.

One day I discovered @IlazraMusic... Actually he did. He's been here almost for the same time than I have. He's a songwriter too, and since he found me he started to interact and share his kind appreciation of my work with me. He even created a contest and made me one of its judges. It was a great experience next to him. Now he runs a community with the mission of educate about the right use of this platform in order to build better creators and print a lot more value to this amazing world; the name of that project is @Swimproject and he has invited me to collaborate, so with now I am working on it.

I also had the chance to run a podcast and share some of my experience, influence and knowledge about folk music, and @ilazramusic was the one who gave that opportunity to me. The picture bellow is a designe I made to post information related to that podcast. It has been also so cool having the chance to create also graphic work for my blogs and my virtual spaces, such as social networks and everything.

Some of my graphic work for personal projects and social media

This year I also met @PaintingAngels, who invited me to join the Discord server of @Helpie. I am currently listed in their curation trail. They're an awesome community and right now they're also running a witness node so, if you haven't used all your votes for witnesses you should go and give them one.

I created two blogs this last months, but it has been difficult actualize because of college. I wanted to dedicate one of them to project management in order to motivate people to develop home projects, and the other blog is dedicated to eat better.

LAS FLORES DE SIOMARA (bitácora 8) - 14 de noviembre de 2018: Sequé semillas de ají para germinar (Spanish blog)
NUTRITION: BODY + CREATIVE GENIUS (1) – Eat creatively with the 6 tastes: Ayurveda principles (English blog)

I had an invitation in September to celebrate the anniversary of a local band named "Ilusión Sónica" and I got a cool picture which I show you bellow. I performed one song next to the main vocalist of that band. I stayed with them almost all night, and got back home early to rest.

AND... BAD STUFF

I thought I was going to let my hair grow this year, but for some reason I needed to print more attitude to my personal image. I have been going through much pressure and something around me started to go wrong in a sense I can't tell, and I had to get an extreme haircut. I had been trying to keep it long for two years, the last time I got almost the same haircut I have now... It means it actually grows pretty fast, but it is so sad that I can't just have it so nice and long... Anyway, I know it doesn't seem to be something important, but it is so impressive when you realize of the real impact your image has in your life.

These last years have been so hard for me... I can't tell you why, because it's not explainable! But I have changed, and change is not easy to get. However, I never considered myself a songwriter before, so that has to be good stuff, that for sure I do now... Some of all this I describe it a little better in the next video, which was my entry for the @Blocktrades contest hosted also by @Anomadsoul . With this video I finish this post. This year has been full of so many things I can't even remember, but I promise I tried to recover the most relevant facts in this post. The last thing I must say is that each of us know deep inside how and what to feel thankful for, and what's left for us is to always go on.

Here you may find the post I submmited to enter that past contest. The prize offered was a ticket all included to join Steemians at the STEEM FEST 2018. It must have been amazing winning! But I didn't. Jajajaja... If you watch this video you will know a lot about me and also will have a nice time, I think.

I hope you enjoyed this post!
I also hope I get to recover my frequency of blogging...


Happy almost-past 2018 to everyone!


FIND ME:
Instagram: @Siomarazulay
Twitter: @Ssiomy
Youtube and
Dtube




READ:
LUZCYPHER's Announcement For STEEM WITNESS

[ VOTE YOUR WITNESSES ]
VOTA POR LOS WITNESSES AQUÍ

CHECK THIS DTUBE VIDEO
Where I tell You A Little About It

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65