The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My exploration of Dublin's pubs continues this week with Kehoes of South Anne Street.


Keoghs


The Irish Pub is an institution. To this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every aspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.

Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

The first post in this series will fill you in on why I have started this journey, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town


Kehoes

This pub is definitely on the tourist trail as it's located just off the main shopping street Grafton. This pub is famous for its Guinness. It does not do food and there is not usually music but there is a great atmosphere and it's well worth a visit. This pub was first established in 1803 and has traded as Kehoes since 1903.

Hard to miss on a Sunny Day


Hard to Miss

The Bar

There are three distinct features of Irish Bars and this pub has it all. The bar area is where you can have drinks and where there are bar stools. Many famous Irish Writers have sat at this bar.


The Bar

The Lounge

The lounge area is where there are tables and chairs. Often areas with carpets where there is table service. In this pub which is on several levels the front area is the bar but there is also another area near the back which also has a separate entrance form the alley.


The Lounge


The Lounge

The upstairs area was not open but I have spent many nights in here having drinks with friends.


Upstaris

The Snug

In the mid 1800s women were permitted into pubs for the first time. This is when snugs were introduced where a small area was sectioned off from the pub where women could drink. It was also used by patrons who didnt want to be seen in the public bar. There is even a window with direct access to the bar.


The Snug

Victorian Pubs

Sometimes the older the better. The next few pubs on my list are from the Victorian Era, Keoghs is a fine example with some interesting decorations


Clock

Mmmmmmmmm

At Last we get to the Guinness


The Guinness

Did I mention this pub is popular for Guinness?


Guinness

The Verdict

I am going to give a rating to each pub in this series based on the Guinness. There is a scale of 1-4, 4 is exceptional, 3 is very good and 2 is acceptable, 1 is muck.


Guinness
Keoghs gets a 3


Cheers
Slainte Steemit!


Cheers


Join me to talk about Steemit.

Each week I will be visiting a new pub in Dublin. I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.


Can't wait till next Monday!
Bye


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Amazing find. I would love to visit this place.

Great post, aptly describes the typical Irish pub. I think every pub has many stories waiting to be told.

Thank you.

In Dublin there is a gem around every corner.

It's a lovely place! Beautiful photos!

Thanks for stopping by. I'll be visiting a different pub each Monday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36