Why even if you had invested in Bitcoin in 2014 you may not have become a millionaire - (A remedy for FOMO).

in #bitcoin7 years ago

why.png

Hi fellow Steemitons,

I would like to introduce myself with an article on a point of view that I hope you find interesting, and one that aims to relieve the frustration of missing out on not becoming a Bitcoin millionaire, like many of us might have felt at some stage.

Firstly let´s go back to Thursday June 12th, 2014, South America.

My wife happened to ask me a random question that change my life for the better to such an extent that it has become one of those defining moments in my life, one that I'll never forget, and yet another reason why I owe so much to my wife, who is intelligent, and beautiful to the core.

It was just before my lunch break and I was at my laptop as usual working (from home) on my website, fixing a bug, work that now seems so unimportant, but at the time seemed like it meant something and was going somewhere. A few minutes later at lunch my wife would inadvertently trip me up and send me down a rabbit hole so wonderful that in less than 4 months I would abandon everything I had been working on and believed to be meaningful in an exchange for a rollercoaster ride that was in HD Technicolor, 8K resolution and travelling at high speed, and in my rear-view mirror a black and white past. A ride that I´m still on today and hence introducing myself now here on Steemit.

What was the question my wife asked?

My wife asked, "have you heard of Bitcoin?" To which I scoffed, "Of course I have, they are gold coins rappers buy and wear around their necks as form of bling."
"Mmm...not exactly." she said.

Now, I have an addictive personality so if something grabs my interest then that´s it, it becomes my new favourite thing. So fast track forward a few months from that moment and I´m already in bed with Bitcoin, eating, sleeping and digesting as fast as I can.

Am I a Bitcoin Millionaire?

Recently some of the people I mentioned Bitcoin to since 2014 are now coming to me and asking me if I've still involved, and if I'm a millionaire.

One guy that contacted me, who I used to do some work for and had mentioned to him back in 2014 to look into Bitcoin as an investment, (he dismissed it) called me this year and wanted to meet up to quiz me about Bitcoin, he was so frustrated with missing out it was like he had just realised he´d misplaced his winning $100 million dollar lottery ticket. Watching him I could see he was going through the pained process in his mind of actually losing a million bucks. I found this very curious.

So am I am millionaire?
No, and it would have never been.
Why?
There are a few reasons.

One main reason is that back in mid 2014, early 2015 Bitcoin was worth approximately $200. If like me your were buying Bitcoin then you would have needed to invest approximately $67,000 USD to be a millionaire today in 2017. Let´s half that, when it was $100 bucks you would have needed $33,500 USD.

So, straight off the bat you would need a fair chunk of change to throw at it. Would you have invested? Let´s say you had $50k sitting in the bank waiting for an investment opportunity.

When investing diversifying is key, so it would be unlikely you would throw all your 50k into Bitcoin, it would not be a wise investment move.

OK, let´s say you threw caution to the wind and spent all your money on it. You would have watched it increase to proportions so fast and large that you would have cashed out way before it hit the million dollar mark.

So, could I still become a Bitcoin/Cryptocurrency Millionaire?

Yes, I truly believe so. There are a plethora of opportunities out there in the crypto space to make lots of future millionaires. If you´re interested I´ll be happy to write a post on my thoughts of potential opportunities that could make you a millionaire.

So fellow Steemitons, let´s not dwell on the past price of Bitcoin and feel we´ve missed out, let´s look at the present and the future where there are truly amazing times ahead and opportunities of all kinds available.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @bistonic I have upvoted and sent you a tip

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

QUICK TIPS FOR NEWBIES
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

you are right, we still have a chance withother coins

Hey Alienposts, thanks for your comment.
Glad to hear you´re on it. I know there is a lot of talk of us being in a ICO bubble but even so there are still so many coins with opportunities for amazing returns. Take a look at CFI if you haven´t already, link: https://cofound.it/en/ (dislaimer: I am in no way affiliated with them, just throwing out one of the many coins i´m into at the moment) Good luck with cryptos and safe trading.

hello @Bistonic !! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. ! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @mekong!

Thanks for putting this in perspective. In retrospect, most of us who are actively investing now, especially in light of missing the BTC train, have often pondered what we would have proverbially done back in the day. I agree, considering the mantra of diversification, just how many of us would have dumped such a large chunk of change into an unknown idea and investment.

Hey Fugetaboutit, thanks for the comment.
Yeah, it can make your head spin if you think too much about it. I can´t dispute the fact that it would have been nice to make millions from bitcoin, however I feel privileged that I was able to invested my time and bitcoin into trading and investing over the last 3 years giving me an invaluable skill that has given me a lot of freedom.
Good luck with your investments amigo these are great times to be active in cryptolandia :-)

Fun post. Upvoted and followed buddy. Im new to Steemit too. Check out my first post and follow back if you like :)

Thanks for your comment. Safe trading.

Thanks for the post. This is a nice realistic and honest view of the crazy claims out there. Some people did hit it big, but not many. Many are just doing well from sticking with it. Following

Thanks for your comment Lark. Yeah the bitcoin millionaires came from mining and making bitcoin from some form of business or other. Most people who put their hard earned cash into it and bought it would have sold as soon as it doubled or sooner! But as you said if you´re still in it and didn´t lose your shirt you´re doing well ;-) (following)

Congratulations @bistonic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62804.06
ETH 2964.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60