You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Charlotte's Stuffed, Extra Cheesy Cheese Bread

in #baking6 years ago

I strongly recommend replacing tag cheesebread with breadbakers, which is aimed at aggregating quality bread posts like this one.

I'm not a great fan of Jamie's bread skills. His loaves usually aren't good on the following day or even a couple hours after baking. He uses a lot of yeast which matches his goal of making everything reasonably quickly.
Once in his magazine there were beautiful burger buns. It turned out he bought them ready made.
The only time he had a decent bread in his issue was when it wasn't him as an author.

But I love the guy otherwise.

Sort:  

It's difficult for me to say whether there is a lot of yeast - all those cups and tsps are confusing ;) But to make a roll, cut it and twist it, it's so simpel yet efficient. I think we all have a go to recipe we could use for such a bread :)

1.5 tablespoons yeast is more than a 7g sachet for sure. And 6.5 cups flour is under 1kg. I've tried a couple of his recipes and, well, I avoid the bread ones.

I often look at the times - how long do they give the dough. If it's too short I take less yeast and more time ;)

Thanks for the info on the tag - I installed the steempress plugin on my website today and messed it up completely!

I don't bake bread with yeast a lot but in my experience this makes a couple of really nice loafs of sandwich bread - nice crumb, stays nice and fresh for several days, not yeasty tasting. I think its because of how I proof the yeast in some flour and water first, that extra step really makes a difference. The recipe I have shared here is my own - I learned the great technique for cutting and braiding the loaf from the Jamie Oliver recipe I linked to.

Ah, I see. It's a really nice post by the way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61