I thought I knew my Guinness

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

Today is my first entry for #beersaturday. I came across this tag from one of @buzzbeergeek posts on Guinness so I thought I would try out some samples today.

Guinness Draught

THE STORY OF GUINNESS® DRAUGHT
Rich and creamy. Distinctive, Ruby Red colour. Velvety in its finish. Our most iconic beer was developed in 1959 by our brewers’ and launched as a celebration of the 200 years anniversary of Arthur Guinness signing his 9,000-year lease. It established itself as the top-selling Guinness beer with lightning speed. Drinkers were instantly drawn to its complexity and bold combination of flavours.
Source: https://www.guinness.com/en-ie/our-beers/guinness-draught/

Believe it or not this would be shocking to hear by many Irish people, including myself. Guinness as we know it was only invented 58 years ago! Normally drank in the pub there is a lot of pomp and ceremony with this Beer. There is the two part pour, and the type of glass is very particular.

From a can I was sceptical, I don't normally drink this from a can but I was pleasantly surprised.

The pour was perfect and the rich creamy texture was very similar to what I would expect for what is served in many bars.

As I was in the shop I noticed a few more bottles in the drinks aisle and I couldn't resist.

Guinness Extra Stout

This is the "Old Man Bottle" stuff. It says on the back of the label "If you were in a pub between 1821 and 1970, chances are this is the Guinness you would have been drinking".

This is the real Guinness and I had never tried it before today, and I have to say I like it. It does not taste like the draught Guinness I am used to in the pub, it's more hoppy, crisp and tastes more carbonated like a beer. Its almost a refreshing beer.

Guinness Foreign Extra

This is new, and it describes how its brewed to travel the world, with more hops. It has a much stronger flavour than Guinness Extra.


All three were delicious!


If there is an Irish Bar near you, send me the name or a photo of the outside and I will include Irish Pubs from around the world in a monthly roundup and don't forget to join me on my tour of Dublins best Irish Bars each Monday.

Previous Posts in The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town... series


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Guinness is one of my go-to beers, preferably from tap but often here in Sweden it comes in a can. I like the rich creaminess of the N2 foam and the smooth mouthfeel!

Hello @eroche .... i never drink beer, may i know how to taste the beer. it is a culture in your country

Its more the pub is the culture, a place where people gather. Where many of lifes events are celebrated from birth to death. The local pub is often a focal point of communities in Ireland. We are a religious people too, but religion is less of a social tradition than a spiritual one here, than in some cultures.

I know beer guinness is amazing, I've mixed this beer with duck eggs, do you know what happened?
My wife asked for an extra singing night..! ha..ha.. thank you my friend for your post

I did have a Guiness Nitro IPA when I was last in the US - It was a pretty standard IPA, except a bit creamier due to the Nitro.

I've never been a fan of Guinness but I might have to try the Extra Stout sometime, it sounds more like some of the craft stouts that I've enjoyed.

It is very different, I will have to see if its available in pubs, I rarely go to the off licence. It was very nice though, worth trying.

Being poor the off licence, and Lidl, is my usual drink buying destination, haha.

Speaking of pubs though, have you made a post about/been to Sweetman's? I was there recently with some friends and fell in love with the place.

I think I was there years ago. It's on my list now to revisit now. Thanks for the tip :) I'll let you know when I am visiting.

Wow 😨
I like this. You are considering these very useful posts above steemit. I look forward to receiving many of your posts. Thank you for sharing! good luck and happy in life!

I have a proposition get back to me please!

I don't care for stout as a general rule.. but I'd be willing to try Guiness if I was sitting in a pub in #Ireland!

Indeed, I'd be willing to test taste the Guiness Draught just for its rich creamy texture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99