Charlotte's Stuffed, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread

in #baking5 years ago (edited)


Decadent, bold and oozing with comfort, this bread is sinfully good.

My husband has been dreaming about a certain cheese bread experience that we both enjoyed in our youth. There used to be a bakery called Grandma Lee's that all the kids loved. They'd give you the most hearty, generous slices of fresh baked cheese bread and the sandwiches were so thick that you had to squeeze together the layers to take a bite.

It's been a lot of years since we've had this bread, and I have been trying to replicate it for quite a while. I wanted a soft bread, with a perfect crust, that stays fresh for days and is filled with pockets of cheddar. This was a surprisingly tall order but we've done it - and replicated it numerous time!

Step By Step Instructions - You Can Make This!


These lovely braided loaves might look a bit tricky, but they really aren't. I've provided all of the steps and plenty of photos to guide you along. I discovered the technique for this bread in a book called 'Bread Illustrated' page 314 and married that technique with my own bread recipe along with the following Jamie Oliver recipe, to achieve the perfect cheesy loaf.

With this recipe you'll have two lovely loaves oozing with cheddar or a combination of herbs, nuts, olives, pesto, or whatever else strikes your fancy. Versatile and impressive, these loaves are sure to become that loaf that everyone will ask you for.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread

This recipe makes two loaves. Freeze one for later!

Ingredients


6 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
2 tsp salt
1/4 cup honey
1 cup lukewarm water
1 cup lukewarm milk
1.5 TBSP traditional active dry yeast
1/4 cup melted butter
3 cups young sharp cheddar cheese shredded *
(Optional) Other options like herbs, olives, mushrooms etc

* Note about cheese: long aged cheddars can separate when they melt so be sure to select a cheese that stays intact when it melts.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Directions


Step 1.


Prepare your Flour. Pull out your bag or jar of flour, take a big spoon and give it a good stir. This will add air to the four and ensure that your measurements are correct. You can also use a sieve if desired.

Step 2.


In a mixing bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine 1 cup of flour and the yeast.

Step 3.


Add the 1 cup of warm water and let stand until bubbly.

Step 4.


Combine the milk, honey, salt and butter in a pot and gently warm until the ingredients are combined. This mixture should be luke warm. Too hot and it can kill the yeast. Add this mixture to the bubbly yeast mixture and stir to combine.

Step 5.


Gradually add flour. Stir in enough flour until you have a shaggy dough. Depending on the humidity you might need all of the flour but sometimes I only need 5 1/2 cups. It varies.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 6.


Knead the dough. Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until soft and smooth (about 6 minutes). If using a stand mixer and dough hook, transfer the dough to the counter, knead for a minute and then form the dough into a ball.

Step 7.


Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with a tea towel and allow to rise until doubled in size. This can take an hour or two depending on the temperature of your room. Stick the bowl in a warm, not drafty location to help facilitate the rise.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 8.


Grease two bread loaf pans and set aside. To do this rub butter generously into the pan, sprinkle a bit of flour and then tap it around the pan. Tap out the remaining flour onto your dough board.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 9.


When the dough has doubled, divide, punch down the dough and divide it into 2 equal pieces. Dust each with a bit of flour and then, using a rolling pin, roll the first section of dough into a large rectangle.

Step 10.


Sprinkle cheese and other optional toppings evenly over the surface of the dough, leaving an inch border around the edge of the dough.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 11.


Starting with the long edge, slowly roll the dough like a jelly roll. Pinch the seams and ends together and lay the dough seam down on your board.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 12.


Repeat with the second ball of dough.

Step 13.


Shaping the dough. Using a sharp knife, cut each log in two lengthways, giving you four long pieces of filled dough.

Step 14.


Pinch the top of two pieces together, then lift the left over the right, repeating until intertwined, with the filling visible on top. Pinch the ends together firmly. You should have a nice twisty braid.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 15.


Place the loaves in the greased pans, cover and place in a warm non draft location. Allow to rise until they are 1-inch above the side of the pans. This usually takes about 45 minutes.

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Step 16.


Preheat oven to 350° F. Bake for 45-50 minutes. Quickly cover the bread loosely with foil after the first 25 minutes of baking.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes and turn out onto a wire cooling rack. Cool for an hour before slicing (if you can wait that long).
Once the bread has cooled, make yourself a big hearty sandwich, or serve buttered with a big bowl of soup and enjoy!

Charlotte's Sinful, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread


Supplies Used In This Recipe


You can find the supplies featured in this recipe listed in our shop.



Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/charlottes-stuffed-extra-cheesy-cheese-bread/

Sort:  

Looks yummy - and not that difficult! Btw: there now is a #breadbakers tag ;)

Thanks for the FYI about the tags. I was playing around with the steempress plugin on my website today and messed up quite badly. I didn't even know I had posted this. eek!

Haha! That must have been a surprise! You got steempress votes! Congratulations on your great clear and professional post. And, for being so helpful in the kitchen. I like the sour dough link you sent. It's different then the King Arthur version. What an adventure!! I came back to these comments to get the link again. Read it another time! See if I am getting any of this right! 🤞

It has been a really nice treat to get those votes and totally unexpected. I have made one correction to the recipe since posting it. Someone on my blog made the bread (and loved it) but she noticed I forgot to mention when to add the salt. That is fixed now!!

If you have any more questions about sourdough let me know and I'll do my best to help!

I'm looking forward to trying this. Thank you for the tip about mature cheddar separating.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 40

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Thanks so much @catweasel I go over and check out your curation post!

Ok, I stumbled across this while trying to figure out what tags to use...
I have always wondered how to make my own cheesy bread and this looks delicious!!
I am literally salivating right now! Haha! I am going to make this for sure!

I totally messed up the tags while trying to learn how to use steempress - I am so glad you found it! :) I am about to bake some more , what was supposed to be a treat is becoming a bit of a winter time habit. We both really enjoy it. Hope you like it as much as we do!

I got cheese so i can make it! Woop woop!! Haha 😁 i am also working on growing a sour dough starter! 1st time for everything i guess. Wish me luck..... i am so unsure of this! The top layer keeps getting hard! I peel it off and hope for the best! Do you have any tips for sour dough starter? I have set it somewhere warmer. It hasn't gotten bubbly yet. It just gets really smooth and runny. And, it make a helluva mess! I keep using a fresh bowl each time. The crusty stuff looks so yuckie! Haha, it's not quite looking like the images in the recipe! I am using King Arthur website.

oh and YAY about the cheese. You'll have to give me a full account of how it went, photos and let me know if any of my instructions could be improved upon please. I'd appreciate the feedback.

Sounds like a good plan!!

Living organisms and bacteria - so much fun! Each one behaves a bit differently! Its almost like having a pet.

There are too many questions to ask ... check this tutorial out - I think it will help you a LOT. She goes through the different stages and includes photos. I am quite sure this is the tutorial that I learned from!

http://phickle.com/sourdough-starter-school-step-1-tartine/

This is so decadent! I can't wait to make it! :) All I can say is wow!

I can't imagine you ever eating cheese bread - this is totally the opposite of all your gorgeous healthy recipes!

I felt a bit ashamed that I was posting a recipe using not all that nutritious unbleached white flour ... but we use organic so it's a teeny bit better right? This bread really is so tasty and enjoyable to eat! :)

Oh yum, your cheese bread looks delicious, thanks for the step by step, you're making ne hungry:)

Thanks Lizelle! I'll be baking it again tomorrow - seems to be a weekly thing for now - must be winter.

I strongly recommend replacing tag cheesebread with breadbakers, which is aimed at aggregating quality bread posts like this one.

I'm not a great fan of Jamie's bread skills. His loaves usually aren't good on the following day or even a couple hours after baking. He uses a lot of yeast which matches his goal of making everything reasonably quickly.
Once in his magazine there were beautiful burger buns. It turned out he bought them ready made.
The only time he had a decent bread in his issue was when it wasn't him as an author.

But I love the guy otherwise.

It's difficult for me to say whether there is a lot of yeast - all those cups and tsps are confusing ;) But to make a roll, cut it and twist it, it's so simpel yet efficient. I think we all have a go to recipe we could use for such a bread :)

1.5 tablespoons yeast is more than a 7g sachet for sure. And 6.5 cups flour is under 1kg. I've tried a couple of his recipes and, well, I avoid the bread ones.

I often look at the times - how long do they give the dough. If it's too short I take less yeast and more time ;)

Thanks for the info on the tag - I installed the steempress plugin on my website today and messed it up completely!

I don't bake bread with yeast a lot but in my experience this makes a couple of really nice loafs of sandwich bread - nice crumb, stays nice and fresh for several days, not yeasty tasting. I think its because of how I proof the yeast in some flour and water first, that extra step really makes a difference. The recipe I have shared here is my own - I learned the great technique for cutting and braiding the loaf from the Jamie Oliver recipe I linked to.

Ah, I see. It's a really nice post by the way :)

Oh my goodness... I can almost taste it! Yum! I am a lover of cheesy bread and I'm now craving this loaf! Not being very domesticated and not even having an oven where we can tell the temperature, it's safe to say that for now, I wont' be baking it... but you sure have made my night! Thank you @walkerland! :)

yes, I've been there too and have had some challenging bread experiences so I totally understand you not wanting to bother. I have managed to cook a rustic crusty loaf in a dutch over on top of the fire place - really tasty. I would trade your no oven and Spain for ice cold winter and bread though ...maybe. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared! I really appreciate it.

Stop it. Starving. And I need to get more bakers flour. Damn you.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh ...I hope you find something tasty to fill your belly with!!

Chicken soft shell tacos and a soy latte!

Posted using Partiko Android

oooh! Good for you and great idea. I love a good veggie taco!! I've never thought to do chicken for my husband - that would be a nice change from the beef ones.

I love tempeh tacos but never find them out at a cafe. I'm marking so it's nice to do it a cafe.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh nice! That sounds like a perfect way to do marking ... no cleaning up or cooking to deal with and good eats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39