The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #culturevulture7 years ago

For number 12 on my tour of Dublins Pubs I visited Whelan's of Wexford Street.

I wasn't too sure which pub to choose this week but as I walked down Camden street the sound of a trad session going on got my attention.


Whelan's


The Irish Pub is an institution. To this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every aspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.



Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

The first post in this series will fill you in on why I have started this journey, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town


Whelan's

One website describes Whelan's as "A Traditional Irish Country Pub in the heart of the city". In contrast to Devitts from last week this bar is dark and loud. Less of a place for an after work chat but a place to go for a good sing song. After entering it took a few minutes for my eyes to adjust to the lighting but the mood took me back to some great sessions I have had in country pubs over the years. I was instantly transported out of Dublin City.

Whelan's is known as a music venue before all else but it's one of my favourite pubs in Dublin. There are two music venues here and also the main bar where you can often find traditional music playing.

The Bar

The Pub consists of a long Bar area and there is often a Traditional Irish Music Session going in the corner.



Lots of Beers and Spirits available, but this pub is known of its Guinness, I can't wait!



The Trad Session

Call the Dancers were playing the mournful Oilean Pipes along with another traditional instrument, the Bodhran.



The Lounge

There is a lounge area complete with turf fireplace and also a room upstairs that can be rented out for functions.

There are also lots of nooks and crannys. Great if your famous and wish for a bit of privacy!



Live Gigs

This door is what makes this place so great for me. Live Gigs get people buzzing and afterwards, when a gig finishes these doors open and the party carries on in the main bar. Even if your not at the gig you get to enjoy the atmosphere here.



Since 1990 this bar has been known as a gig venue. Some of my favourites who played here over the years are Nick Cave, Jeff Buckley, Christy Moore and David Gray.

What makes a gig at Whelan's so special is the intimate nature of it. A quote in an Irish times article celebrating the 20th anniversary of the music venue sums the place up nicely "Arctic Monkeys in August 05 was fairly special as well, stood beside chattin to jamie cook’s parents all the way thru. - andy"



Musicians Glen Hansard, Bono, Bressie, Aloe Black and Paloma Faith pictured here along with some Movie Celebrities Lisa Kudrow and Hilary Swank



Stairs to the upstairs venue and side entrance to the main venue

There is always something on, tonight it was a silent disco. Check out http://www.whelanslive.com/ for upcoming events.

Bourkes

There was an off-licence next door to Whelans for many years but it has since been converted into a to a craft beer and whiskey pub called Bourkes. I want to find out more about this pub because I remember hearing of a distant relation of mine with a pub called Bourkes on Wexford street. It's possible this was it! I don't have many pictures here as I will have to come back another time to do further research. This pub deserves a post of its own.



How does the Beer taste?

Now we are getting to the best part, only two pubs so far have gotten a 4 for the Guinness. How will Whelans do?


Cheers
Slainte Steemit

The Verdict

I am going to give a rating to each pub in this series based on the Guinness. There is a scale of 1-4, 4 is exceptional, 3 is very good and 2 is acceptable, 1 is muck.



Whelan's gets a 3.

Join me to talk about Steemit.

Each week I will be visiting a new pub in Dublin. I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.


Can't wait till next Monday!




If there is an Irish Bar near you, send me the name or a photo of the outside and I will include Irish Pubs from around the world in a monthly roundup.


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Great choice of of pub. It was always a nice place to go for a pint and a night out.

just reinforces my desire to go to Dublin. thanks, followed.

Would love to "pub" hop around Dublin! In South Africa we say bar, instead of pub. Fiumnily enough I detest most beers, but I love the taste of Guiness and I often share one with my dad, he's Scottish.

I will bring the Dublin Pubs to you on Steemit. I plan on visiting one each week. Trust me I wont run out of material :)

You do not want to face the wrath of my bunghole!!

If I lived in Dublin I would definitely meet up for a good pint @eroche after over a week on @steemit I have to say is't been worth while and I intend to use this platform as much as I can. A Steemit class in a pub would be time well invested. All @Steemit its missing is a live streem and video hosting abilities but I am sure it will come sometime.....

I am glad your enjoying your time on Steemit. Live streaming is not far off and there has been talk of live streeming from some meetups.

We have a meetup at the end of this month in Dublin City Center if your around, any time your in Dublin give me a shout, Ill be happy to talk steemit over a coffee or Guinness.

Sounds good I will definitely consider it next time I am in Dublin @eroche . The @Steemit meet ups look to be a great idea. Nice to bring those online connections into the real world. There seems to be a good community of free thinkers here glad I stumbled upon it.

Nice work! I think you're gonna have to start skulking in those nooks and crannies. I'd say every pub in Dublin is on the look-out for ye in case ye come in and slag off their Guinness.

Ha ha, I think I am still flying under the radar.

I really like this quote:

"It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody."

It sounds like in my own country. 👍

ha ha, he has some good ones.

awesome post like always
thank you for sharing

Whelans is a great spot, been to many a gig in there, I still absolutely love that Brendan Behan quote you have at the end there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99