You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Bird Photos - No. 5 ~ On The Fence ~

in #birds6 years ago

The bird is a yellow-rumped warbler. They are incredibly common across much of North America, especially in spring and fall migration. You likely know that there are two races, Myrtle's with the white throat, and Audubon's with the yellow throat. Myrtle's mostly eastern and Audubon's dominate in western U.S. In fall they can be really drab and I.D. tougher. They all have the "yellow rump", and eye ring, most have a yellowish flank area and some degree of streaking on the flanks.
Re the man-made features, I say get the best and most interesting shots that you can get, and screw rules about details.
Good birding. Steem on!

Sort:  

Thanks so much! It's good to have an expert around that knows so much! As I've said before, I don't know a lot about birds, but I try to learn something as I discover and photograph new species. I'm glad to see that I actually got the I.D. right on this one. I was looking through books and websites for a while trying to find the answer :)

My pleasure. I'm enjoying trying to build community on the Steemit platform.

Try the free Cornell app "Merlin" It is remarkably good.

I will take a look at that, thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35