The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

My exploration of Dublin's pubs begins. For the first stop I chose the Dawson Lounge. This pub is known as the smallest pub in Dublin and it's fitting to start the journey in one of Dublin's superlative pubs, after all Dublin is home to the Guinness book of records.

On my journey I will also visit the Oldest, the Biggest, the Highest and the Best, that is if I can find it.


Hapenny Bridge
Image Source: http://www.ireland.com/

--

The Irish Pub is an institution. This may sound strange to people from different parts of the world but, to this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every aspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.

Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

The first post in this series will fill you in on why I have started this journey, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town


The Dawson Lounge

This pub is renowned as Dublin's smallest. It's on the tourist trail as it's located just off the main shopping street Grafton, but it's easy to miss as you walk by, sandwiched between a jewellers and a cafe. The pub is located underground down a spiral staircase and is tiny at just 350sq ft. Its low roof makes it feel even smaller. People often come here for one or two drinks but usually don't stay for long. It is well worth a trip though for the fantastic Guinness.


Entrance to The Dawson Lounge
Easy to miss as you walk down Dawson Street


The Stairs


Friendly Bar Man


Oh Look at that Pint
Oh Look at that pint resting!!!!


Cosy
Cosy describes it well.


The Verdict

I am going to give a rating to each pub in this series based on the guinness. There is a scale of 1-4, 4 is exceptional, 3 is very good and 2 is acceptable, 1 is muck.


Wow
The dawson lounge gets a 3


Cheers
Slainte Steemit!


Dont forget to Buy the T Shirt
You can even get a t-shirt :)

Join me to talk about Steemit.

Each week I will be visiting a new pub in Dublin. I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Nice post :-)

Thank you.

You are welcome :-)

This is a great post! Keep it up!

One thing is for sure i won't run out of pubs in Dublin :)

So TRUE! :)

Very comfortable pub @eroche.
how bout the music?

No music, this one is all about the chat, and the Guinness. Whenever I have been here it's only been for one or two with some friends.

There are some pubs in Dublin that are great for music which we will get to but not this one if your looking for Trad music.

Hmm I had planned to visit pubs on Monday nights so I could chat with the Barman about the pub when it was quiet but I may have to do a busier nights too for the pubs with good music.

So far, this comfortable place for meeting. I live indonesia this place still strange for common people. Very expensive and too disturbing music inside. but JAZZ is better.

Slainte! Pubs in Ireland are amazing! I live in Cork, and we have live music every day in lot of pubs. I personally found even more interesting pubs in countryside areas. Up vote and follow :)

Hey @eroche, would you be interested in another Steemit meetup in Ireland? I made this post a few days ago, not sure if you saw it:

https://steemit.com/ireland/@demotruk/steemit-ireland-meetup

I have three others (from all over Ireland) who expressed an interest, and I'm sure my sister would be up for it as well when she's back from the US.

And I will be in Dublin next Monday night after work for one. Haven't decided the pub yet but maybe Keoghs. All are welcome.

I hadn't seen it but count me in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36