Beat Battle League Week Two Results

in #beatbattle7 years ago (edited)

Five (5) epic entries from Steemit producers made up the second week of the Beat Battle League. Judging and supporting the Beat Battle with their time & resources are: @chiefmappster , @jphenderson , @vandigital , @enginewitty , @derekmiller , and @anomadsoul.

The aim of the Beat Battle League is to highlight and showcase the talents of the music producers, beat makers, and sound engineers of Steemit with the goal of providing additional recognition and rewards for these hard-working Steemians.

Remember entries are judged on: Sound Quality, Technicality, and Creativity.

BeatBattleLeague.jpg

And don’t forget the standings are updated (updated) at http://www.beatbattleleague.com/ so that everyone involved in the league can see where each person ranks.

The points you see below are formulated by the amount of prize pool the contest gets that week. So say someone wins 25 SBD and 60 Whaleshares so equals 85 points. The points accumulate over the first season of the Beat Battle League until at the end of the season the champion will earn a championship belt for the efforts. It is just another way to show that this Steemit music community is real and thriving.

screencapture-beatbattleleague-index-php-1502656511906.png

Also, the team behind @buildawhale has donated so graciously bonus votes on all entries apart of the Beat Battle League.

This takes the long term benefits of the Beat Battle League members to a whole new level. They know for sure after all the hard work no matter what they know at least someone @buildawhale will appreciate their work. Thanks again @buildawhale and more info about @buildawhale is at the end of this post.

buildawhale.png


FIRST PLACE WINNER: @verbal-d with an average of 4.5 from across the judging panel winning 25 SBD and 60 Whaleshares


Man @verbal-d this beat got me so pumped for battle. Like get me to war now. Sign me up I am there. This is such a fire winner beat for so many reasons.

One, the depth of the sounds and layering of the beat. You combine masterfully several, if not more, sounds. You gave this beat soul and life through this. That’s what elevates this beat above all the rest in its own category. Every time my ears break for a second o weee here comes another epic layer and/or sound. That kept me involved all the way through the beat like deep in my soul involved. Like I could almost see you making this beat visually in my head because of this (shorts, t-shirt, glasses, headphones in, laptop going away).

Two, the switch-ups holy shit. The switch up-s at :54 , 1:08 , 1:19 , 2:15, and 2:41 kept mind-fucking me in the best way possible. Just when I thought I knew what was coming BAM another sound or layer or instrument. It is epic how you did this. You can really tell you spent a lot of time and effort on the technicality of your beat.

Three, the quality of sounds. Everyone sound in this beat was top notch. I could crisply hear everything and I was listening from PC speakers. I do this kind of like a test. But man you could literally hear everything perfectly so sound quality from my regard was top notch and the judges agreed.

Check out his top winning entry here as well: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@verbal-d/chiefmappster-s-beat-battle-league-week-2-entry-conquerer-s-conquest-original-beat


SECOND PLACE WINNER: @shakazula with an average of 3.75 winning 12 SBD and 40 Whaleshares


@shakazula holy shit the way you ease us into this beat and then BAM at :23 just so nope screw you rexpectation I am taking this beat a whole new direction and level. And man did you succeed. The absolute amazing vibrations from your beat were something rarely seen. I was in multiple different moods when listening to this beat and every time it instantly put me in the best mood. Like instantly. How did you do that?

I am not sure if it was how you pitched the samples down or how you layering it but man the entire beat all the way through straight smooth flow of positivity. And you used both samples that’s epic creativity and skills right there.

I will have @vandigital the myth, the man, the legend, give you more thoughts to come. As he knows beats like no other, so I am sure his perspective will help you improve in the areas that would take you to number one. Check this post from @vandigital it will give you a perspective on his experience: https://steemit.com/music/@vandigital/how-i-leaned-to-make-beats-produce-in-1992-and-why-y-all-have-it-so-easy-now

Check out the entry here as well: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@shakazula/steemit-beat-battle-league-week-2-my-entry


THIRD PLACE WINNER: @hfigueroa with an average of 3.65 from the judges winning 7 SBD and 25 Whaleshares


As you can see you literally missed second place by .1 as an average across the entire judging panel, but also beat third place by .15, so it was close to say the least.

First, we would like to offer you our appreciation for being the first one to submit their entry this week. You are on top of this and we can tell you live this and appreciate all you do. You soul really exudes through your work and we really appreciate the time, effort, and energy put into your beats.

Second, I absolutely love how you start off this beat with the switch-up at :16 starting this beat off on the right note. And holy shit at 2:00 whatttttttttttt and at 2:07 holy smokes I love what you did there. And the best part for any beatmaker they can learn how you did it by watching your awesome video.

Another reason why I really love your entries; you bring so much value to other beat makers and Steemians who love music. You really are doing a lot for this Steemit music community and just wanted to show you recognition for that. I have a feeling you are going to have a huge following of music producers who will want to learn from you. Just a gut instinct 

Thanks again for all you do you are epic.

Check out her amazing beat making video here: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@hfigueroa/steemit-beat-battle-week-2-hfigueroa-entry


FOURTH PLACE WINNER: @edgarstudio with an average of 3.5 winning 4 SBD and 20 Whaleshares


Out of all the entries this week @edgarstudio I liked yours the most. It was my personal favorite for whatever reason it resonated with me. And for real you were so fuckin close. .15 off of Third Place and .25 away from Second Place. Man for whatever reason the Universe is giving you motivation to take you to the next level in your dreams. I would harness that shit and take it to the next level.

Because from my personal opinion you are killing the game already. Everything from the sounds you added in around 1:38 to your top notch technicality with your layering and effects were amazing. Whatever you did with this beat, you made it really easy to listen to it all the way through. And if Youtube would actually get the view count right I feel like you would see how many times we listed It was almost like my subconscious made me keep listening to this beat for whatever reason.

Not to mention it seems like you are really all about the music community and learning, helping, and growing. And man those are the people I will run through a break wall through. So let me know if I can every be of assistance just let me know I am always on Discord. We are here to help my dude.

Check out the entry here as well: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@edgarstudio/steemit-beat-battle-league-week-2-entry-edgarstudio


FIFTH PLACE WINNER: @vegancap with an average of 3.0 winning 2 SBD and 60 Whaleshares


I absolutely love your intro o weee man you are in the know I can tell. The poor sound quality in the beginning is probably why you are ranked the way you are. But holy shit man the way you switch it up at 0:57 got me going to a whole new level. I can’t even imagine the lucky rapper who gets to spit on this o weeee.

The judges really love your creativity and al lyou did with this beat especially the last-minute nature of your entry. We really REALLY appreciate it and look forward to seeing what you do with several days to create art.

And love how at 2:12 you back and switch it up again keeping the listener interested. I think people underestimated the ability to do this and man you successes. Props to you and thanks again for all you do. You are appreciated like A LOT. And if you notice that is why you will receive the same amount (60) of Whaleshares that first place will receive.

Thanks again buddy 

Check out the entry here as well: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@vegancap/rainbo-the-pendulum-beat-battle-week-2-entry

BeatBattleLeague.jpg

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post announcing the beat selection to sample from (let’s keep you all on your toes).

Also, don’t forget to check out http://www.beatbattleleague.com/for the updated standings. Remember the winner at the end of the first season will win the belt, and no doubt the respect of every person who sees you with it 

Again thank you for everyone for their time and effort this Beat Battle League is about the community so we love doing this every week and look forward to many weeks and years to come of the Beat Battle League.


And if you notice all entries get a nice little extra bonus on their entries from @buildawhale thanks to the @buildawhale team. Check them out it’s one of Steemit’s newest vehicles inspiring real, positive change. Go here for more information: https://steemit.com/steemit/@buildawhale/build-a-whale-steemit-s-newest-vehicle-for-real-positive-change

buildawhale.png


Remember Whaleshares are on BitShares! So make sure you have a BitShares Wallet to receive and send them for upvotes on your Steemit posts! Comment your Bitshares account in the comments for faster payouts thank you :)

Download Bitshares Wallet


Be sure to join us on the fastest growing Steem-related Discord server! Now over 1600 users!

https://discord.gg/RRDzn6c


Thank you as always for your time and attention.

Namaste

@chiefmappster

paul.jpg

Sort:  

Congrats to us all for winning, we all gave our different approaches, unique styles and flavours to this week's beat battle. One of these weeks, my boy @edgarstudio is gonna be at the top, but expect me to bring the best of my creativity every time, and all of you, my fellow competitors, inspire and help me to grow and I hope I do the same for you all as well with my music. Another successful beat battle, much respect and kudos to all the sponsors/donators, supporters, organizers and judges, plus participants and listeners alike. Let's keep this going!

Also big thanks to @chiefmappster for your in depth analysis and review for each of our entries, your impact and encouragement exceeds expectations and is deeply appreciated

Wow exactlyyyyyyyyyy it was an amazing experience judging everything. So many awesome unique approaches and we will my dude we will. Keep this thing going for several generations ideally :)

And you're welcome my brother this is the stuff I live for and definitely do not mind putting my mind, body, and soul into analyzing and listening. You all do it to create your beats, it's the least I can do.

Thank you again for all you do, you really are going to be President one day.

Namaste.

Also bro, you forgot to add @edgarstudio's beat inside, you accidentally have the video of @shakazula's entry from last week.

O shit sorry. Fixing it now. My faulttttttttt

Those three were so close! Each a unique style, hard to place one as better than the other. Great entries everyone!

Righttttttt it was literally deicmal places away. shows to me how much epic talent there is out here on Steemit.

Thanks again for your involvement my brother #thealliance

Namaste :)

Thanks for including me! Love hearing artists do their thing!

Of course my brother lets get it.

Couldnt agree more with what @verbal-d wrote. :) congrats man !

Thanks to all of you who made this possible, as its turning out to be a great competition that brings out the best from everyone participating !

@chiefmappster , thank you for being such a great host ! And regarding your questions about the beat: I was going for this old school vibe with this 90 s bass synth , and i used only the intro part of the sampling material tracks , so i had to create a lot of diffrent patterns with few samples , i think this combination created this special vibe :D

Hope this makes sense :P

Peace , Shaka (cant wait for the next battle , thirsty for blood :P ) haha

O wow that explains it "perfectly" my man thank you. I was really wondering, that is why I asked. I don't want to waste your time.

That is truly incredible what you can do and man I really appreciate all you do. It is a blessing to witness such talent progress.

Thank you,

Namaste

Had a lot of fun participating. Thanks for the contest! Nice work to everyone. Really loved all the beats.

@chiefmappster My openledger account is "vegan-cap"

You're welcome my dude appreciate your involvement.

Enjoy those Whaleshares they should be coming in the next few days. I will send you a DM when it is sent o weeeee thanks again buddy for your fire beat :)

Dude my pleasure. Thanks for all you do man. Glad to be a part of the little community you're building here.

Thank you my dude thank you. Glad to do my part to make this world a better place one day, one person at a time.

Namaste :)

I was wondering if it counts, that how much of the samples do you use.

Congrats to the contestants, I really enjoyed following the event,
awsome beats
keep it up!
special thanks to @chiefmappster for providing us all this, u're dope!

That is a great question buddy. I am sure it comes into lpay in some judging subconsciously or even cosciously.

But for me personally I don't even look at that. But that's why I like to include opinions and perspectives so unique and diverse to provide balance.

Thanks again for caring buddy, it really means the world to us :)

No... thank YOU!

Would you listen to this if you have a little freetime?
I'm interested in your opinion:
https://steemit.com/music/@woodermax/book-of-right-on-ft-tribedownsouth-project-completed-ableton-live-9-original-track

Roger that on it.

Thank you for sharing buddy :)

Eh, congratulations @verbal-d your entry was a beast! And to all the other entries, I been bumping them all weekend in the ride. Can't wait to hear some more dope this week! And Thank you to all of the judges for their positive feedback. Loving this platform so much.

Rightttttt same here its incredible to have such amazing talent on here. And this is only the beginning.

Glad you are enjoying yourself because you keep blessing us with your talent. Thanks again, keep doing great things.

Namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59