Debate: Are Governments Against Bitcoin & Blockchain? Or Do they Love it and Want us to Use it?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

While browsing Steemit yesterday, I came across an article written by @hilarski. While the article claims that the establishments and governments are anti-Bitcoin and that is why we should invest in this technology but without giving any real proof why governments are anti-Bitcoin.

is-bitcoin-a-government-project.jpg

This is the original post if you want to read it:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@hilarski/get-with-the-program-got-bitcoin-and-crypto-currency

And here is it again, the full post in one Image:*

anti-1.JPG

I went on to comment about Bitcoin and Blockchain actually being loved by governments and to my surprise, everyone was disagreeing with me and thinking that I don't like Bitcoin or the technology.

Some of the Comments below:
comments 1.JPG

To Proof my theory, here are the latest articles from the establishments and Governments about Bitcoin in specific and Blockchain in general, and if someone can please highlight to me how Bitcoin is being anti-establishment from the latest news, maybe I could be confused and most of the comments from @hilarski post are the actual truth!

Let us Start with Australia if it is anti-Bitcoin, well the below article does proof otherwise!

Australia Will Recognize Bitcoin as Money and Protect Bitcoin Businesses, No Taxes.
Original Article:
https://cointelegraph.com/news/australia-will-recognize-bitcoin-as-money-and-protect-bitcoin-businesses-no-taxes

I don't really see how Australia is disliking Bitcoin, Can someone wake me up please so I can see better.

Can Japan be anti-Bitcoin?

Japan Accepts Bitcoin as Legal Payment Method
Source: https://www.cryptocoinsnews.com/japan-accepts-bitcoin-as-legal-payment-method-whats-next/

Again seems like Japan is in love with this technology.

Maybe China is anti-Bitcoin?

The BBC estimated last year that as much of 70% of bitcoin mining is now done in China. Lee says: "Because of that, a healthy ecosystem grows on top of each other: the miners, the people who trade, buy, sell."
Source: http://uk.businessinsider.com/why-chinese-love-bitcoin-popular-china-btcc-bobby-lee-2017-1

I guess China doesn't mind all the mining and encouraging it by giving cheap electricity to the Miners, If that tells me something, it is the government maybe likes it, another point to make in china case is the capital control rule that doesn't allow any citizent to take out more than 50K USD annualy, but they allow you to transfer up to 1million USD in Bitcoin Annualy.

Maybe Singapore can be anti-Blockchain, One of the wealthiest Countries in Asia!

Singaporean Dollar Tokenized Through Ethereum’s Blockchain by the Monetary Authority of Singapore
Source: http://www.trustnodes.com/2017/06/07/singaporean-dollar-tokenized-ethereums-blockchain-monetary-authority-singapore

Again, I don't see where the government is anti-Blockchain or anti-bitcoin! Maybe there is hidden message that I can't read.

Let us See the latest news from the USA? maybe we can find a clue!

US Federal Agencies Gradually Adopt Blockchain Tech

Blockchain technology development firms and infrastructure providers along with Bitcoin mining firms are starting to be funded by federal agencies in the US such as the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
Source: https://cointelegraph.com/news/us-federal-agencies-gradually-adopt-blockchain-tech

Maybe i don't have a sense of humor and can't tell between a joke and reality!

Let's Look at Europe, and Switzerland in Specific since it is considered the Bank of the World!

Swiss City to Accept Bitcoin Payments for Government Services
Swiss rail stations will sell bitcoins at ticket machines

Source: https://www.engadget.com/2016/10/31/swiss-rail-stations-will-sell-bitcoins/

Again, I don't see how they dislike it, do I need new glasses?

Summery:

Everywhere I look, it is becoming more clear to me that government loves Blockchain technology in general and Bitcoin in specific, I could add more articles about Russia, South Korea, Dubai, Uk, Germany if you need more proof and hope the above proof can change the view of the majority that thinks of Bitcoin being anti-establishment and please provide your proof if you think otherwise!

Follow @digdaga for more debates and Blockchain!

Sort:  

Within the higher ranks of governments there's probably a mixed bag of opinions on crypto. You got those who understand and fear it, those who understand and embrace it, and the majority who just cannot comprehend it.

Those who fear it cannot shut it down, just like they cannot shut down BitTorrent, because it's decentralized and outside of any one country's jurisdiction. If a government tries to crack down on the industry or ban crypto entirely, then all the law-abiding crypto startups will move to more blockchain-friendly countries and the government will miss out on potential economic growth and tax dollars.

Then you've got the officials who understand that their unsustainable debt-based economies are on the brink of failure, and have no choice but to embrace the blockchain. However many do not recognize that the blockchain could render their job obsolete. So I think it's best to educate yourself in blockchain and see how you can fit in and provide value in this new burgeoning economy.

Exciting times!

Indeed Exciting times ahead of us, and will have to wait and see what the future hides for us. I also try to educate myself about this technology and the more I read and go deep down the rabbit hole, the more I feel that there still so much to learn and understand about the blockchain and how it will affect our daily lives both in the positive and negative ways.

My MAIN point with @hilarski post was regarding the US government. Now, I did hear about some small grant being given to a college but that was a while ago and I can't recall all the specifics of it. I did not know about the DHS thing, thanks for providing that article.

I should've been more clear yesterday. I did know about japan and China. In fact a prominent steemian on here not too long ago posted about buying a new computer at a bitcoin friendly store on tokyo. That's so cool to me. Last time i checked i cant go to the grocery store here in the US and do that. In fact almost every person i know is clueless about cryptocurrency in general here in the United states. It seriously is viewed as "shady" business by most because the new media portrays it that way.
As I pointed out yesterday, I'm looking to get largely out of the "E" sector (rich dad poor dad reference) E for employee because 40% taxation is HARSH. i do love My old people though and ill continue playing along so i can have a job that i enjoy but only part time eventually and have other revenue streams that's i don't get literally robbed by the US government.
I think of it in terms of pie :

  1. My main job/puts food on the table/pays the bills = my job as a licensed PT Assistant. Love it but don't love 40% of my pie being eaten before i even get a chance to look at it.
  2. In the past I and occasionally I still do sell stuff on ebay. Ebay takes a cut for the service, okay no problem, paypal takes a cut for transfer to my bank. This income stream is a nice pie to me bevause only a little sliver is taken out before i can use it
  3. Crypto trading/steemit earnings - another pie. I could see the US govt getting greedy as fuck over it and taxing it 40% too. I don't like that. Why does the govt need a slice out of each of my income pies? Does the govt need money from the yardsale i just had? No, but we are supposed to report all our income so. ...

I'm staunch on my view that the US govt isn't a fan of the common man making money off crypto. Yes it is all out in the open on the block chain but, last time i checked there was no steemit "w2."

I think that's pretty cool about Australia, Singapore, South korea. But you mentioned yesterday about russia banning it. Direct quote below:

"Maybe you will say it decentralized and they can't kill it, I will agree with you but they could have banned exchanges and mining and made it a crime to use it, mine it, or exchange it like Russia did."

Today you say:

"Everywhere I look, it is becoming more clear to me that government loves Blockchain technology in general and Bitcoin in specific, I could add more articles about Russia..."

So while you have some valid points about other non US countries adopting it, but obviously the Russian govt doesn't "love it " if they made it illegal.

I Agree to all of the above, but Russia did ban Bitcoin and mining for more than 2 years until recently (Mid of this year) were they became super friendly and started adopting it and even president Vladimir Invited Vitalik Buterin and endorsed Ethereum:

Article Below:https://cointelegraph.com/news/suddenly-vladimir-putin-meets-vitalik-buterin-endorses-ethereum

Also, i made a post about Russian S7 airline started using Ethereum to issue tickets:
https://www.coindesk.com/russian-airline-using-blockchain-for-tickets/

and if that is not enough, Burger King is now accepting Bitcoin in Russia:

https://cointelegraph.com/news/burger-king-to-accept-bitcoin-in-russia-this-summer

Even Russia, one of the countries that banned and punished bitcoin users, is now turning a to a pro-Bitcoin land.

However, i appreciate your time for reading and replying and if you want to live in a place that pays very well and don't tax, come visit us in Dubai and hopefuly you will be happier in here and you can still support your family.
Following you now!

Thanks for the follow and further info on russia. I always appreciate other points of view. Thanks also for the gift, that was very kind you didn't have to do that. :) but i really appreciate it!
I'd move to dubai in a heartbeat but with physical therapy they often make you retake a lot of schooling when you relocate Regardless of experience. I'm hoping for a more globalized PT organization soon that can assist the transition for PTs wanting to relocate into a different country.
I'm also following you. Hopefully the USofA will stop with the insane taxation someday.
Thanks for opening my eyes to all the countries that I was unawre were supporting btc. Pretty neat. If it's headed in such a positive direction globally maybe one day US politicians will pull their heads out of the sand.

Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency is interesting because I believe it is disliked by most governments...however, it is also difficult to control and track. I think the governments of the world have been beat. They want to control it and get rid of it but as they are finding out how difficult that is, they're realizing they have no choice but to just accept it. So they'll try to stick their hand in the pot of course, but whether or not they get anything out of it is entirely up to us.

That's my opinion.

I respect your opinion but at the same time, i disagree with it. I believe that Governments do like and starting to support and encourage the use of it to take us towards a cashless society, but this is also my opinion and we can agree to disagree :).

It depends on which government you're talking about. I imagine N Korea isn't too thrilled about the prospect for its citizens gaining access to funds for use immediately upon their escape. Also, doubt the US, having the standard currency of world markets, would be in favor of such a potentially destabilizing currency

N.Korea does not allow Sattelite Tv, the Internet, Smart phones, let alone allow Cryptocurrencies.
USA: https://cointelegraph.com/news/us-federal-agencies-gradually-adopt-blockchain-tech this article can indicate if they are in favor or not!
The USA is the second friendliest country towards Bitcoin after Estonia:

World’s Top 10 Bitcoin-Friendly Countries

  1. Estonia
  2. The United States
  3. Denmark
  4. Sweden
  5. South Korea
  6. The Netherlands
  7. Finland
  8. Canada
  9. UK
  10. Australia

https://news.bitcoin.com/worlds-top-10-bitcoin-friendly-countries/

Great post , thank you for sharing

Merci Khouya!

Amen. There is alot of conspiracy theory runoff here and in the crypto world that's very anti-establishment, with presumptions that government must by-nature always be thr antagonist, and therefore against progress. False assumptions.

Indeed we should not just assume that governments are by nature anti-progress, many governments, as well as establishments like banks, are embracing this technology and new stories are emerging on daily basis out this. Still many Bitcoin Believers think it is anti-establishment by default and will always be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71