The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Pub number 6 was Bowes of Fleet Street. I have been in this pub before several times. After the Aviva stadium at the weekend , I am happy to be returning to a more traditional setting. This pub is located very close to Temple Bar but is a world away. Well worth a visit.


Bowes


The Irish Pub is an institution. To this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every aspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.

Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

The first post in this series will fill you in on why I have started this journey, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town


Bowes of Fleet Street

Established in 1854, Bowes of Fleet Street is yet another Victorian gem hidden away down a side street in Dublin City Center. According to Mac Maloney this was the first pub in Dublin to Serve Women. Today it's renowned for its Guinness and its Whiskey.





A cosy traditional pub in the heart of Dublin

A quiet pub, no music just a relaxed atmosphere, a sanctuary from the busy streets of Dublin.



A small pub with plenty of character

The Black Stuff

The pint at the Aviva looked great, but it didn't last. A great pint has a refreshing aaah taste with the first sip. Your anticipation builds as you can tell by the colour as its settling it is going to be good, rich creamy clouds rising up the glass. This is going to be a great pint. In the Aviva the pint looked like that but it didn't last as well. The second sip was not the same as the first. There was something different about the pint here in Bowes. It's difficult to explain but unforgettable.



A thing of beauty!

Two friends joined me today who aren't on Steemit, yet. I hope to get them posting soon.



Slainte Steemit

Whiskey

Bowes is also famous for its whiskey. There is a fine selection and you can do tastings here. I have seen some experts from Dawson Street's Celtic Whiskey Shop here giving tourists a tasting tour.



Scottish whiskey is world famous, mainly due to better marketing. There is no finer whiskey than the smooth, elegant Irish vintages; Green Spot, Redbreast and Middleton Rare are some of the best you can get.






The Snug

In the mid 1800s women were permitted into pubs for the first time. This is when snugs were introduced where a small area was sectioned off from the pub where women could drink. It was also used by patrons who didnt want to be seen in the public bar. I have been in this pub several time before and never noticed the snug in the corner.



The Verdict

I am going to give a rating to each pub in this series based on the Guinness. There is a scale of 1-4, 4 is exceptional, 3 is very good and 2 is acceptable, 1 is muck.



Bowes gets a 4, in fact it was so good I had to stay for 2 this week.

Join me to talk about Steemit.

Each week I will be visiting a new pub in Dublin. I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be. You can also check out @steem-dublin, there is a meetup happening soon in the Duke on Duke Street.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.


Can't wait till next Monday!




If there is an Irish Bar near you, send me the name or a photo of the outside and I will include Irish Pubs from around the world in a monthly roundup.


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Great post ... :-)

Thanks for reading. Stay tuned, lots more to come.

You must welcome...!sure...!!

Great pub and great post :-)

That's really a nice and interesting review of a pub. Looking forward for more of your reviews.

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.685 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Thanks so much @pipes

Definitely following you!
I adore Ireland, Dublin and all pubs in it. Most greatest place on Earth! :) hope to come back one day!

Thank you so much. I am luck to be living here to do this series of posts. Thanks for stopping by 😃

irish pubs are the best @eroche

Thanks for stopping by @adrianobalan

I am going you don't get many 1's in your ratings. Looking forward to the series!

I try to avoid those pubs, 😄 I have quite a bit of experience in this area. Stay tuned though, I am sure I will slip up at some stage. Wait till you see my face.

Haha, excellent! Can't wait!

Nice article and I used to do all of my meeting in the local Irish pub and I didn't even drink. Upvoted and re-steemed

They have taken over the world :), I think when people think of pub a certain image comes to mind, the Irish pub is usually far removed and is quite unique. Young and old, drinkers and non drinkers all can be found here.

Awww, my kinda place 😍😋

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.70 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14